We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced - Travelodge do better”
Review of Garden Court Sandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden Court Sandy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Goole, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced - Travelodge do better”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we arrived we were given a room key and went up to our room - only to find an unmade bed with someone else.s hairs in it, and a totally disgusting bathroom complete with towels on the floor. We left our bags and went down to reception, where a very unsincere person told us they were very sorry and that they would give us another room and move our bags (as we were going on to our event).
We returned quite late, to find a different person on reception who knew nothing about the room mix up - so we stood, and stood while he served another person and tried to find out where our bags had gone. Eventually he decided he thought it might be a certain room, and gave us a key to go and check...what a joke!
The room itself was average, but the breakfast the following day was another bone of contention. Its suposed to be a buffet, but the buffet area had been trashed by a group load of japanese school children. When we arrived there was half eaten melon still in the bowl, and a bite out of an apple that had then been replaced. The area was disgusting - but at least the two ladies on duty that morning were making an effort to clean it up and they were very nice. There was no tea or coffee out, nor any of the normal buffet stuff - we were served, so could only have what we were given. If I hadnt paid on check in for two nights I would have moved hotels, as I feel this once good hotel is now being run by people who don't care - and it certainly wasnt worth the money I paid.

Room Tip: Room 28 and 29 are classed as quiet rooms but they are right above reception - so other hotel guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Kath,

I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay and the hotel. I would like to apologise for the breakdown in communication that led to you being checked in to a room that had not been cleaned. We had a late check-out from that room and the housekeeping team had not been in, so it should not have been allocated to you. I am also sorry that the night porter was unsure of which room you had been moved to. This has been addressed with the staff on duty.
With regard to breakfast, it was very unfortunate that you arrived just as the large group of Chinese school children had had their buffet breakfast. Thank you for your comments about our waiting staff, as they had a difficult job with the children trashing the buffet and putting half eaten food back and our team were clearly doing their best to clear this up and provide a good service to our other guests. We generally serve tea & coffee to order so that it is freshly made, rather than putting it out on the buffet and the rest of the buffet was in the process of being replenished.
I am very sorry that this experience had a negative impact on your stay and we will certainly take your comments on board to improve our service in future.
Kind regards,
Rebecca Cresswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    81
    65
    86
See reviews for
40
74
17
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This review is a bit hard to write, since overall the experience was great, but the room was actually below average. My wife and I were there for a surprise 50th birthday party that was held in the hotel’s function facility. The food and service at the function was excellent, but the service and rooms in the hotel were not so good. The hotel was frequently understaffed causing long waits at the bar or reception. The rooms we reasonably clean, but the sheets on the bed were worn through in a few spots and there were some bugs squashed on the wall over the light in the bathroom. We were there for three days, and so were the dead bugs. I would recommend having a function there, and the hotel is adequate for people to stay the night for the function, but they shouldn’t expect more than a place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan_and_Lynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding the party you attended in our function suite. I have passed your comments back to our team, as they always appreciate receiving such positive feedback. We are all very pleased that you had such an enjoyable evening.
With regard to your room, I have discussed your feedback with our housekeeping team to ensure that this is not repeated. We have also spoken to our linen supplier with regard to the quality of the linen. We strive to offer the best possible service and have clearly fallen below standard on this occasion. Feedback is very important to us to enable us to improve the service we offer our valued guests, so we appreciate you sharing this with us.
Regards,

Rebecca Cresswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The room was OK for a short overnight stay - the bed was comfortable and there was adequate space. What did concern us was the way we were ignored when we arrived. The receptionist finally shouted across from a nearby bar that she would eventually deal with us - she continued to take more orders from customers at the bar. Claiming there were too few staff around, she finally gave us a key, but we were directed through a door which did not give obvious access to our room. Disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9andadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear 9andadog,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted you liked your room accommodations. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

Please accept our sincere apology for the difficulties you experienced at check-in. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our Front Office for review. We value your feedback as they enable us to further improve the quality and services we offer and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

selected this hotel as part of a stay over for a flight from Stansted and used my priority points, as other reviewers have stated, the rooms are somewhat dated for a holiday inn, no air conditioning in the room, the shower is a trickle of hot water..no pressure at all in the water system, menus for the restaurant are confusing with the amount of options are available, I wouldn't say the hotel is stating that of an a la carte menu.....the bar is small, with only 2 seats in the bar area. internet is painfully slow, as a PC member you now get free internet, which is a basic connection so I decided to upgrade to a 'business' connection, this wasn't faster, so at £12 for a 24hr period is a bit of a con...although the receptionist contacted Swisscom, they stated that all was ok, so it was up to me to get a refund, as the hotel is charged , so I need to be charged...

housekeeping are very keen to get into your room, despite arriving at the hotel at 2am, placing the do not disturb notice on the door, they wanted to get into the room at 9am to service the room,

if you do decide to stay here, get a room facing the car park, as the hotel is right beside the A1, and at a busy roundabout, there will be constant traffic noise, as the windows are not double glazed.

The ice machine isn't working, with a notice out of order, I suspect this has been out of order for some time, as there were 6 days between stays for me, and it wasn't fixed.

the redemption rate is 10k points if your using your IHG membership....you just may want to save them, there is a Travelodge 2miles north, may be worth saving your points...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John4042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear John4042,

Thank you for being a IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us a feedback. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience our Internet services may have caused you. We are sorry you were not satisfied with our bar and restaurant. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. We also apologize for the service you received and the ice machine is not working during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sandy hotels

Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel was good value at £60 a night and much cheaper than other hotels in the area on the day. The public rooms are nice however the corridors are depressing and the room I stayed in best described as 'tired'. My main beef however is that this is yet another hotel which assumes that if you can get a wifi signal (which was actually fine) and get to Google then they are, so far as the hotel are concerned providing a wi-fi service and can claim so in their Internet advertising.

The problem wi the wifi at this hotel is that it is so slow as to be completely useless (tested over two days both very late at night and very early in the morning so traffic will not have been the issue). when will hotel management learn that they MUST provide a useable service.

So, if you need to work via the Internet, this is NOT the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSunbeam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear BlueSunbeam2,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow us to apologize for the room accommodations you received and our hallways fell below your expectations. We also apologize you were not satisfied with our WiFi services. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This has got to be the very worse place I have ever stayed in !! Don't believe that the room we stayed in had seen a hoover in a long time!!!! Carpet was very dirty food particles by the bedside cabinet from previous guests!!!! Dust and fluff all around the edges of the carpet. Shower was so poor that you chasing the water lol. Would never ever stay at this place again .... Even. As a freebie and certainly not worth £70!!!. As a big chain holiday inn thought you would be better. Have stayed in much better premier inns and bed and breakfasts establishments!!! Very very disappointed :(

Room Tip: Choose anywhere else literally!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayleighkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear kayleighkins,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was close to where my husband had business, I tagged along so it was business for him and pleasure for me. We arrived in the evening and were greeted in a very welcoming way. Reading some reviews we expected a run down hotel but as it was for only one night it wasn't really too much of a problem. We were very surprised as the room was very acceptable, a little dated maybe but very clean and had a lovely feel..... we were more than happy. We settled in and went down for dinner, a young man handed us 3 menus; standard, bar, and A' la Carle, he informed us that we could have our meal either in the restaurant, lounge, bar or room..... this instantly made us feel relaxed. The meal was lovely, and we ate in the restaurant. After dinner we sat in the bar which was small and quiet, just what we wanted after a long drive...... We then went back to our room as we had a long day the next day. The nights sleep wasn't so good. It was really hot in the room and we had to turn on the fan and open the window. When we got into bed the noise from the A1 was so loud I got out of bed to shut the window, it was so hot I didn't want to shut the window but had no choice. Later I was woken by the fan making so much noise so had to turn that off, the heat was terrible...... the noise wasn't the fault of the hotel as they had no control of that, but they had address it with a fan so that the window didn't need to be opened and also provided ear plugs....... we were unlucky that it was a hot day. So as people have stated before, it's a good idea to ask for a room overlooking the car park. All in all......... the hotel did absolutely everything they could to make our stay enjoyable.......... lovely hotel, lovely attentive staff.........

Room Tip: As everyone else says............ a room over the car park would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Garden Court Sandy, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service your received to be of such a high standard.
It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with the exceptionally hot weather, but thank you for acknowledging that we had tried to overcome this by providing fans for our guests.
I hope that if you are in the area again, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Kind regards
Rebecca Cresswell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
5.1 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
2,724 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
706 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#9 of 18 in Bedford
147 reviews
8.3 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
324 reviews
7.8 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#11 of 18 in Bedford
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Sandy

Property: Garden Court Sandy
Address: London Road Girtford Bridge, Sandy SG19 1NA, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court a1 Sandy-Bedford Hotel Sandy
Holiday Inn Sandy
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Garden Court Sandy Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing