We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Destina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Destina Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

There is very little we can add to previous reviews other than to reinforce what most of them have already said. The Destina offers an excellent value for money holiday. Yes, the rooms are a little small but if you want Amercian style chalet bedrooms than pay five star prices elsewhere. The staff are excellent, always smiling and joking despite the very long hours they spend at work. Their attitude seems to rub off on the guests as everyone is very friendley. We were blessed by having a very interesting and diverse range of people staying at the Destina at the same time as us so there was never any shortage of good converstaion and fun around the bar area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (961)
There are newer reviews for Destina Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

565 - 571 of 961 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just got back from a week in Destina, having been there in June as well. There is nothing to fault really, as long as you don't expect 4 and 5 star quality. The food is great, with a good choice at all meals, in particular the fresh soups at lunc and dinner are wonderful.

The small rooms are clean and sufficient, again don't expect 4 and 5 star quality - you are only paying 3 star prices

The staff are definitely 5 star though, friendly, helpful and join in with the fun atmosphere of the place. (all the staff, entertainment, bar, waiters and reception) - Thank you all very much. Shame the Thomas Cook reps couldn't be half as good - quite frankly they are a waste of space, but that is no fault of the hotel.

My only comment for the management would be to have the tea and coffee available from 0700 as it is a shame you cant wake up and have a cup on your baclony, rather than having to wait for breakfast.

Overall, i would highly reccomenr this hotel

Room Tip: Go for a top floor as noisy neighbours above are very loud due to the echoey nature of the buildings...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edders500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

well where do i start,what a fabulous hotel,got off to a bad start with a 5 hour delay thomas cook for you ,got a measely £4 voucher for our troubles.arrived at the destina 7.30 in the morning and was met by very helpful reception staff.they quickly checked us in and carried our bags to our room.yes it was small but very cosy ,we had large trees for our view but liked the privacy.rooms are kept very clean and fresh towels daily.

breakfast :as an early riser i like to go down for breakfast,not very british ,but hey we are in turkey and can surley survive without bacon and sausage.you wont go hungry.

lunch :lovely selection of salads and yes plenty of chicken ,and sweets to die for,all eaten outside on a lovely varanda overlooking the mountains

dinner :once again nice selection and yes more chicken ,but some of the tastiest food i have eaten.

entertainment :of an evening we were fortune enough to be in good company with a few couples you know who you are ;alan and dorreen from wigan and bev and dennis from bolton.
gadget and gizzmo were the in house entertainment and was like double act,very funny guys.
they can make one game of bingo last for an hour and half.great guys.

its a nice walk into hisonaru about 10 minuets down hill never walked back got a resonably priced taxi back.plenty of bars and resteraunts,our favourite was effess bar right on a crossroads so you can watch the world go by.

all in all great holiday and we are booking for next year dont normaly book the same place twice but cant let this one pass buy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bingo160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Destina from 17th Sept-2nd October 2012 and we had a brilliant time!

On arrival at silly o’clock in the morning, we were greeted with cheese rolls and a smile – just what was needed after 10 hours of travelling. Our bags were carried to the room, – our room was a double (me and my cousin sharing) so there was plenty of space for us both!

The first few days of the holiday we pretty much stayed on resort, checking out the food and seeing what was going on. The food was full of variety, lots of chicken and turkey but cooked in various ways so it was never boring. The desserts looked amazing, but we were usually so full from dinner, there was no room left for them!

On our first day both Gadget and Gizmo came and introduced themselves, which was lovely of them and over the course of the two weeks we had lots of laughs! The pair of them were never too pushy when it came to getting people involved in day-time activites – water polo, surfboard basketball, water aerobics, volleyball etc! There’s always lots going on in the evenings too, whether it’s bingo (with Gadget’s shaking of the balls), the music quiz, party dances (the Penguin dance), belly dancing, dance acts performing, the Mr/Mrs Destina competition (which I took part in during our last week - and won WOO!!)...

All the bar and reception staff were friendly, and you can see how hard they all work – with the 1 person, 1 drink after 10:30 rule, you can appreciate why as the guys are on their feet for 12 hours a day! But saying that, having more staff on the All Inc. bar in the evening when it gets busier or having it open a bit later would also be nice! Big shout out to Emre, Kursat and Mustafa at the Pool bar – always willing to chat and teach you a little Turkish - along with Burak and Martin at the Main Bar – top guys! At the Main Bar I recommend the Ladies’ Favourite cocktail – it’s lovely! Also to Murat, Batman and the others in the restaurant – service with a smile, no matter when you see them. There is also a little shop on site that sells cigarettes, snacks and drinks, a few gifts and some toiletries in case you need to stock up and don’t feel like venturing too far from your sunbed!

During our second week we ventured out of resort a lot more and made sure we did some excursions – I would definitely recommend Talk of the Town and the 12 Islands Boat trip. I also did a tandem Paraglide with Hector tours – best experience of my life, so if you have a stomach of steel, give it a go!

All in all, we had an amazing holiday (despite being ill from the airborne virus over the first few days or so) and would recommend it to anyone visiting Turkey for the first time (like me, this year!)

We’re already looking to go back again next year for a reunion with everyone we met!
So thank you to EVERYONE at the Destina for giving us a 5* holiday on a 3* budget – see you next year!!!

The Only Way is Destina!!!

Amy (Essex/Mrs Destina 27/09/12)

Room Tip: Rooms close to reception are usually able to get the wi-fi connection - we were in the first block o...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amy_Essexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is our 2nd visit to the Destina this year. Stayed in May for a week and 10 days in September. We have already booked for next September for 11 nights. The view from the hotel is stunning, surrounded by mountains. It is situated up a hill, about 10 minutes walk into Hisoronu where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops. It is 10 lira in a taxi if you don't want to walk. The rooms are small but very clean and tastefully furnished in red and white. Can't comment on the breakfast because me and my husband are late risers so don't eat breakfast. If you would like an English breakfast there are plenty of places to choose from and only cost 5 lira. Exchange rate was 2.83 lira whilst we were there so that is less than £2. They do serve plenty of chicken but cooked various ways and always cooked well. Soups and salads are lovely and also plenty of sweets to choose from.

The staff at the Destina are all great, Great welcome at reception on arrival. All the staff are very pleasant and always smiling. They can't do enough for you. Murat (my Turkish son) is such a nice person, he even went with my husband outside of the hotel to watch the football. Batman deserves a mention too, really hard working.

The entertainment staff are great. Gadget is so funny. He and Gizmo organise water games but they are not pushy if you don't want to join in.

We ate out a few times and would recommend Shine indian restaurant, I had a lovely pasta dish at Pepinos in Hisoronu. There are lots of places to eat if you fancy a change from the hotel and are all very reasonably priced.

Hope this review has been of some help. The Destina is a value for money all inclusive hotel and can't wait to return next year.

Doreen and Alan (Wigan)

I

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BettyWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Our first visit to this area. Stayed for a fortnight and can't fault it really. There is nothing wrong with the food and the staff were great. Nicely designed hotel "up the hill" from the resort so at least you had a breeze. We would happily recommend the Destina hotel as very good value for an All Inclusive holiday. Thought the entertainment was good generally ( some great dancers ), though choice of music during the day a bit in your face sometimes. Could do with coffee shop or something in the hotel - had to go elsewhere to find decent cappuccino.

Room Tip: Rooms are all a bit small really. We had one " round the Back " with lots of shade - which...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevesunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the destina...............you pay for what you get, Food ok nothing special, rooms ok, but noise in the corridors in the evening can be bad and the dog barking and howling can be a pain.

A bit far out for us and don't think we would return to this hotel again been to better hotels in Turkey.

If you are looking to go out for a nice meal try the Olive Tree bit far out from the Destina but well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
1.3 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
0.7 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
1.2 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destina Hotel

Address: Tehneli Dere Mevki Babadag Yolu Gokceovacik Koyu, Ovacik, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ovacik
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range: $50 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Destina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destina Hotel with 114 rooms is situated in Ovacik. A wonderful place far away from daily city life and where sea, forest and mountain come together. There are a very large swimming Pool with specious place around, a secure kids pool, Turkish Bath & Sauna at our resort. All rooms have Satellite TV, Balcony, Shower, Split Air-Conditioning, Telephone, Minibar, Hair Dryer. We have regular Free Shuttle Service to Oludeniz Beach. Distance: 50 km. from Dalaman Airport, 8 km from Fethiye, 3 km from Oludeniz Beach, 300m. from Hisaronu Centre. All kinds of daily trips such as Batterflies Valley & 12 Islands and alternative activities are available in the region. You will receive here hospitality and high standard service from our professional staff. We will do our best to provide you with an unforgettable holiday at Destina Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Destina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destina Hotel Fethiye
Destina Resort Fethiye
Destina Hotel Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing