We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with wonderful views.”
Review of The Red Lion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Red Lion
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed at the Red Lion in August this year and had a wonderful stay. Arrived a little early for book-in but the receptionist was very welcoming.and were allowed to park in the car park immediatel,y which saved time and money. Our room was lovely, virtually overlooking the sea with the view being hindered a little by the large building across the street. The room was quite spacious and very clean, as was the en-suite, and to fall asleep at night to the sound of the waves was amazing!! Breakfast was lovely and service excellent- we will be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 779 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

This has to be one of the friendliest hotels that we have ever stayed in. We had one midweek night there as a treat. I felt like I had been on holiday for a week. The staff are genuinely cheerful and friendly. The room was lovely with a view over the sea which is just a few steps from the hotel. The restaurant was great with a delicious choice of food. Breakfast was good with a nice choice of cooked food. Homemade yoghurt and preserves were available in the buffet. We will certainly return.There is parking on site.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chippy6667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Just got back from an unexpected last minute break at of all places Cromer, never been before, it got late and found the Red Lion in the Good Beer Guide, and it just happened to have it's most expensive room available, so we took it and the view from the balcony was directly over the fantastic sea and beach. The bathroom and and room were lovely and clean , spacious and offered everything you could wish for lovely roll top bath, fab shower, the room included a nice relaxing seating area with TV, good selection of reasonably priced snacks with an honesty bucket. Breakfast offered locally smoked haddock with grilled cheese on top, home made muesil, jam, yoghurt and marmalade. Really nice friendly people. If you want to splash the cash for one night - room 7 I think is worth it, there is no phone in the room, or ice - but for relaxation and view it was the tops. We can't wait to go back. They had some great beers on tap and 'Humpty Dumpty' brewery provided a good selection. Loved it loved it loved it.

Room Tip: Room 7 but it will set you back £175 - great for a romantic break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qixu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the fact that they welcomed dogs, the seaside location and the menu in the restaurant, and we were so glad that we made this choice. The staff was above and beyond helpful, kind and cheerful. The food was incredible, even something so simple as scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was drool-worthy and the scallops melted in my mouth. The wine pours were huge, the fruit was very fresh and flavorful, even the butter was perfectly creamy and delicious. Great selection for breakfast, which is included in the price of the room. The room was very clean as was the rest of the hotel. The location was great, it was not a problem to run back up to the room if we wanted to grab a jacket or drop something off as we were exploring and enjoying the town. We had an amazing weekend and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We recently spent 2 days on a Regional conference at The Red Lion in Cromer 17/7/12.
The staff were 5 star and were genuinely eager to help and please.
our rooms were exceptional and the service excellent.
The restaraunt was fantastic and during our stay we sampled most of the menu during 2 lunches and one dinner, fantastically fresh produce and served fresh and in very good time, all meals were served together and were hot (10) people.
I would have no hesitation in reccommending this hotel for a luxury weekend break at a very reasonable price, views of the pier and sea, Excellent thanks Jo

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room and check the prices for the suites as they will offer their best prices whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesMartin5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This wonderful old inn is directly above the seawall and the night we arrived we could hear the waves crashing as we drifted off to sleep. The view from our window also took in the pier and a good bit of coastline. The food in the restaurant downstairs was excellent as were the drinks at the cozy bar (very good selection of draft beers and hard cider). Finally, we were extremely impressed with the amazing staff who were all helpful, friendly and cheerful -- capping off a remarkable stay. I would come back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Only a few look out on the sea, make sure to check with reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had a excellent 2 night stay here. The room was good - very clean and well equipped. There were a number of thoughtful touches that made all the difference, such as the honesty box for items purchased from the basket full of items of refreshments, etc. Also small good quality items that could be purchased as gifts from reception.

The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and the breakfast choice was excellent, with lovely home-made jams, and it was all thoughtfully presented.

Wonderful sea views from the bars and outside seating area. Will definitely visit again and very soon!

Room Tip: There is not a lift, and the building has 2 upper storeys.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cromer
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#1 of 7 in Cromer
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cliftonville Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
367 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
669 reviews
8.2 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion

Address: Red Lion Brook Street | The Seafront, Cromer NR27 9EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Cromer
Price Range: $163 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is situated on the beautiful North Norfolk Coast overlooking the award winning Cromer Pier. The Hotel boasts 12 en suite bedrooms and were recently awarded 4 Star Inn status and received a Dining Award from the AA. The Red Lion is over two hundred years old, retaining many of its original features, including wood panelling, open log fires and Victorian flooring.The Hotel boasts twelve en-suite rooms, most with amazing sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Red Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Hotel Cromer
Cromer Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing