We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food, great atmosphere - they just need more staff!”
Review of Maharajah - CLOSED

Maharajah
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: SG19 1JA Attractively set out Indian Restaurant with extremely attentive but unobtrusive service, nice touches with fresh vegetables, complimentary fruit at the end and a rose
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, great atmosphere - they just need more staff!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

You can't fault the food at the Maharajah. It's exceptionally tasty and the portion sizes are generous. The decor is high-quality and the atmosphere is extremely welcoming .

The only thing that this restaurant lacks is enough staff to serve their customers. I have eaten there several times, and I keep on forgiving them for the (at times) appalling service because the food is SO good.
They are super-friendly, but the staff simply can't cope once the restaurant is more than half full. One or two extra staff at weekends would make this one of my favourite restaurants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank THEWUZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    29
    7
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and attentive service!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The food, service and atmosphere in the Maharajah are outstanding, my husband and I visit nearly every Friday, the waiters are attentive and the food is amazing probably the best I have tasted.

Definitely worth a visit, book at weekends though as it can get busy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbakescakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Overstaffed”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited early on a Friday evening. Restaurant seemed dark with a decor of red and black with an abundance of mirrors plus tiny lights. It reminded me of the stage for a magic act. I could not fault either the food or service except that any dishes including King Prawn had them partly in the shell. My chicken vindaloo was the hottest I have experienced for many months.
What spoilt my evening at the Maharajah was the sheer number of waiters (7 + 1 out of uniform) which vastly outnumbered the number of diners. Nothing wrong in being friendly but each one of them at some point came over and enquired if was meal was OK. A lady (a regular I guess) collected a takeaway order and was passionately kissed by most of them. Agree that customer service is important but found the kissing/handshaking rather insincere, exaggereated and embarrassing. Also rather pricey.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigglesBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Slightly modernised menu, in a good looking venue. The restaurant and service are very very good. When you arrive, you are greeted like an old friend that they haven't seen for month's! and in some cases that's true, but it just adds to the experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Loungelizaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner at Maharajah”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Good choice of curries, rices and sundries. Very friendly and attentive staff. Excellent to have such a resturant within walking distance of home. Nice touch, ladies are presented with a rose as they leave.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EGammell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maharajah also viewed

Sandy, Bedfordshire
Sandy, Bedfordshire
 
Sandy, Bedfordshire
Sandy, Bedfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing