We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I visited Cromer with my partner for a weeks long holiday we stayed a 30 second walk from the red lion and visited a few times for a drink and twice for meals throughout the week. The food was the best I've had! I went for the tuna steak which i could only describe as incredible and then a dish from the specials board later on in the week. After our first visit we got a money off voucher to revisit later in the week. The service was great and atmosphere was peaceful. As we are a young couple people usually look down on us in restaurants such as this but staff were very friendly and welcoming, extremely impressed!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Chlostar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    197
    51
    24
    20
See reviews for
87
454
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis for at least 2 years now. The accommodation is simply brilliant and staff are very polite and welcoming. The Billiard room (5) is a peach with Victorian decor, a large bath in the middle, a shower, couch and large TV- it does not face the sea though. Breakfast is their best meal. Their showers need more power and pressure though- they just about drip and taking a simple shower could take hours. To the evening meals then- the steak is dire to say the least - too bland and is never cooked to specified order. The chef really needs to work on this as every chef should know the basics of a good steak. Their garlic bread is dripping with fat- could not eat it. Evening meals need some major work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bundu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Lovely warm welcome with log fire after braving bitter winds. Customer service excellent, very friendly bar staff, they happily changed my wine for me because it was too dry for me. Wish we had stayed for food.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The weather was very unfortunate on one night getaway for my fiancé's birthday, but the hotel stay was very nice. Everyone was very friendly and the breakfast was great. The only downfall is that the walls seem extremely thin. We could hear everything in the next room and hall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmk0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We visited the Red Lion just for breakfast whilst the car was being serviced at a nearby garage! The whole experience was superb! We received a very warm welcome form Jo and Donna and both were most attentive throughout. The restaurant decor has been greatly improved over recent times; it is now bright and pleasant and feels fresh and clean.

We really enjoyed the food which was all of good quality and hot. In particular, the fruit salad was refreshing and the cooked English breakfast was ample with plenty of choice of items. The home made marmalade, jam and yoghurt were lovely touches. We left feeling set up for the day and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We visited here on a Sunday lunchtime, two families of four. Our first impressions were good, lovely view of the sea, open fire. As food was served at 12 and we were a bit early we decided to order some coffees. we waited patiently at the bar and when served we were told by a very unfriendly bar maid that we would have to wait for our coffees whilst she served everyone else first? Not sure why, and she was very abrupt about it too!!!! Anyway we ordered our food, it came out quickly, looked great however three of us had beef roasts and we couldn't even cut the beef let alone chew it. None of us could eat the beef. The rest of our meals were nice, but all in all felt really disappointed in our experience at the red lion and will certainly NOT be going back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Besidetheseaside27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been regular customers at theRed Lion Lion over the last two years and have always enjoyed their food and hospitality.
Last weekend we called in for a light lunch I chose a choritso & chick pea stew and my husband scampi & chips
The food arrived promptly and we ordered a couple of glasses of wine which arrived but a bit slow.
I started to eat my meal there did't appear to be any choritso in it i approached the waitress and asked her she went into the kitchen came back and said the chef had forgoten to put this in !!!
After about 10 minuites she arrived back with a plate of cold choritso!!
She came to take our plates asking if everything was Ok i pointed out my dissapointment she did ask if we wanted anything else but we declined
On paying they tried to charge me for my meal but i refused to pay,
The meal was then taken off the bill
My husbands scampi was tasteless you can get better at Morrisons in the Town for half the price

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#5 of 7 in Cromer
323 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing