We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Lounge India

Lounge India
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Sandy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sandy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Been here several times now and also order take aways the food is great quality and good value for money with lot of really good offers all week round. The staff are really nice a easy to get on with very highly recommend to others

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank surkitt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    37
    14
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunday Buffet”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Have heard good things, so after a busy weekend we decided to check it out ourselves and as it was Sunday, according to the website....buffet!! Two hungry children (12+) hubby and myself arrived. Bit empty in the reception area...we did wonder if it was open, but we heard someone in the dining area, so ventured in. We were the only ones there at 6.00pm, but the buffet was on until 7.00pm. We were welcomed and shown to a table. We were offered drinks and popadums while we waited for the chefs to add a bit the buffet. The waiters were very attentive and kept the food topped up for us, bringing out more rice, pakoras, bhaji and a very lovely chicken tikka masala and something lamb, which was very tasty, but I've no idea what it was. There was plenty of food, and we left stuffed! A most pleasant dining experience and will definitely visit again and use the takeaway. Thumbs up from us!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank carrie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great choice of great traditional food”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Went with family on Good Friday. Food was excellent with a huge choice of traditional food on offer rather than just the standard menu of Indian dishes so often seen (although these are also available).

Service was prompt and friendly from start to finish.

Definitely recommended !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Strange experience”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We came without booking for an early evening mid week Indian, for the first time, after seeing the very good reviews of this place on Trip Advisor.

It certainly did not come up to our expectations, and again we were left wondering how some people could be so delighted with their experience. Did we just come at the wrong time, or has the place changed?

On arrival parking arrangements were hopeless. A tiny paved area outside was marked up with about six parking places, but there was insufficient manoeuvring space. Luckily there were no other cars.

We were greeted cheerfully by friendly staff and taken into the large dining area, set out with the tables fairly well spaced. There were no other diners . The interior was rather shabby, in need of a good coat of paint and the net drapes rather grubby. The large empty room was rather forbidding and drab, perhaps it looks better when it is full with customers, We felt rather cold too My napkin was frayed and had a hole in it..

The menu was very long with two pages of specials. It is hard to see how a restaurant can serve such a huge range of dishes without resorting to reheating and adapting. Anyway the Poppadum's and pickles were fine.

One starter was basically chicken tikka with cheese on top. It was not a success; the cheese was like a mature cheddar and the dish was too complex rather dry and not hot enough.. A tandoori chicken was OK. The side salad rather wilted, but otherwise alright. The starters were obviously not freshly cooked, although the service was fairly slow. I think that tandoori dishes should always be freshly cooked, otherwise they do not work.

One main course was a very mixed affair with chicken and liver. It was too rich and again did not seem to be piping hot. The other, a lamb curry was OK, the meat was tender enough and properly cooked. I would describe it as a basic curry, but it was supposed to be something special. Aloo Gobi was OK. Pilau rice was just boiled rice with a sprinkling of herbs on top.

No-one else showed up, The bill came to £61 excluding service.

I have given it three stars because the staff were friendly. But I would not go back.

Why have so many people rated it so highly? Very strange.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best in Sandy by far...”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have lived in Sandy 7 years - my husband 18 years. We have tried the majority of restaurants and take aways in the surrounding areas and this place is a hidden gem. Looks can be decieving and parking is not great although there is parking for a few cars and the owner does not mind at all if you drive round the back. The staff are very friendly and the food is absolutely fabulous. The restaurant has just won 5 stars (highest possible) for Hygiene and it shows as its immaculate inside. The food is simply amazing. Always served piping hot and full of flavour. My husband and I had not been for a meal for several weeks and went here Friday night and its as good as ever. The chicken is so tender and not tough like other indian restaurants in the vicinity! We had aloo gobi and the potatoes were perfect and the cauliflower just right - not too soft. Peshwari nan is lovely! Would never ever go anywhere else whilst the standard is always this high.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Curabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lounge India also viewed

Sandy, Bedfordshire
Sandy, Bedfordshire
 
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Shefford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Lounge India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing