We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, simple but just what you need.”
Review of Celay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Celay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
1 review
“Good value, simple but just what you need.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel a while ago now but only recently reviewing on here. Before I comment on the hotel ill just say I am reviewing the hotel, the fact that it is a long transfer from Dalaman to me is irrelevant as this is uncontrollable by the hotel.

This is a great little hotel, friendly staff, clean, good location (if you like being close enough to the action but far enough away not to feel like your in the hustle and bustle of everything), and overall great value for money.

We stayed end of August and it was extremely hot, so the lack of air con in the block we stayed in was not great, but it was out choice not to pay to upgrade and stay in the air con block.

The rooms were some but clean, comfy beds and had everything you would need / expect for a room only holiday.

The pool area was always very clean and a nice place to spend time, however you did have to play the sunbed game and get up before breakfast to make sure you had a sunbed to lay on.

The breakfast was the only food we sampled at the hotel, it was , simple, but enough for what you needed. The bread was always lovely and fresh, however having it outside buffet style did cause some problems with flies.

The bar was great, and the staff were very friendly, but be aware the cost will always be much higher in your hotel, so a beer and ice cream soon adds up. Like many other hotels in turkey you don't pay for your drinks when purchasing, you have a tab which you can pay off at times of your choosing. I would suggest doing this every few days as it adds up quite quick, and some people were left shocked by the amount they had to pay at the end of their holiday.

The hotel is located about a 5 min walk up a hill from the Ovacik main road, there are about 10 restaurants and a good selection of bars. The food is great value and the drinks are too. You can catch a bus for next to nothing 5 mins down the road into Hisaronu which is a busy resort, full of shops, all nights bars, restaurants etc, a great place. we tended to sit our evenings between the peaceful setting of a meal in Ovacik and a busy night with a drink or ten in Hisaronu.

Top tips:

Olu Deniz - make sure you do a trip to the national park to the Caribbean like setting beaches, very nice. I would also recommend a boat trip excursion, they're all the same and pretty much the same price, hardly anything, a great day out.

Drag show in Hisaronu - cant remember the name, and I was dreading it, but was a great nights entertainment.

Fetiye - a good size Turkish city well worth a visit, especially on market day, only 15 minutes down the road.

Little gem for lunch - if you stay at this hotel, take a walk into ovacik for lunch, as you reach the main road in ovacik on the hotel side there is a little group of shops that includes a barbers and hairdressers, next to it is a tiny Turkish cafe, where all the locals and taxi drivers go for tea and coffee. The guy who works there makes amazing Turkish chicken kebabs. They cost next to nothing and we ended up going there for lunch most days.

So overall we had a great time and with the great exchange rate from the uk, we are looking forward to going back to this area of turkey again, would we stay at this hotel again? If we wanted b&b or room only, then yes, it's a good choice.


Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scottyholmes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    151
    42
    17
    8
See reviews for
249
426
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
crewe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just got back from another visit to the Celay. This hotel offers a fantastic view of the ovacik area yes it is in a slightly remote location and walking uphill is something that you must be prepared to do. The views are fantastic from this point. The hotel staff are well organised and nothing is to much trouble to help or offer assistance they are a credit to there employers who run a tight ship. The hotel is spotless, food good quality and not over priced. We stayed in the newer part of the hotel would recommend rooms 137 and 138. Will be returning as soon as we can. Travelled with family the Turkish people like family groups and make you very welcome. Should you choose Celay you will not be. disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimufc20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed here for the first time, all the staff are so welcoming and make you feel at home, especially the bar staff, Java and others who keep everyone entertained!
The rooms are spotless and the food is lovely! Would recommend the hotel to anyone! Can't wait to return next year

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChloeEshelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

What not to say about this hotel, Celay pronounced Jellay was the cleanest 3star hotel I’ve ever been in. Im a bit of a snob when it comes down to booking a 3stars hotel and was a bit concerned but I thought I would give it ago after reading all the good reviews. The reviews where right it, this hotel should not be a 3 star hotel it should be a 4star. We had the best time ever in this hotel as the location was perfect quiet but only 5 minutes away if you wanted a bit more night life. The staffs are so friendly and funny which made the holiday even better. Would deffo return back in the near future!
Sam and Ann

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The celay hotel is a lovely hidden gem just below the mountain hill in the upper part of ovacik.this was our 3 stay here once again we where not disappointed.the staff are wonderful from the cleaners right through to the owners you can stay in a basic room a deluxe or super deluxe which have jacussi.we stayed b&b with the cereal toast yogurt or you can have the Turkish breakfast of hams cheeses Tec we also tried some of the meals in the evening this time we where pleased with our meals and service.there is only 1 thing that some visitors may have problems with this hotel is that it's up a hill from the main part of ovacik so if you 're not good to walk this I would recommend a taxi we walked down some nights to Viacom about 5/7mins to get the local comas or walk into hisaranu get the bus back to the bottom rd walk up .the celay as some beautiful views it's quite area it's based at.some nice bars in ovacik and down in hisaranu there's a market on Monday in hisaranu with loads of bargains .cleanliness very good cleaners in every day beds made bathrooms cleaned bins emptied some day they leave beautiful shaped swans hearts on the beds as a surprise .like a say a little hidden gem

Room Tip: Deluxe or super deluxe air con etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjessicaeve2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meols, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited the Celay Hotel with my partner in June 2013 for 1 week. On arrival we upgraded to a Deluxe room, having looked at the standard and Deluxe room before making our decision it was worth it. Standard rooms are very cramped and do not include air con as standard.
The Celay is about 20 min to the restaurants in Ovacik and another 10 or so into Hisaronu. We dined in Ovacik as the restaurants were much more authentic than Hisaronu which is clearly aimed at the Brits.

The hotel was very clean although there were quite a lot of flies in the breakfast room each morning which was slightly off putting. Breakfast was basic but sufficient for the week although if there for 2 weeks would of been very repetitive (Melon, boiled eggs, ham, toast, cheese). We enjoyed a Turkish night here, food was cooked on the BBQ and was well worth the wait!

Instead of using the Celay's suggested Turkish spa for the Turkish bath, we booked to go to the Sanctuary via their website after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. This was excellent! They picked us up from the Celay hotel and dropped us off afterwards. We both had the traditional bath followed by an Anti stress massage (45 min).

We enjoyed our holiday, there are a lot of people that return to Celay each year and so are very friendly with the staff. Ovacik is a nice place, not as spoilt as some places in Turkey and the Dolmus buses make it very easy to get around.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Deluxe for comfort sleeping at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rlewis11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keighley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

came back from celay hotel on 20/07/2013 after another great 2 weeks in turkey went there last year at same time all the staff make you so welcome especially java and ohan who always had a cold beer waiting ulli the manager speaks better English than me and is always helpful the owners are always on hand and are a lovely couple .Ovacik is a good base for a peacefull holiday but a 15 minute walk takes you t busier places and the dolmas buses are very good .cant wait till next year to go back

Room Tip: deluxe rooms have a great shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.4 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#10 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,240 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#7 of 103 in Oludeniz
456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tunacan Hotel
Tunacan Hotel
#8 of 19 in Ovacik
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celay Hotel

Property: Celay Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mevki Oludeniz, Ovacik, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ovacik
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Celay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Celay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celay Hotel Fethiye
Celay Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing