We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel. Very Clean & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Celay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Celay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel. Very Clean & Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

Staff very helpful and keen to please. Owners very much in evidence. Food excellent, rooms and pool very clean. We did not opt for the air conditioning (£3 a day), despite 35-40 degree heat as I don't like the atmosphere and noise, however this did have the disadvantage of having to leave the windows open and listen to noisy guests in the bar/pool area (British of course) until 3.30 am on some nights. Nevertheless a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    151
    42
    17
    8
See reviews for
247
420
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2007

After visiting this hotel for a fortnight I can say that it has to be the friendliest hotel I have been to.
Clean, great service. We hope a travel company does not take over this hotel as it is run by husband and wife who arranged for emmergency hospital care when needed and provide a personal touch.
The town of Fethiye is lovely. Food was a very good standard, plenty of salads and cooked foods buffet style. Half board was not a problem, vast range of snacks available at lunch and optional a la carte in the evening. SUPERB!!!!!!
Pool spotless, you do pay extra on arrival for air conditioning. £3 perday, worth it in 45 degree heat, only thing we missed was a fridge in the room. Don't go to Turkey expecting the same standards as Spain as you shall not recieve this. Turkey is not a rich country but up and coming. If your after a chilled, clean hotel with lovely scenery you shall not be dissapointed.

  • Liked — clean, scenary
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gem1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

Just had a lovely ,2 week, family holiday at The Celay.
Rooms are clean & are of a good,basic standard.The hot water could do with being turned on more!!!,usually not until 6pm,so a shower in a morning is impossible.
The breakfast is what you would expect in Turkey,bread,jam,melon,etc...
The staff are friendly & helpful.The managers Celal & Ayten are nice people,when my son was not well (prob too much sun) Ayten offered to call a doctor if needed,bless her!!!
The pool is a really good size & there is a seperate childrens pool,that usually stays warm in the sun.We met some lovely guests at the Celay too & had a very good holiday with them,it almost felt like a little community!!!!
Due to the location,there is a little walk to the main road to get a dolmus or taxi & coming back up,particularly in the heat,it can be a bit of a pull.
Overall,the whole holiday was brilliant & we would go back to the Celay any time.

  • Liked — Large pool area
  • Disliked — no hot water when you want it
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank princessefes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2007

If you want to stay in a very clean hotel with lovely beds run by people with a generous and discreet outlook, then for what it costs, you would have to go very far to rival the Celay hotel.
When you book online or last minute you are naturally worried about standards and atmosphere. This place puts your mind at ease within seconds of seeing the huge swimming pool and the open plan dining and bar spaces. The building itself is attractive and well finished with a little balcony for each room which all overlook the pool. Your bedroom and bathroom are cleaned to a high standard every day and fresh towels provided.The food is also good with evening buffets offering 3 courses prepared by the resident cook.

The hotel is not in the center of the tourist set up. But this gives it another edge. It lies away slightly in a place with a breeze and no commercial mania around it.
Besides any trip to the "nightlife" is only 10 minutes away in the many minibuses than run 300 yards from the Hotel.If you want a straightforward beach holiday (Oludeniz) and pleasant well run surroundings you can go here with total confidence.

  • Liked — the atmosphere and cleanliness
  • Disliked — my face in the mirror
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank petertv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2007

We went to Celay for one week on 12th July 2007. The hotel is small and that creates a friendly atmosphere.

The good points:
Friendly staff
Beautiful setting with views of the mountains
A nice sized pool
The owners make an effort to know their guests
The evening food is lovely with lots of choice for all
The rooms are comfortable

The bad points:
The food for breakfast is very repetitive
We didn't have a bin in our room

Useful information:
Bottle of their lovely beer is about 4 Lira (3 at happy hour)
Air conditioning is £3 per day
You may have to check out at 11am despite having late flights but they have showers and facilities you can use until you leave
Trips out with the rep or booked elsewhere are very cheap
It is only a three star hotel so don't expect luxury, rooms are functional, clean and comfortable
There is a Turkish night once a week

Hopefully this is useful. We had a lovely time at Celay and would definitely recommend it. We met many people on our trips who complained bitterly about their hotels and they paid a lot more than we did! The hotel is out in the sticks, but we knew this before booking and it makes for a pleasant location to relax in.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu3313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed at the Celay Hotel recently and it was a very pleasant hotel that was very clean and the staff there were very helpful. The only down side to it was it was a bit out in the sticks with no bars or restaurants in the area. We were wrongly informed by our rep that the taxi to Hisaronu(nearest town) was £16 one way and we got talking to another guest 4 days into our holiday who told us it was £4 so we could have went through more often.Dont listen to reps if you want to know anything ask the staff.
The only other thing I can say was wrong was the price of the drinks at the hotel bar £2.50 for a small glass of wine, I dont even pay that at home so it can get a bit expensive after a few.
Enough of the moans now..the rooms were very nice and spacious and they were cleaned everyday.The pool was lovely and we were half board and we were impressed with the food. There were plenty of sun loungers around the pool so there were no towels on the beds the night before.
Go for a Turkish bath it was fab but take some money with you coz they offer aromatherapy treatments and massages (we were not told that by the rep surprise surprise) dont bother with the 12 island trip it was pants, they werent even islands they were just rocks in the sea and we left at 9am and got back 6.30pm waste of a day.
There is a big market in Calis (pronounced Chalish) on a sunday where you can get all your prezzies and its covered which is welcome in the blazing sun oh and dont forget to haggle!!

  • Liked — The staff and the food
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vix29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2007

The hotel came highly recommended by the travel company, though that obviously normally means nothing.

But in this case we made the right decision. It was a fab hotel, and one of the cleanest we have ever stayed at too.

The staff are so friendly and will go out of their way to help you and make sure that your holiday goes as planned.

The pool is keep in a great condition, never dirty and always been cleaned.

Rooms are clean and well looked after. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

It is quite a walk into town but the taxis are very cheap!

There is also lots to do in the local area like paragliding, snorkelling and boat trips etc.

We really enjoyed our time at the Celay and are already getting ready to go again later this year or next summer.

If you want a chilled out, clean, relaxing hotel then this is the place to go...

Enjoy!

  • Liked — Its clean!
  • Disliked — All great
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.4 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#2 of 19 in Ovacik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
0.5 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celay Hotel

Property: Celay Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mevki Oludeniz, Ovacik, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ovacik
#1 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Celay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celay Hotel Fethiye
Celay Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing