We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent 3 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cromer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cambridge House
Ranked #17 of 28 Cromer B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent 3 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Liz and husband gave us such a warm welcome, professional, friendly service. Our sea view was beautiful, along with our large comfortable room, & delicious breakfasts. Excellent location, close to restaurants, town, pier. Beautiful area for walking & Liz was able to suggest areas of interest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
23
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on an impromptu visit to Cromer booking on the day we were staying. Liz was very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely with period features and furniture and there were amazing views of the beach, sea and the pier. Breakfast was lovely too. Would recommend if staying in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CJMidlothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I've been going to Cambridge House for over 15 years, I even went there for long weekends when I was living in Germany. A peach of a place. Liz is very welcoming. The larger rooms overlooing the pier are great - especially in the winter, the wave crashing on the beach....I want to go right now.

Room Tip: First floor rooms overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vorberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Mum and I live in Norwich.But we have stayed at Cambridge House,Cromer for 5 years running.
We generally stay for 2-3 nights each Summer.It is ideally situated for exploring Cromer and the North Norfolk Coast and also to go to the Pier show.We have no Car so use the Coast Hopper to get around.we really love staying at this lovely old Victorian Bed and Breakfast on the Seafront.with fantastic views of the Beach and Pier.everywhere is so clean and tidy.
Liz and Ian are the perfect hosts and make you feel most welcome.they cook and serve up the best breakfast in Norfolk which are always most delicious.with a wide range of food to choose from.
Thank you to Liz and Ian for making Mum and I most welcome as usual and we hope to see you again next year.
,

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs to climb so when booking see how agile you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romney Marsh
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We've stayed at Cambridge House many times over many years now. I always look forward to it and know that a lovely time is guaranteed.

From the moment that you step through the front door the lovely atmosphere envelops you.

My husband's favourite moment is when he smells the delicious aroma of the cooked breakfast available every morning.

The rooms are beautifully decorated in keeping with the age of the house with just a few contemporary touches. We really appreciate all the original features and the traditional furniture.

Liz and Ian are so friendly and never make you feel in the way if you linger chatting with other guests over breakfast.

The views from the rooms are fantastic - the best in Cromer. If the weather is bad it's no hardship as you can enjoy the pier from the comfort of your room, enjoying a cup of tea or coffee at the same time.

The situation is perfect. The Lifeboat Museum, the local park, the beach, the pier, the shops are all on the doorstep.

Unless you like complete silence there's nothing better than going to sleep to the sound of the sea on the shingle just below your bedroom window. In the early morning you can see the crab boats coming ashore with their catch.

From a practical point of view Cambridge House is ideal as parking, which can be a problem in some places, is on the spot and really convenient.

We're so glad we found Cambridge House.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views. We like the rooms with bay windows but the view from the rooms on the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have been staying at Cambridge House about once a year for over a decade. It is a small Victorian guest house with large, pleasant rooms furnished in a comfortable and delightful style. The paintings on the wall cover a range of styles and subjects, the furniture mostly fits the period of the building but with some interesting additions. The sea views over the pier and lifeboat station are excellent.The cooked breakfasts are also well worth eating. The owners are always friendly and helpful. The only downside I can think of is, like the rest of Cromer, it does have rather a lot of steps but we have mobility problems and we manage.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have sea views, the back faces over the rooftops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

For the 4th year running, myself and my mum have just returned from our stay at cambridge house....and ive already booked for June 2014!! The welcome from liz is like coming home..(even when phoning up she remembers you). The rooms are large and lovely with a fantastic view of the pier and sea, being right on the sea front. They are also very clean and homely rather than spark and in personal. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order and very yummy!! I dont want to recommend the guest house as I want to make sure I can get in, but there is nothing bad I can say...only very positives. If it wasnt a 3 hour drive, I'd stay there ea lot lot more.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v13kky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cromer hotels
0.0 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandcliff Guest House
0.7 mi away
Cromer Country Club
Cromer Country Club
#2 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Virginia Court Hotel
Virginia Court Hotel
#3 of 7 in Cromer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#7 of 7 in Cromer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellington House B&B
Wellington House B&B
#3 of 28 in Cromer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House

Property: Cambridge House
Address: | Sea Front, East Cliff, Cromer, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Cromer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cromer
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge House 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing