We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Year's by the sea...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Year's by the sea...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just back from a family reunion and holiday over New Year's where we stayed in 4 rooms for two nights. Staff couldn't have been more accommodating than they were with whatever requests we had for our group of eight. Breakfast was very good value and we even got spaces in the Campari for our three cars! We will be back!!!

Room Tip: It is worth the upgrade cost to the Superior rooms. Room 10 is above kitchen and you feel the vent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    195
    47
    23
    20
See reviews for
81
442
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Loved our stay at the red lion. The rooms were lovely and very well maintained. The food amazing. They catered extremely well for all of our large family (2 adults and 4 children). Staff were friendly and we felt we received great value for our money. Would def return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This was our second stay at the Red Lion and was even better than the first.

We were given an complimentary upgrade (thank you) which had a sea view. Room was large with a sofa by the window so you could sit and look out over the sea. Bed was very comfortable, bathroom good size and spotless.

Room had flat screen tv, hospitality tray, including hot chocolate, complimentary toiletries, wi-fi etc.

Staff are really friendly and helpful.

Good location on the front.

Hotel has a good bar and excellent restaurant. What more could you want!

This is a wonderful hotel and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbsD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I had a superb one night stay at the Red Lion, having received a 'complimentary upgrade' on arrival. The room was tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean, well equipped and the welcome was incredibly friendly. I was especially impressed by the ground coffee and cafetiere on the drinks tray, and the 'honesty box' containing crisps and sweets etc was a really nice touch. A single traveler is not penalized here, and best of all, you can even bring your dog for £5 a night. I'll definitely be back for a holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barneysboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had the most perfect stay at the Red Lion. From the moment we booked (we got a free upgrade without asking!) until we left we couldn't have asked for anything better.
The accommodation is fabulous, the decor and furnishings are of the highest quality and the mini bar prices are very reasonable and the view is breathtaking
The pub itself has a lovely warm and friendly atmosphere, the pub grub is delicious. We also ate in the restaurant and were spoilt for choice - it has a very extensive menu. We really enjoyed our meal and loved the choice of home made produce.
The staff are very very friendly, polite and efficient - a credit to Jo and Callum.
We didn't want to leave but will definitely return as soon as we can!
Jo and Callum really have turned the Red Lion around and have made it into something special and a "mus"t to visit whether for a drink or a stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: We booked on the day we were travelling - first thing in the morning, however this is a quiet time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay. Can honestly say it is one of the loveliest places I've started anywhere in the world. Fabulous staff, great spacious rooms, wonderful location and outstanding food. Need I say more? We will definitely stay again...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveLester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire,england
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We enjoyed a really nice lunchtime meal of fish and chips ,washed down with a few beers.Good value.Staff were very friendly and efficient.On a very cold and rainy day,it was great to sit on the comfy sofa in front of the wood fire.Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derbyshiretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#6 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Property: The Red Lion
Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing