We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff would return”
Review of Aes Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aes Club Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 13 night holiday at this hotel which we absolutely loved. We arrived at 5am in the morning and the porter took our bags to our room which was an attic room which after reading the reviews we were dreading but there was more than enough room so not sure what the issue was, the roof slopes yeah but be aware if it and don't stand underneath that part...simple!! We read through every review on trip advisor before booking and after visiting this hotel and reading the reviews some people are just super fussy and if your looking for a lovely, friendly hotel to stay in a perfect location this is the place to book. 15 minute walk into hisaronu where there is plenty of lovely places to eat and night clubs for those that like to party ( we did 1 night and it was a magic night)The entertainment at the hotel was good at nights and the animation team( can't remember how to spell his name) went out of his way to make you feel welcome, our first day he shook our hands and remembered our names for the rest of the holiday, personal touch which makes a difference to your holiday.

The food was good plenty to choose from, my only grumble is I like my food hot and it was always warm, more frustrating when people left the lids open, couldn't fault the restaurant spotless clean and the waiters friendly. If the food was hot we would have no complaints, Turkish night in the restaurant was amazing :-) brilliant food

The bar staff downstairs were absolutely Brilliant, our favourites MURAT and SAM, super lads and made our holiday what is was. Remembered your drink without even asking which is always a plus :-) hope to return to this hotel next year we enjoyed so much.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise don't choose a pool facing as it will be noisy with the entertainmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have returned to the AES Club Hotel now for the past 2 years and anyone who is a returning guess will laugh at the above. The hotel staff are friendly and welcoming on arrival. The rooms are spacious and clean i have no reason to complain. Food is varied and enough choice to accommodate all. Staff are very friendly and I have only praise for the work put into the food served daily. Entertainment.....plenty to keep all ages occupied aqua aerobics, water polo, darts and table tennis, the staff Cihan, Sophie & Sarp were great and as a family we look forward to seeing them all again next year.

Rachelle

Room Tip: We have stayed in a Family Room over looking the pool which can be alittle noisy with young children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Clean hotel, friendly staff, good food, hardworking entertainment team and fantastic large swimming pool.
Rooms cleaned daily with towels left in shape of a swan. The salads available lunchtime and evening were the best I have had for ages.
Good breakfast selection, omelettes are made with too much oil however you only have to say less oil (Az ya) and they were happy to oblige.
Meat selections limited at dinner but there was always plenty of choice. Baked fish covered in salt was delicious.
Bar staff and animation team worked hard. Getting a bit cold to sit out at the beginning of October so could do with some canopy cover or some gas heaters!
Buses available to beach but it was small and the water looked uninspiring. So we shopped and went back to the Hotel. Not the place for beach lovers to stay but if you like a large pool and your inclusive drinks on tap then no problem at all. Clean pool towels available each day.
Booked a private taxi transfer from airport with a Turkish taxi firm and it cost £58 return.40 minutes transfer with speedy driver or an hour at a more leisurely pace.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are fine and our room on 3rd floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallyandMark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

just returned from aes club wonderfull holiday rooms nice and cleaned everyday cannot fault cleaners , restaurant food average could have been warmer i also agree with crockery poor quality and not replenished frequently enough , restaurant needs a good clean areas around floor edges never cleaned and windows etc dont know last time they where cleaned , local drinks very limited selection from bar , various areas of grounds could do with good cleaning , reception staff ilhan could not do enough for you very helpful and friendly , overall shoud be 3 star + ..

Room Tip: block at back of reception very quiet if youn want to be away from noisey pool area .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phil_j_br0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I have been to Turkey several times and were in the area last June so feel we have a reasonable base for comparison. I absolutely cannot fault the staff we met during our stay and think they are some of the friendliest we have ever met. We arrived late in the evening and were checked in by a lovely young man and then taken to our room by an equally polite bell boy who showed us how to use the safe etc - no putting out of hands for a tip which annoys us so very happy to tip in this case. We had paid a wee bit extra for a poolview room primarily because of the comments on the attic rooms and our experience of one last year at another hotel. We had a room on the far side of the hotel away from the entertainment so the noise in the evening was not too bad with the doors shut.

My only complaint about the room would be that the floors did not seem to be cleaned during our stay. We both frequently had dirty feet shortly after showering. It was clear that the floor was not being swept or mopped but otherwise we were happy with the maid service. We felt that the bed was very hard and uncomfortable but others said they were sleeping like logs so a personal thing. We also wished we'd asked for extra pillows as they were a bit thin. The air con in the room was great and also nice to have a screen on the door if you wanted to let natural air but not the mozzies in.

Balcony was small but we don't tend to sit out on it very much so it was fine. Towels and sheets were changed every few days which again is fine with us. Some of the beach towels were a bit thin but we weren't fussed - we like to save our weight in the case and just take a chance on the hotel towels. A small amount of toiletries on arrival but not replaced and always plenty of toilet roll. Safe was easy to operate and large enough for all our stuff. Wardrobe was a decent size and had a few drawers. Hairdryer in bathroom was typical of hotel hairdryers but more than sufficient to dry my mid-length hair.

Sadly the sunbed situation was not good at all during our first week (21st Sept) and people were reserving beds from about 6:30am. By 7:30-8am there was very little left at all and certainly nothing in the sunny area of the pool. I absolutely cannot stand getting up at silly o'clock for a sunbed but equally you end up becoming part of it to ensure you haven't spent your hard earned cash sitting in a chair all holiday. The most frustrating thing were the people and often groups reserving beds all day and either rarely being on them or waltzing up at 2pm. The second week was much better as the hotel was nearly empty and you could get anywhere you liked all day. The other major issue with the sunbeds were that you were packed in like sardines and for the first few days we sat at the back and were nearly on top of people so there was no personal space really. The tables were also not wiped down so as others have mentioned the pool did sometimes feel a bit grubby with stickiness on the tables/cups/straws etc on the floor. Toilets by the pool were clean other than when people hadn't flushed them so we didn't feel that they were not being cleaned.

The food at the hotel was not unpleasant and we were never hungry but I would say its the most "samey" food we've had at an AI and we were both fed up with the food at the end of the two weeks. Our favourite night was turkish night (which sadly was not repeated during our 2 weeks) and we also loved the freshly cooked doughnuts. The food was standard turkish AI food and we were not unwell at any point during our stay. We felt tables were cleared fairly quickly but they could have done with putting on new cloths and giving the napkin holders and salt/pepper a good wipe with a bit of jif - not awful but looked a bit grubby sometimes. A few times plates/cups etc were not 100% clean but we felt that this was not due to them not being washed more the dishwasher struggling to clean dried on food. Drinks were generally served in plastic cups at the pool but not always so glass was a concern. Beer was Efes and coke, diet coke, sprite and fanta were available as well as spirits (not whisky though) and AI cocktails. Bar staff were very good, especially the young girl.

The dolmus is a short walk out of the hotel and back up to the main road. We went into Olu Deniz and pre-arranged our boat trip before we came. Our pick up for heading home was quite late on in the day but we decided not to pay the £30 and just ask for courtesy room to freshen up in. We were given half an hour which was plenty of time to shower and the maid put in fresh towels and there were plenty of toiletries if you had run out. We just asked at reception on the morning we were checking out.

We used the spa once near the end of our holiday for a honey massage. I had the wee tiny girl and my husband had the young chap. We were both very happy with the service and the spa was very clean. The spa guy is not pressurising and therefore it was a very pleasant experience.

All in all its a good hotel and the number of repeat visitors indicates that people have a good holiday here. We didn't have a bad holiday by any stretch but have we have enjoyed other resorts a bit more. The only other thing I would say is that it was very cold at night, much colder than any previous trip to Turkey in September so take a few cardis or a jacket for the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GemGemsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We`ve just returned from the AES and had a good holiday there. The little things let it down but maybe because it`s almost the end of the season and the hotel is perhaps not as fully staffed.
Our room was plenty big enough for the 2 of us and we had a balcony. The problems were in our bathroom where the shower base leaked like a sieve and the shower doors didn`t close properly. Consequently the bathroom was wet through everytime we used the shower and the bathroom had quite a musty smell probably because of months of the same problem. The wash basin also had a big crack across it.
The food was mediocre, sometimes poor. The salads,fruits and breads were lovely but the hot food was often barely warm and quite repetitive. The desserts look the part but are frequently too sweet and sickly but food is a subjective thing and one person`s taste isn`t always another person`s taste.
The dining room was understaffed. There would be a few people clearing plates and setting tables but quite often you`d be searching for a spoon or butter or the coffee machine would be empty or there`s be no clean cups and there was nobody free to replenish things. This was quite frustrating at times and one extra person who`se job was ensuring things were refilled or replenished would have been a wise thing. Some of the crockery is past its best and quite often cups and cutlery wasn`t as clean as it should be.
Our room was cleaned to a good standard but once or twice it was 6pm before we could return to it. I realise the cleaners have several rooms to clean but 6pm is too late in the day. Once again I felt it was because they weren`t fully staffed because we were near the end of the season.
The courtesy towels for sunbeds are also past their best, some were really thin and in a poor state. Hopefully the hotel will buy more.
The room safe was free which is good but we felt the £30 charge for a late checkout on our final day was a bit steep. Most places charge £20 max and it wasn`t as if they were desperate for our room because by the time we left yesterday, the hotel was only half full.
I`ve listed the above minor negatives but on the positive side, the hotel is reasonable for the price, is well situated near to the main road full of shops, bars and restaurants. A short dolmus ride into hisaronu or a 20 minute walk there and with plenty going on if you fancy a meal out or a trip into town.
We would return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Viennaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

stayed here for one week in September with my husband and it lived up to our expectations in terms of cleanliness, good food and service but it exceeded our expectations for the location. It is nestled between mountain ranges and the views are fantastic. The little town of Ovacik has everything to offer people looking for quiet location, plenty of restaurants and a few shops. Within a 15 minute walk is lively Hisaranou which is geared towards the English visitors, plenty shops bars etc. We visited once through the day and once on a night time but a little too busy for us.

The Aes is classed as 4 stars but I would say 3 stars would be a fairer classification. There is 2 pools, play area for kids (small) spa centre and one main dining room offering excellent food, always hot and varied.

our room overlooked the pool area and was in the attic, making the roof quite low and did bump my head on several occasions whilst visiting the loo through the night! A Inclusive is limited to local and branded spirits expensive. Could of done with some late night snacks but only soup served late on by the pool area.

If you are looking for a lovely clean hotel in a picturesque area this is ideal.

This hotel is unsuitable for those with walking difficulties as all uphill, even to restaurant with no lift

Room Tip: keep away from attic rooms, no balcony and sloping roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wholelottaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
1 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
0.7 mi away
Gokcen Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aes Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aes Club Hotel

Address: 59 Sok No: 1 | Oludeniz Beldesi, Ovacik 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ovacik
#4 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range: $51 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aes Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AES Club Hotel is located on the southern coast of Turkey, in the quiet resort of Ovacik, midway between the popular resorts of Oludeniz and Fethiye. This impressive new 4-star hotel, which offers an All Inclusive package, has 138 modern rooms spread over 4 buildings, and invites singles, couples and family groups to enjoy the sparkling pools for adults & kids, dining options, organised activities and entertainment, and fitness and Spa facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aes Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aes Club Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing