We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic”
Review of Tunacan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tunacan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just returned from an absolutely fantastic 16 nights at the Tunacan Hotel with my wife.The hotel owners Ali and Turcan have found the secret of how to make their customers feel like old friends whether it's a first visit or not.They genuinely want you to feel their warmth and hospitality which can be lacking with other hotels in the area.The rooms are of average size and are kept spotlessly clean by the non stop maid whose name I cannot possibly spell (sorry).We stayed on b&b basis and the breakfast menu is extensive much better than just having the normal to choose from.The bar and restaurant are all one area but cleverly arranged so as to not feel cramped so you get the feeling of space whether having a meal or just a drink.The pool area is clean and furnished with plenty of sun beds and tables and chairs.We did have some nights that we ate in and all the food was freshly cooked to order and very tasty and always served with a smile.What you won't get at the Tunacan is boom boom music from breakfast till the early hours this is just not the owners way.This is a very laid back chill out hotel set off the main road with mountain views but close to the much busier centre of Hisaronu and beach area of Olu Deniz.We will be returning next year for hopefully an even longer stay and wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to everyone.BRILLIANT!!!!

Room Tip: Always try and book direct with Ali
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    20
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
59
74
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Romania
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

- we were supposed to stay 3 nights and in the first night they put us in a very bad building with very bad rooms; be carefull when you book this hotel because it has a building that is new 3 stars and looks ok, and a very old building that is maximum 1 star with really small and bad rooms; they were not fair to us to let us stay in the old building and the next 2 nights they gave us only 2 rooms in the new building, the third room remained in the old one; this is the main reason I gave a bad review for the hotel
- the prices in the hotel bar are really expensive, a beer is much more expensive than in a bar in the town center
- the food takes 1 hour to be ready, we had halfboard and we lost 1 hour in the morning and 1 hour in the evening each day to wait for the food; the food is not buffet and every time you had a fixed menu; the quality of the food was ok
- far from the sea and far from the city center; it's around 5km to the sea shore and 2km to the city center where all the bars and nightlife is
- the rest was ok, the staff was nice to us all the time and the food quality was good
- the hotel and all the resort is full of british people; if you are NOT british you might feel a bit mistreated because everyone wants to please the british (the accent, the serving, all the places have English breakfast, british style bars, the prices are mostly in pounds, they treat you better and they smile if you are british and so on)

Room Tip: ask for a room in the NEW building before booking - this is a must otherwise you will probably stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lihte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovacik
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at Tunacan in ovacik , 8th - 22nd sept 2013.
Found the hotel to be very relaxing , staff welcoming , pool area and pool very good.
Chose half board option taking breakfast as we like to try different restaurants on an evening, having booked direct with Ali anything on the menu was available , not the case if you book through tour operator !
Breakfasts on the whole were very good with a wide selection available , only complaint and it's a little one is the eggs were on the runny side for me , not quite cooked enough.
Room was very clean, sheets and towels changed daily,toilet rolls replenished without having to ask.
Wifi is available BUT couldn't access it in room , no big problem , but it is stated that you can receive wifi throughout and you can't.
Drinks and meals were reasonably priced , a little dearer than town as you would expect , they are very willing to allow a tab so no need to carry cash whilst sunbathing , swimming etc , a few people we met said bar prices fluctuate depending who's on shift , we found this not to be the case at all.
Ali organises a shuttle service to a lovely beach , with sand not pebbles and rocks as is the case on the nature reserve at blue lagoon, it's free and you only pay for your sunbed , 7lira , obviously drinks n food at beach payable and twice the price , but again expected.
Overall , very happy with Tunacan , it's quite location , NOT a steep hill upto it as I've read in other reviews! clean rooms , great pool area , welcoming friendly staff and what seems to be a lot of repeat bookings from other happy holidayers , would we go back , yes definitely.

Room Tip: Maybe front of hotel , reception side as you might receive wifi signal there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djjohnmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My Girlfriend and I have just got home from a great Holiday where we stayed at this family run hotel. Although we only booked B&B and were out exploring a lot, we felt well looked after and got to know the owners and staff well.

The hotel is away from the main road so is peaceful but still an easy walk to nearby shops and restaurants. The next town down, Hisaronu, is about a 10 min walk. You can also catch a Dolmus on the main road to Fethiye or Olu Deniz.

Our room was basic, very clean and very comfortable. All the rooms have a balcony and air con. The restaurant and bar area has a great atmosphere. There is always good music playing that caters for all tastes (it is not loud). The swimming pool is a good size with plenty of sun loungers.

Food and drink at the hotel is very good value. If you prefer to relax in the hotel a lot, there will be no nasty surprise in the bill. A Turkish breakfast is included, but there are other breakfast options available. There is a good choice for lunch and dinners too. As we like to explore a lot, we only ate dinner there once, but it was nice.

All of the staff are friendly and speak good English. The owners Ali and Turkan provided us will lot of good info on the area and things to do.

A lot of the guests we spoke to had visited the Tunacan before. We were sad to leave and would definitely stay here again if we holiday in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiegrieve82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My family and I was at the Tunacan hotel in August this is my first ever review but I can honestly say was probably our best holiday to date,we met some great people and we've all already re- booked for next year as Ali and Turcan + their boys who run this hotel are the most friendliest people you could meet, they can't do enough for you and will help you with anything you need.
Excellent Excellent Excellent!!!!!!!!.

Room Tip: No otherwise I won't get the room I want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbutler1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I would have to say that overall our stay at Tuncan was ok. We didn't see a dog called Sheba the whole time we were there (just a dog that used to sit outside a hotel further down the street). We were neither bowled over by the hospitality but neither were we disappointed by it. It is a very clean, quiet, family run hotel that covers all your basic requirements. Ali and Turkan were there if you needed them but otherwise they kept themselves busy with the day to day running of the hotel. Having said that Ali made the fridge behind the bar available to us for my son's medication and there was never any problem in him going to the fridge as and when required. Ali was also helpful when my boyfriend needed medical treatment. We would love to be as enthusiastic about our stay in the same way some other people have been on here and its really hard to put our finger on whatever it was that wasn't quite right. I don't want to be critical because there was nothing really to criticize and we all thoroughly enjoyed our time in Ovacik/Hisaranu/Olu Deniz. The only conclusion we have come to is that Ali & Turkan used to run a aparthotel further down the road and therefore have lots of regulars. We think that if you book directly with Ali or are one of his regulars then you maybe get slightly more attention, ie, Ali greeting you with a drink in the bar on your arrival, fruit in your room, etc. We booked through a third party. So as the saying goes, "you get what you pay for". As my boyfriend had been to that area before we had a fantastic time and overall the hotel was ok. I wouldn't not recommend it but neither would I push somebody to go there. With regard to previous reviews regarding the bar prices they seem to fluctuate depending on who serves you! Although we had air con in our room it was never chilled air that came out of it. It took the edge off the heat but didn't negate it. Thank you Ali & Turkan.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a small family (ie, mum, dad and 1 child) make sure you ask for a family ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just returned from this hotel, lovely friendly owners and staff, nothing too much trouble, we had a family room overlooking the pool, fantastic views of the mountains and sunsets, good location up a side street off the main road, we were bed & breakfast and the Turkish breakfasts were very nice, the alternatives were varied and reasonably priced. We did not have a problem getting sun beds round the pool and the hotel was very relaxing during the day and evenings, drinks prices were no dearer than the resort, thank you Ali, Turkan, family and staff for a great holiday, we will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolvesfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.5 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ovacik
907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gokcen Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#14 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
2.3 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#29 of 103 in Oludeniz
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunacan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunacan Hotel

Property: Tunacan Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mah. 170 sok.no:6, Ovacik 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
#5 Family Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tunacan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooled by the mountain breeze, situated in Ovacik between Fethiye and Oludeniz, Tunacan hotel enjoys a peaceful location with superb pool facilities and is ideal for couples and families seeking peace and tranquillity but within easy reach of its lively surrounding resorts Hisaronu, Oludeniz and Fethiye. Established in 1993, this beautiful hotel offers various types of rooms to suit your situation, with standard double rooms, twin rooms sleeping 3 and family rooms available. The board basis is bed and breakfast, offering a combination of self service and freshly cooked options. There is also an all-day menu available serving delicious snacks, lunches and lite bites from our bar and restaurant area so you will not go hungry! Thanks to our very special location near to the main road to Oludeniz even though you may not have a car you still have easy access to anywhere you wish to go by public transport. Hisaronu a centre for entertainment and shopping is only 900 meters. Oludeniz resort famous for its Blue Lagoon, heavenly sea and beach is only 3.5km and Fethiye is 7km away from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunacan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunacan Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing