We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than what you pay for”
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Destina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Destina. It was a last minute cheaper holiday and we got more than expected for the price we paid! We paid for a 3* but in our opinion it was worth much more than that.

We had a issue when we arrived at Dalaman as our transfer company had gone bust and we were left at the airport expected to find our own way to the hotel. As it was our first time in turkey we had no idea what the best option would be. After a few games another transfer company offered to take us free of charge to our hotel, which was very good of them.

We were greeted at the hotel at stupid o'clock in the morning by a very happy receptionist and 2 sandwiches which they had prepared for our arrival. The security also took our bags and carried them up to our room. Straight away we had a great first impression. After not having a great start at the airport this made us feel much better.

The rooms were as many previous guests have stated quite small but not enough that it would be a problem. In fairness its to change and sleep. We didn’t spend much more time than that in the rooms. Unfortunately the shower wasn’t great and the aircon didn’t work in our room but again nothing that would spoil your holiday.

The food was so good. There was a lot of chicken and turkey but again as stated below it was varied everyday. We didn’t have the same thing twice. As well as this there was fish, beef and meatballs etc. The salads were very fresh and the desserts were also lovely. So much to choose from. Only recommendation I had for the restaurant is to have a daily menu board so people can see what is available that day.

The pool area was lovely, the pool was cold but just bite the bullet and dive, its fine as soon as your in. We were in there everyday. To be honest it was very hot during our stay so a cold pool was much appreciated.

There is a shuttle which pick you up from the hotel at 10:30 and take you to a small beach on the lagoon in Olu Deniz. The lagoon is stunning surrounded by mountains. If your staying at Destina this is a must do.

The biggest asset of this hotel is the staff. They work such long hours and they are always happy and they cannot do enough to help you enjoy your stay. The bar staff were so much fun having playful banter with the guests. The entertainment staff Gadget and Gizmo were fab. They were so funny. Gizmo had very broken English and despite this we still had a very fun relationship. He had a mission to make my boyfriend jump as many times a day as he could, I think his heart recovered the moment we landed home lol. Due to the time of year the entertainment wasn’t as great as the summer months however they still tried to make it fun, we had a bingo, karaoke, Miss Destina night. It was all very funny. Destina would be silly to let these pair go!

We had a fab time at Destina and we have been back 2 days and already looking at booking for next year!

Well done Destina!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 968 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

This time myself and my partner stayed for 16 nights (29/9-15/10) and it was as fantastic as our first visit to the Destina in May and we're planning to go back next September/October.

The owners are at the hotel day and night and were always visible and stopped and chatted to you.

FOOD:
I'm now on a diet as the food was good - yes there is lots of chicken and turkey but cooked in imaginative ways and tasty. I don't normally eat deserts but couldn't leave them alone. Soup is good and the bread is gorgeous too...The hotel owners queue up and eat the same food as we do so that tells you how good it is!

ENTERTAINMENT
Night: during our stay they brought in a fire-eater, belly dancer and acrobatic show and all were fab. Other night-time entertainment had to be re-arranged at short notice when people wouldn't join in. Sunday was Gadgets day off and was the only night when nothing happened but background music!
Day: although it was nearing the end of season my critiscm (and this applies to night as well) is there should be a weekly schedule up in reception and pool area of what's on and at what time as this was very hit and miss and if there aren't enough guest joining in cancel. I did mention this to Gadget and included this on my hotel feedback.
I can't understand how people thought Gizmo was great. I do agree Gadget and Gizmo are great together (Gizmo wasn't there in May). However Gizmo is nothing without Gadget and his English isn't very good. Gizmo sat at the bar one Sunday night playing cards and didn't interact with the guests which was disappointing.

STAFF:
Gardner, cleaners, restaurant and reception fabulous. One of the pool staff wasn't over-friendly and served women before men! Our taxi company went bust (Yesil Dylan) during our stay and reception sorted out a taxi for us.

HOTEL:
Rooms are good, I have no complaints with the size as not much different than most peoples bedrooms and bathroom size of an en-suite which is what I'm used to at home. Air conditioning with heating added bonus. Towels were changed everyday Tip: roll a towel and use as a door-stop so the noise is reduced from the the noisy inconsiderate guests (hotel can't be held responsible for guest behaviour)
Modern reception area and restauant. Grounds well kept and pool cleaned every morning

Fantastic holiday and met some fantastic people and I much prefer a holiday when it's quieter.

Room Tip: First or second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We moved here after a bad start at the Pink Palace hotel and what a difference two 3* hotels can be.
Rooms were all recently refurbished, clean magnolia walls with red feature walls and trim to match, shower rooms new tiling and fittings. Rooms are in 3 blocks (A,B &C) and have 3 floors in each block.
Hotel reception, toilets, dining area also looked refurbished - bright and airy, there are some areas that could do with smartening up like the pool toliets and the pool table area but is probably me being picky.
Staff superb and friendly.
Large pool with small Jacuzzi pool above the pool bar, have to say the water was freezing until you got used to it but was lovely once in (It was October).
Turkish bath on site was cheap and good - but could be hotter for me, being honest it had probably only just been switched on for us as it wasn't being used to much by the guests.
Pizzas and burgers at snack time 3.30-5.00 were freshly made and excellent.
Meals were excellent, have stayed in some 4* hotels in Turkey and the quality here would give them a run for thier money.
Free bus to the hotels blue lagoon beach leave at 10.30am return at 5pm was great, loungers and brolly free when you got there, food and drinks available from the beach bar - chargeable but tasty.
Hotel is 15-20min walk to Hisaranu centre, 15 miniute walk to Nandos on the main road, where you get the Dolmus to Fethier (£1.50), 15 minute walk the opposite way to the Pink Palace on the main road and get Dolmus to Olu Deniz (£1) but it is UP HILL on the way back - no good for wheel chairs.
Only comment would be the rooms should have a kettle and brew facilities,
The corridoors/rooms were noisy and ecoed, the 1.5 inch gap under the room door didn't help (we rolled a towel up like a draft excluder), also there was a dog barking when people arrived in the middle of the night, think this was the gate security guard dog - only doing his job I suppose!
Overall very good for the price.

Room Tip: If you can stand the stairs get a top floor preferably Block "B" which is furthest away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

we just returned from a 2 week break at this hotel... wot can i say BRAVO this hotel is lovely ..spotsly clean very nice furnished ..the food was lovely im a vegetarian and the salads were plentyful as were the range of veg on offer there was diffrent things every nite .
the staff could not do enough for u and when we arrived at midnite they had prepared sandwiches for us a lovely touch .the pool was fab (although a little cold) i think they could do with heating it a little in september ..not many people used it because of this im sure but its such a shame as it was a lovely pool ..entertainment was not every night but when was on it was good ...the hotel dog was so lovely i wanted to bring him home ..to make this hotel perfect i would recomed the following points ..warm the swimming pool a little..put more entertainment on more nites as can be a little boring in the evenings ..put the entertainment on earlier then 10.30pm as most people are tired by this point ..have relaxing music on in the daytime by the pool instead of boom boom boom

Room Tip: land view rooms are quieter ..but all the hallways do carry sound but it was not a issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I thought tge rooms were small but adequate for what you need on holiday!! The bar staff were polite and a luagh!! Entertainment during the day was good with all different games!! During the night it wasnt to bad quiz night bingo kareoke etc!! The food was nice!! Different everynight which was good!! For the price you pay you cannot complain some people expect to much for so little!! The only downside is the corridors or very echoey so if someone i noisy it could wake you up!! Rather then that great friendly place and me and my partner would defiantly reccomend it and we be coming back here next year!!! If you read what people read six months ago pay no attention under new managment and very good!! If you decide to go enjoy it....

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary1987edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

arrived back from destina 1st october 2012 after 2 amazing weeks. very frendly staff, that made us fill very welcome. Situated in the mountains in Ovacik, the hotel is very relaxing as you laze rouund the pool , gazing up at the mountains,"beautiful".
The staff was always happy and frendly, nothing was to much for them, special thanks to Gulan and layla and chef.
Must say we had some great days out to. All in all we had a great time and will defanetly be going back.
elizabeth & janet Kirby

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirby_elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

been back one week still missing the destina
bar staff superb with one exception no names
restaurant staff brilliant with great food and great choice
gadget and gizmo deserve a special mention top rate and great fun
reception staff were great with nothing to much trouble
hisaranou a ten minute walk away about twenty coming back though [uphill]
only complaint was the block paving a bit uneven in places causing trips and stubbed toes
but would definately recomend the destina to anyone

Room Tip: try and ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
0.7 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
1.3 mi away
Gokcen Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#2 of 19 in Ovacik
1,339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Telmessos Hotel
Telmessos Hotel
#2 of 11 in Hisaronu
983 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tunacan Hotel
Tunacan Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ovacik
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range: $39 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing