We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Destina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just returned off a cheeky week.. At first i didn't want to go back to turkey after 2 previous experience's else where in turkey but got persuaded as it was a cheap week away & reviews looked ok... After arriving about 22.45 we got a sandwich & helped to our room which was spotless... but first room was on the stairs which were to noisy for my liking but they changed us rooms with no issue & even offered to help us with our packing. Unfortunately after moving rooms there was a cockerel which liked to be our alarm clock & the corridors are very noisy. but The food was beautiful & The staff were amazing and the place is constantly being cleaned & i have totally changed my views on turkey & would definitely come back to this hotel in the future

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 968 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from destina 31st May till 14th June had the best time ever just as good as last year food amazing staff amazing maids hasan Murat captain Carlos and bathuman gaget and gizmo really lovely people views just as beautiful thank you very much for an amazing holiday just as a footnote got very annoyed with a few guests this year at the hotel and as it's 50% repeat customers everyone was saying the same thing about certain guests please if you come here don't scream your head of at your other half it wakes everyone up also do not make a massive mess with cigarette dimps and chips thrown about as the cleaners do an amazing job and can't do enough for you there's plenty of astrays I got up and got one every morning

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

This holiday was a last minute deal, And very cheap. We stayed for 6 nights during June. All inclusive

Now with every aspect of life your always gonna get moaners that complain about the littlest of things but with this review having an average of 4 stars I was pretty impressed.

ARRIVAL
We arrived around 10pm where we were quickly signed in and given free sandwiches (Which obviously we appreciated)

ROOMS
The rooms are small, the booking was a twin room but we had a double bed and a small bed pushed up to the window. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy, Hot water is an issue during the day time hours - But on an evening 5pm-later the water is hot! The TV had one English Channel (BBC World News) and no other channels.

FOOD
We paid all inclusive so we never had to worry about that. The first nights dinner was cold but edible, There is always fresh salad, and vary of meat such as Chicken,Beef, and sometimes fish. The food was never hot, But we ate it and were full. Turkey is a Muslim country so don't expect sausage and bacon at the buffet stand.

DRINKS
We were eager to pay extra for all inclusive so we could go down to the bar and get a drink whenever we wanted ... The bar are within set times and anytime after that you have to pay (Pretty expensive prices too) 11am-11pm, and not a minute later or sooner! Beer was the only one on draught, the soft drinks were in bottles out of a fridge. And there was also wine, and vodka. NO COCKTAILS.

BEACH
You cannot 'stroll' to this beach! The free shuttle beach sent you to sea horse beach club which is behind the main beach (Blue Lagoon) at 10:30 am and picked you up at 5:00 pm.. So you will stay there till then, or you can walk to the main Olü Deniz beach (15 minute walk) and get a taxi. The beach is nice, the restaurant there is pretty pricey and they do smoke infront of you within the restaurant.

POOL
The pool is large and cool, There is entertainment (Two men names Gizmo and Gadget) they're incredibly funny and if you want to be left to it they will.

STAFF
The staff are all well dressed and friendly we did have an issue with one staff member and he kept pestering my girlfriend (I'm a girl too) to go out with drinks with him. After 4 days of his persistence I told him he needs to stop it and then he did.

SLEEP
This was my biggest issue. I'm not a light sleeper but I didn't sleep very well when stopping at this hotel. The main reason was the 2 inch gap underneath the door, The halls outside were marble too which made everything loud (I mean REALLY loud) I would be woken up 3-4 times a night by loud people coming back to their rooms or walking up the stairs.

EVITA
A short 5 minute walk down the hill there is a restaurant called Evita, It's free wifi, Cheap meals and delicious food. It has a relaxed atmosphere and I do suggest having a full English breakfast (7.50TL)

In general if you're a heavy sleeper, looking for a short stay in an area away from busy towns and the beach it's ideal! I did enjoy my time there, But I wouldn't visit there again.

If you do have any questions please ask, as I have just returned from being there.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Alix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I returned today ( 12th June from a 10 day holiday ) This little hotel is a hidden gem and I would highly recommend !!

On arrival at ( 5am ish ) we were greeted by friendly reception staff, provided with freshly wrapped filled rolls and shown to our room. Unlike other hotels who seem to shut down at 11pm this hotel was ready and waiting for our arrival despite the time. Bonus.

Our first room wasn't the best, admittedly, we were ground floor , with not so much as a balcony but more a tiled area that was ground height - it also looked out on to the perimeter fence and as we were by the main entrance to the block it was rather noisy !! ( doors slamming etc) so after just 3 hours sleep I went to reception and asked if there was any chance of another room ... they offered to show me another room which was much bigger and had a beautiful balcony over looking the pool. I agreed to the move and they even offered to help move our luggage over :).. don't ask don't get !

Rooms --- the rooms are small, however, they are well maintained and decorated in a modern white and red décor. The furniture was obviously all dark wood at some point and has subsequently been painted white, so there are some signs of wear and tear where the white paint has scratched off.. but I am really picking at straws here - the room was lovely and the beds made up everyday. The hairdryer is a little pathetic so ladies with long/thick hair I would recommend taking a decent one with you or you will be there for hours. All rooms have a TV, but talking to other guests it would appear that the signal is rubbish on all of them. You can get one English movie channel but its very fuzzy. So keep this in mind if you like watching TV. There is NO communal TV in the hotel anywhere so its pretty much a TV free holiday unless you take a small portable DVD player or similar to watch films on.

Balcony --- small, just enough room for 2 white plastic garden chairs and a small table. But comfortable and if you ask for one over looking the pool the views of the mountain are SPECTACULAR !! Because there is bougainvillea ( creeping plant ) growing over the balcony you cant really hang out towels or clothes to dry. We took a few meters of string in our luggage and some clothes pegs and made a mini washing line ( sounds silly but TRUST me !! )

Food --- Best all inclusive I've been too by far. LOADS of fresh salads, fresh bread, several choices of meat dishes every meal ( chicken casserole, meatballs, spaghetti bolognaise, mince and aubergine, turkey curry etc. ) Usually offered with rice, chips, potato wedges. There is a soup of the day as well, some other reviews are claiming its fresh - its NOT, the tomato soup was packet without question. But overall its better than expected. We did make friends with a veggi on this holiday and she did really struggle as there was a very limited choice of non veggi main dishes. Puddings were a let down. Lots of very non descript gelatinous creations ... some where certainly interesting... Overall the restaurant was beautiful the view could make up for most things, plates were cleared away quickly by attentive staff with a good attitude.
Its buffet style, so the early bird catches the worm. Some people turned up at 10.15 for breakfast and moaned the scrambled eggs were rubbery !! be realistic.

Drink -- all inclusive drinks start from 11am, but there is always a vending machine offering tea and coffee, also one offering apple, orange juice etc. You just had to wait till 11 for pepsi, or alcohol. To my surprise the drinks were in fact " PEPSI" and "7UP" rather than imitation, and the alcoholic drinks were given in generous measures. choice of local beer, red, white or rose wine.

Entertainment -- hit or miss. Some nights it was amazing !! They had Turkish dancers, Belly dancers, a Mongolian circus ( contortionists etc ) other nights they had karoke followed by a Michael Jackson tribute ( il say no more! ) - so I recommend finding out in the morning what the entertainment is and plan your evening accordingly ! 2 on site entertainers called Gizmo and Gadget were funny, but quite childish.

Location -- walking distance to Fetyie town , vibrant buzzing town full of restaurants, shops, bars and even a funfair !! hotel provides a free bus down to the beach every day at 10.30.

DOWNSIDES - there is a rather vocal cockerel who doesn't shut up. It starts at 5am. Also there is a 2 inch gap under ALL of the bedroom doors leading out on to the main corridor. This makes noise a real issue in this hotel. Because everything is tiled it echo's and I am sad to say I did have a few sleepless nights. TAKE earplugs. We did roll up a towel and stuff this under the door on the last few nights which helped.

Child friendly - NO NO NO. Lots of steps, uneven ground, tiled surfaces, only some basic play facilities, inappropriate language used by the entertainers. Generally the people who book this hotel DONT have kids with them and didn't take kindly to the few kids that were there running around and splashing everyone. Try "pine valley" instead.

OVERALL - this is a great hotel, but be aware it IS only a 3 star. DONT expect a 5 star "Sandles" holiday and you will be sure to have a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony over looking the pool. This way you get spectacular views of the mountains, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L_Washbourne1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very welcoming from start to finish.gadget and gizmo (entertainers) do the hotel proud...very clean hotel and good food selection with plenty to do in and around the resort...we ll be back on another holiday

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Haylz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was the best all inclusive hotel we have ever been to in Turkey. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly. The rooms were cleaned and clean linen every day, the cleaners put fresh bottled water in your .fridge every day. We will
back, thank you all to the management& staff. I think I met Amanda the previous reviewer when I was there, wish we were going backin September too

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Just when we thought it couldn't get better - it does. With a New Manager this season DESTINA continues to impress us. The hotel is so clean and tidy - the maids are lovely and friendly. The food was delicious, I loved the homemade soups at lunch and dinner time. Turkey's answer to Ant and Dec aka Gadget and Gismo returned for another season and make your days and nights fun packet. Murat heads up the bar and restaurant team and works so hard to make your stay perfect and a special thank you to the family who own the hotel who treat us like their own. Muratcan 'Reception Manager' and his team are there to help 24 hours a day and their English is superb - Tayfun works in reception during the night and is always there for a little chat and his English is brilliant. All this combined with the stunning views - great location and total value for money makes DESTINA our number1 choice - see you in September guys xxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Always used block A near to pool never had a problem.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.7 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,336 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
1.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
1.3 mi away
Gokcen Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Tunacan Hotel
Tunacan Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ovacik
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range: $36 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing