We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion
Nearby Hotels
$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$196
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromer Country Club by Diamond Resorts(Cromer)(Great Value!)
$196
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Marge Hotel(Overstrand)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maltings Hotel(Weybourne)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
The Manor Hotel(Mundesley)
$175
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveler rating
486
227
60
29
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
486
227
60
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbilliard roomroaring firefresh milkdog friendly hotelseafood platterthe pubreal teaspecials boardeggs benedictreal aleate hereevening mealsea frontfull englishstandard roomboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
584 - 589 of 823 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I always stay at the Red Lion when I visit Cromer, and I happen to have been there twice in the last few weeks. Always a pleasure to be at the Red Lion for the good atmosphere, the busy but restful bar, the layout of the rooms (all different in shape and decor) and the excellent location overlooking the promenade and the pier.

The staff are so friendly and helpful too. What better review than what I always say as I'm checking out - "See you next time".

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinLaRoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I booked this hotel, after my Fiancee mentioned she would like to take a break in North Norfolk after our wedding. From a previous visit to Cromer I found the Red Lion and thought what a perfect location!

With this in mind I booked the delux suite for 3 nights.

The room itself was ok (perhaps not quite worthy of the title of delux suite) but it was clean and we liked the option of a honesty box for the mini bar. The hotel also supplied a bottle of bubbly which was a nice touch.Although it could do with a bit of a refresh of paint! Also the room smelled of Gas throughout our stay - speaking to reception they informed us that was normal!

For a single night stay this would have reecived a greater rating, but we were a little disapointed at the little touches, for instance 2 bottles of water (1 sparkling, 1 still) were supplied on the first night, but these were not replenished for the 2nd or 3rd night which seems a little tight! Complimentary shower gel and shampoo were not replenished (the small bottles were pretty much empty after day 1). It is the small things which make a room "delux" and considering budget hotels will replenish these daily and after paying £180 a night you expect a bit more.....

The breakfast was good, and it was a good variety. The serving staff were pleasant and courteous.

The sister restaurant - a Italian restaurant was very disapointing - "Italy in a warehouse" but it did have good views over the sea. The menu was disapointing and we thought it was a bit crap that you had to order everything at the bar - more like a pub trying to be an Italian. The food wasnt that great and the choice was poor, plus despite 10% off it wasnt really worth it

Parking was appalling - but to be fair we knew this before we booked - however what was frustrating was the number of parking spaces which were "reserved" this seems a little unfair surely should be first come first serve when parkings limited?!!

Would I return to the Red Lion? Prob pop in for a drink but thats about it!

Room Tip: Just book a standard room
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Nice beer but at a high price a pint of draught larger will set you back £4.40. The food is fairly expensive ie a burger meal is £10 plus. I chose a light snack ciabatta with prawns and Marie Rose sauce my wife chose Brie and bacon. We shared some chips. the chips were still hard and the ciabatta rolls stale. Filings were extremely small. We were offered 10% off the Bill. Give this place a miss.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul1963Norwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I chose this hotel because my husband likes real ale and we wern't dissapointed the pub/bar attached to the hotel had at leadt 6 real ales to choose from.
The room was adequate it was clean and quiet. There was no phone in the room and although wifi was available the code was not given in the information we had to ask a member of staff.
We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening and it was very nice, we had two courses and couldn't manage dessert!
It was really nice to be able to wander down into the bar after dinner and finish our night with a few drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottiegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from a four night break having stayed in room no 20. Great location and well presented hotel with character ensuring a very friendly and comfortable stay. Unfortunately no sea view from no 20, in fact no view at all but the room was very clean, quiet, comfortable, and suited all of our needs. Being over 200 years old the Red Lion has retained a lot of the buildings original features which gives it a very warm welcoming feel. It also very cleverly manages to balance giving a good quality service as a hotel whilst still catering for the very important locals. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff who really do look after you. The food is not over priced and is good without setting the world alight, a good selection of drinks are also reasonably priced. A visit to the Italian style Bella Vista Restaurant which is part of the group and only a 3 mins walk away is also highly recommended, watch out for special offers when booking. Overall The Red Lion offers a clean comfortable stay at reasonable prices and we would certainly make it our first point of call if we were in the area again, we were at all times made to feel welcome and had a very enjoyable stay. The only downside is the car parking, with 15 rooms and only 11 parking spaces it can very frustrating at times but I believe that the management are currently attempting to make it residents only parking by means of a barrier entry which should help.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrsankartNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews