We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish delight”
Review of Tunacan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunacan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Turkish delight”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Wow, what a place!
Stayed at the Tunacan for 12 fantastic nights (2 families with children aged 5, 10, 11, 13 & 14) and we all loved every minute.
Ali, Turkan, Sone/Ice man and Berksan/Bazza are the most lovely and friendliest people you could ever want to meet.
Our rooms were spacious and clean (thanks to the smiley maid who came in every day). The air con was great and def needed in August.
The food was delicious, all freshly prepared by the cook and generous sized portions, we ate here most lunchtimes and every evening meal as we was half board. We didn't feel the need to go anywhere else.
Sheba the family dog is a gentle giant, she liked nothing more then to roll over and have her tummy tickled. Our 5 year old who is usually scared of dogs loved her.
The pool was lovely and clean, the children played in it most of the time, it was never too busy. The rest of the time they spent playing pool in the shade with new friends.
We usually go to different places abroad but now we have found the Tunacan it'd be a hard act to follow, we've already been looking at flights to go back next year.
If you are looking for a relaxing holiday with a home from home feel - look no further.
Thanks for a wonderful, memorable holiday. See you again soon...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cheryl871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    21
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
59
75
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at the Tunacan at the beginning of August. We arrived near midnight and the owner, Ali was waiting to show us to our room. I would advise booking your transfer with Ali, the service was excellent. We were shown our rooms and settled down to a good night.
The following morning we had breakfast, a classic Turkish breakfast, if you want extra or something different you only had to ask.
The food at the Hotel was ok, my only critism was the lack of inconsistency! One day my daughters spaghetti and meat balla was superb, the next not so good, same could be said of some of the other items we tried. The prices seemed fine. On prices, I'm not sure what a previous reviewer mentioned beer at at 12lr, the beer I bought was between 7 & 8lr.
Sheba the dog was fine, on the most a big softee, sadly one the last day she had a Bit of a growl at my daughter, I'm convinced however that my daughter woke her from sleep and startled her, so I don't place any blame at the Hotel.
A few gripes were:
Having to put towels on loungers early to guarantee a place.
By the end of the week the pool was dirty, you couldn't see the bottom, as we left Ali took a delivery of chemicals.
Keeping he Service in he family can sometimes mean slow service (not too big a deal).
Other guests returning to the hotel late waking you up.
Other guests smoking at the bar and restaurant, not used to it these days.

These are only niggles, the service you do get from Ali & family makes up for those.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I think the title says it all! :o)

Me and my partner have just returned home after spending 2 weeks in Turkey at Tunacan hotel with Ali, Turkan, their lovely lads (Sonny and Bazza) and sheba the dog! It was like home from home, we were settled in within no time at all. The trip adviser reviews sold the holiday for me and we were not left dissapointed. Just email the hotel and Ali will respond within no time at all...it's hassle free and no deposit required!!

I booked our transfer with Ali, £80 return, very reasonable, hassle free. We had an amazing welcome from everyone at the hotel and we settled in straight away (oh and hungover the next morning!).

All I can say is that we were more than happy with our holiday and choice of hotel....

*hot hot weather (45 degrees plus) although you get a nice breeze
*lovely view of the mountains from the pool
*friendly & helpful staff
*lovely food
*great bar area
*very sociable
*amazing clean pool
*the rooms are lovely and clean and bed is comfy
*Ali, Turkan and family speak great english and they will do whatever they can to make your stay memorable and stress free
*excellent location- the hotel is a 5 min walk to some lovely restaurants....we loved Aubergines and the Kings Arms , staff are lovely, food is great!! Especially the steak!! yum!!
*highly recommend the fish market in Fethiye. It's on everyday and is only 3.50 lira on the dolmas bus from the bottom of the road....you choose and buy your fresh fish (we had prawns and seabass), go to any of the restaurant around the perimeter of the market and they cook it for you for 6 lira, you just buy some salad, drinks etc....it was lovely!!!
*boat trip was great fun...make sure you wear high factor, very hot! We booked through Alibaba

I could go on and on but think I should stop here. You'll soon find out for yourself if you go there. Ignore any of the bad reviews, we couldn't fault any of it!! Sheba the dog is far from agressive, she just lays about sleeping and occassionally comes up for a cuddle....

at the end of the day you cannot please everybody, but from what we have seen and experienced, we absolutely loved our holiday, our best yet by far!!!

We'll be back next year ready for round 2!! THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING...See you all soon.....keep smiling and happy holidays!!

Love Lisa & Jodie

x x x x x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a fabulous week at the Tunacan Hotel. What a super, friendly hotel...it really did feel like a home from home. Ali was there on the steps to greet us and welcome us to Turkey which we all thought was a lovely touch. We immediately felt at home and the hotel had such a convivial atmosphere you could do nothing but relax. Ali, his wife Turkan and their two sons were always full of smiles and chat throughout the day and into the wee small hours. We ate breakfast everyday and what a comprehensive choice! Think between us we sampled most of the range and every dish was delicious and substantial. We also had lunch occasionally and again fab portions. Recommend the club sandwich made with Turkish bread.
We didn't eat there in the evenings as we prefer to sample different places. Prices of drinks and icecreams very reasonable too.

There are two other members of the team who were amazing: the very smiley maid who kept the rooms spotless and organised and the very placid and good-natured dog Sheba. I have never met such a gentle and chillaxed dog before; she spent most of the day snoozing and having doggy dreams in the shade. I never once saw her barking at any of the fellow guests.

I hope to visit this lovely oasis again one of these days and, if you are looking for a small and friendly place to lay your hat, then I would recommend the Tunacan. Thanks again Ali, Turkan and rest of the team. And a big woof to you, Sheba.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirtland12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I'm reluctantly writing this review because part of me wants to keep this little gem of a hotel a secret so that I don't lose out on enjoying it in the future! From the moment we arrived until we left we felt that all our needs were more than well catered for by Ali, Turkan and the 'team'. We've never relaxed so quickly into a holiday until this one and this is down to the atmosphere created by Ali and Turkan. We didn't feel like we were staying in a hotel, more like staying in a home from home. The earlier review about poor service, expensive drinks and breakfasts didn't ring true to me. When you book you get the option of a Turkish breakfast or by paying £3? more a choice of the breakfast menu. We opted for the latter and had everything ranging from a Turkish, English, pancakes and muesli, all for no extra charge. Our room was in the 'old' block and although Ali offered us the chance to move to one in the 'new' block without any prompting from us, we chose to stay in the original room as it was perfectly adequate, clean and airy. We chose to eat at the hotel in the evenings on a couple of nights and the food was very good, freshly made and generous portion sizes. We also had a couple of lunches at the hotel which were prepared fresh when we wanted them and were delicious and reasonably priced. The pool was fantastic and we only had one day where we couldn't get a sunbed but this was resolved by the afternoon. There are many restaurants, bars and shops within easy walking distance and Ali and Turkan will steer you in the right direction. Ali can also organise a free shuttle bus to the beach every day if you wish and his and Turkan's perfect grasp of the English language means that life is made easier for any problems that might arise with any aspect of your holiday. Late night dips in the pool and sessions in the bar, not rowdy or noisy, enhanced the atmosphere. Talking to other guests it was clear that a lot of people have been coming here for years and many were planning to return again next year. This was our first visit but we will be back next year and hopefully will meet up with some friends that we made this year. Thanks for a wonderful holiday Ali & Turkan, see you next year. One final point, don't compare shop prices for things like water and cornflakes to a hotel as it's ridiculous. You wouldn't do it in the UK so don't do it in Turkey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday at the tunacan,the owners Ali and tucan cannot do enough for you.We met some great people,and we all said we would meet up at the tunacan next year.You are under no pressure to eat and drink at the bar,do whatever you want,loads of restaurants within walking distance,lovely pool,overlooked by the mountains.This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel,and the first time I have written a review,I did not know the owners Ali and Tucan before this holiday and have no hidden agenda,no way the writer of the review running the tunacan down stayed there,it is not truthful and very unfair,finally,thanks for the round of shots you got for us Ali,it was much appreciated,see you next year.Angela and Steve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve1982186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My family and I had the most superb holiday at the Tunacan Hotel. Ali and Turkan could not do enough for you. They spoke perfect english and were very friendly, approachable and above all they genuinely cared about all their guests. Truly marvellous hosts.

The rooms were VERY clean. The cleaner worked so hard and did an amazing job. The decor is basic but the beds were comfortable, clean towels and bed linen supplied nearly every day, good showers (always hot water available) and each room had AC, perfect!

The food at the Tunacan was amazing, such a vast choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The chef Serefe was amazing! Comments made in the'bad' review stated that drinks were expensive!??? Drinks were cheap, beer roughly £2.50 and baby guinesses around £3/4! The bar area is outside near the pool. The atmosphere in the evening was brilliant , Ali was our own human juke box! We did venture out a couple of times in the evening but to be honest the hubbub at the hotel was better!

Our children had a wonderful and magical time. They LOVED Sheba, Ali and Turkan's dog. She was a gentle soul, nothing like what was mentioned on the 'bad' review. She never growled or had an aggressive bone in her body. She was a darling.

We are all sad to return home but look forward to our next visit to the Tunacan. I am a little concerned that it is getting too popular and we will not be able to book again!

PLEASE take no notice of the previous bad review. I was shocked when I read it as it DOES"T describe the Tunacan or Ali and Turkan at all. I am more than willing to give more information to anyone about the Tunacan Hotel. I wish Tripadvisor could dlete the bad review because it is so wrong!

Thank you Ali and Turkan for a wonderful holiday, even my boys felt the 'Tunacan love'. We will see you all again very soon. Much love to you, your lovely sons and to Sheba XXXXXX

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R2er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.5 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ovacik
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#13 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gokcen Hotel & Apartments
0.4 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
2.3 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#29 of 103 in Oludeniz
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunacan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunacan Hotel

Property: Tunacan Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mah. 170 sok.no:6, Ovacik 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
#5 Family Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tunacan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooled by the mountain breeze, situated in Ovacik between Fethiye and Oludeniz, Tunacan hotel enjoys a peaceful location with superb pool facilities and is ideal for couples and families seeking peace and tranquillity but within easy reach of its lively surrounding resorts Hisaronu, Oludeniz and Fethiye. Established in 1993, this beautiful hotel offers various types of rooms to suit your situation, with standard double rooms, twin rooms sleeping 3 and family rooms available. The board basis is bed and breakfast, offering a combination of self service and freshly cooked options. There is also an all-day menu available serving delicious snacks, lunches and lite bites from our bar and restaurant area so you will not go hungry! Thanks to our very special location near to the main road to Oludeniz even though you may not have a car you still have easy access to anywhere you wish to go by public transport. Hisaronu a centre for entertainment and shopping is only 900 meters. Oludeniz resort famous for its Blue Lagoon, heavenly sea and beach is only 3.5km and Fethiye is 7km away from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunacan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunacan Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing