We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, average stay, neither good nor bad”
Review of Days Inn Sandy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Sandy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stopped here purely because it was one of the cheapest in the sandy/bedford area so wasnt expecting to much, room was ok but a bit worn & smelt a bit like an oap's home.
They have a little bar there which is quite handy, in hear some of the other visitors were complaining about the food they'ed just had here, so we decided to go else where.
The room was noisy during the night as facing the roundabout for the A1, so top tip, ask for a room facing the cark park.
Despite what ive said I would stop here again purely on cost basis on a cheap business night out, but would not recomend it to anyone on holiday/vacation

Room Tip: noisey on one side right next to A1, ask for room facing car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyrob1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear andyrob1971,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations regarding the room condition. We will look into this point. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 316 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel was easy to find being situated on the A1 roundabout at Sandy.

Smaller than you usual Holiday Inn, the reception was welcoming and so were the staff.

Easy check In.
Very clean rooms and bathroom.
No Executive rooms, all are standard, but that was no hardship.
Restaurant meal was good, food hot and well cooked same as breakfast.
Wi-Fi is free and easy to connect.
Bed comfy, went out like a light,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Graham R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for the positive comments you made. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Feedback from our valued guests is always appreciated and I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Cresswell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Staying while travelling south from working up north and this was a on route holiday inn and was cheaper than others I looked at, however , it was cheaper as it was well below the usual started of most holiday inns, This holiday inn was even branded slightly different as holiday inn garden court.

The staff were friendly and helpful , although they did seem a little short staffed and they all seems very busy ?. The room was large and clean , although right on the main road and I could hear the busy traffic outside.

The bar area is very small and nothing like you would normally see at other holiday inns could well do with a refurbishment as could the rest of the hotel , I had food in the bar and the food was low cost but not that good , again nothing like a holiday inn.

It was a bit like an old motel that had been bought by holiday inn but with no changes or upgrades , however, for £59 pounds with breakfast it's was ok I suppose and the guests all of which were labour contractors working in the area seemed happy enough. I wouldn't think I would stay there again as I would probably pay a little more to stay at a regular holiday inn.

The total bill was around £85 pounds but included a couple of large wines , lasagna and cheese board , so all in all was ok for the money .

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank TJD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear TJD5,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our bar, food selection and the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed there for a night on a quick trip to Sandy, as this was one of very few branded hotels around that area. Room was of very low standard, bathroom was disgusting with side panels hanging out of the bath tub. Terrible shower. Smelly room and the traffic noise. Breakfast was very mediocre, there is not many hot items, and many of it was already empty when I went in at 9 am. Staff couldn't care less. Receptionist previous evening was helpful, asked for a iron and board, which she brought promptly even though there weren't anyone to help. Stay away from that place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LS183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear L S,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad our evening receptionist was helpful with your needs. However, I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced due to the room accommodation, condition of the bathroom, hotel amenities and other aspects of staff services. I have taken note of your comments and we will address these points to improve upon our service.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for your stay, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had stayed at the Holiday Inn Garden Court A1 Sandy-Bedford once before and that was just over a year ago, we had enjoyed our stay but we found the hotel at the time to be quite tired and the rooms were extremely dated.

Our latest visit was for two nights and what a transformation, check in was extremely quick and we asked for a room that was not facing the A1(M) and we were given a complimentary wifi voucher being Platinum Priority Members.

The room was on the ground floor and was pleasantly furnished with comfortable bed, large sofa, tea/coffee facilities, lots of storage space and a flat screen TV with freeview channels, however some channels could not be viewed because of poor signal strength. The bathroom was fine with a shower that was quite powerful and a bath tub.

We had breakfast on two occasions where there was a small buffet selection of pastries, cereals, yogurts, jugs of juices, cold cuts and a toaster. Hot items could be ordered such as a full English breakfast and also hot drinks were brought to the table.

We had a very pleasant stay and it was noticeable that changes had been made since our last visit, we would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaGM, General Manager at Days Inn Sandy, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Mr Legate,
Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Garden Court Sandy. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and very much appreciate your acknowledgement of the changes we have made in the hotel. Receiving feedback helps us to improve our service to our valued guests even further. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Rebecca Cresswell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as a break in a long journey to the airport and that we had friends nearby. The hotel is easy enough to find and re lady who greeted us was helpful. Our room was very basic but it had a bed for the night. Due to the outside temperature we had to turn the heating on in the room which gave a burning dust smell out. Which I suppose if it hasn't been use for a while is normal. The bathroom was ok again it did the job but nothing in which I would take a relaxing shower. The highlight of our stay was a fire alarm at 3am. I wouldn't stay again if there were better/any other choices in the area sadly.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the car park side of the hotel so not to get the a1 road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat5716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one week, and treated very well.
Menu is not huge, but everything on it was enjoyable. Young man (Liam) in restaurant very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for him both at breakfast and in the evening. Not the busiest place in the world and not excessively staffed, but all in all I can't complain.
Room was clean, warm and practical. Couldn't really ask for anything more.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chubb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy
5.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
7.8 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#17 of 18 in Bedford
85 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 2 in Biggleswade
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Travelodge Bedford Wyboston
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
10.6 mi away
The George at Baldock
The George at Baldock
#1 of 4 in Baldock
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Sandy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Sandy

Address: London Road Girtford Bridge, Sandy SG19 1NA, England (Formerly Garden Court Sandy)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Sandy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandy
Price Range: $66 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Sandy 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Sandy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court a1 Sandy-Bedford Hotel Sandy
Holiday Inn Sandy
Holiday Inn Bedford
Bedford Holiday Inn
Days Inn Sandy Bedfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing