We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion
Nearby Hotels
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromer Country Club by Diamond Resorts(Cromer)(Great Value!)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Marge Hotel(Overstrand)
$282
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$297
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Manor Hotel(Mundesley)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maltings Hotel(Weybourne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveler rating
491
228
60
29
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
491
228
60
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewbilliard roomroaring firefresh milkdog friendly hotelseafood platterthe pubreal teaspecials boardeggs benedictreal aleate hereevening mealsea frontfull englishstandard roomboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
642 - 647 of 829 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I visited Cromer with my partner for a weeks long holiday we stayed a 30 second walk from the red lion and visited a few times for a drink and twice for meals throughout the week. The food was the best I've had! I went for the tuna steak which i could only describe as incredible and then a dish from the specials board later on in the week. After our first visit we got a money off voucher to revisit later in the week. The service was great and atmosphere was peaceful. As we are a young couple people usually look down on us in restaurants such as this but staff were very friendly and welcoming, extremely impressed!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chlostar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis for at least 2 years now. The accommodation is simply brilliant and staff are very polite and welcoming. The Billiard room (5) is a peach with Victorian decor, a large bath in the middle, a shower, couch and large TV- it does not face the sea though. Breakfast is their best meal. Their showers need more power and pressure though- they just about drip and taking a simple shower could take hours. To the evening meals then- the steak is dire to say the least - too bland and is never cooked to specified order. The chef really needs to work on this as every chef should know the basics of a good steak. Their garlic bread is dripping with fat- could not eat it. Evening meals need some major work.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bundu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely warm welcome with log fire after braving bitter winds. Customer service excellent, very friendly bar staff, they happily changed my wine for me because it was too dry for me. Wish we had stayed for food.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The weather was very unfortunate on one night getaway for my fiancé's birthday, but the hotel stay was very nice. Everyone was very friendly and the breakfast was great. The only downfall is that the walls seem extremely thin. We could hear everything in the next room and hall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmk0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited the Red Lion just for breakfast whilst the car was being serviced at a nearby garage! The whole experience was superb! We received a very warm welcome form Jo and Donna and both were most attentive throughout. The restaurant decor has been greatly improved over recent times; it is now bright and pleasant and feels fresh and clean.

We really enjoyed the food which was all of good quality and hot. In particular, the fruit salad was refreshing and the cooked English breakfast was ample with plenty of choice of items. The home made marmalade, jam and yoghurt were lovely touches. We left feeling set up for the day and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews