We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay July 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Holiday Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our stay July 2014”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We arrived back to the UK this morning after staying at the hotel from 20th July-26th July. We were worried before we went after seeing the mixed comments on trip advisor but thought it can't be that bad so decided to give it a go.

We arrived at the hotel late on the Sunday evening. Check-in was fine and we were taken to our room and showed how to use the amenities in it. We went for a drink at the pool bar before going to bed. It was nice to see branded drinks like Efes and Coke. The drinks were fine, even the wine was drinkable.

The food was very basic and we had issues with the eggs not being cooked properly. Couldn't get toast for breakfast because the toaster kept blowing the electricity supply so it was never replaced. My partner lived on bread and chips. One lunchtime we were served raw chicken which completely put off our whole party from eating in the restaurant, resulting in us paying to eat out for the rest of our stay. when my partner said something to the waiter he just laughed and took his plate away. there were plenty of 'waiters' but you had to get your own drinks in the restaurant. No one in the hotel had any sort of uniform and the staffing seemed very disorganised. We asked for ketchup one day and it took 3 people 20 mins to get it?!

3 days into our stay we had a problem with the smell in our bathroom of raw sewage. We went to reception to raise our concerns and were told they would sort it. A couple of hours later we went back to our room and the smell was even worse. The kind of potent smell you could be physically sick with, it was disgusting. I went back to the reception and the lady behind reception said what do you want me to do about it your room is clean. At that point the housekeeper was having a go at me in Turkish. I explained it wasn't a problem with the cleanliness of the room, there was a problem with the drains. In the end we had 4 people in our room inspecting it to find out what was happening. After a heated debate we were moved to another room, which was much better. Or so we thought. The first night in our new room we got locked in! I phoned reception and got laughed at down the phone and he said someone would be there straight away. No one came for 10 mins and when they did the door worked on both sides! We then carried on getting ready and as went went to leave discovered we were locked in once again!! I then phoned reception again, to be laughed at again and told someone would be down straight away. when someone came they saw it didn't work and called for an engineer, which came 30 minutes later.
Our room didn't get cleaned one day and we phoned reception to ask for some clean towels and are still waiting for them. The day before we were coming home my partner asked the cleaner if they were going to clean our room that day and she looked at him as if he was stupid and said no tomorrow.

All in all we had a good start to our holiday but it went rapidly downhill. I appreciate the hotel isn't 100% ready but god help them when it's busy! whilst we were there there were a lot of complaints and there were no more than 70 people at one time staying there. The hotel is nowhere near a 4 star resort and from what I've seen they will never get there.

I would never stay in this hotel again. It definitely wasn't worth the money we paid for it. Feel completely ripped off.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Highrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    119
    90
    41
    48
See reviews for
172
230
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

we landed back down in England on the early hours of Friday morning after 11 days within this resort, within this review i was aware that the hotel had only been re-opened a matter of weeks yet it was not to standard in a lot of areas.

we arrived from the airport and on arrival the drive up to the front entrance was to that of a dusty long dirt road with first view being that of a shambles, this was with various building blocks around the entrance which made this hotel look "tacky" and this is what i has heard and the reviews of others were being proven right.

we were escorted up to our rooms by a very helpful gentleman who showed us the basics within the hotel room, the air con felt amazing during the night and the first nights sleep was going well until around 5am this is when water started to pour out at a fast rate from within the air con machine this was a shambles as we had to put the towels under to try control this as we rang the reception we had no reply even though i explained what had happened yet the lack of staff who understand English is next to none. the following day with the towels being drenched, the maids did not attend our room so we had to use the wet towels later on in the day after we have had a shower. 20 hours after first reporting the air con issue a handy man who came to fix it literally made it worse and claimed nothing was wrong, to then we went for dinner once the gentleman left. when we returned we came back to a room drenched in water, to this i went to kick off, i requested for us to be moved and this was the case we were moved down the hall to a slightly bigger room.

during the day there was none of the activities which are promised by the hotel i.e. (no gym, no sauna, no Turkish bath, no daily snack bar) this was outrageous and was disgusting as no arrangements were made to allow the customers any service to try compensate for the lack of availability of none of these. within the restaurant the food at breakfast was that of chips,beans,burnt eggy bread, salami in a tomato sauce and boiled egg. this was same every morning so this was disappointing, the dinner and lunch menu was simple up until our final few days after that all the food became outstanding yet all Turkish varieties and none for English holiday makers.

the only saving grace of the hotel were that of the bar staff around the pool area, Ali,ohhan and ramazan were that of excellent hospitality and loved to have a good crack with us and the holiday makers, the only other positive was that the holiday makers which were there during our stay made the evening entertaining as it was a high English orientation so all participated within the evening activities. yet the owners were always present during the evening karaoke with both their daughters who were utter snobs and seemed to look down at the others there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Harryscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Really nice hotel .Nice rooms always cleaned which we really appreciated .Food was freshly and suprise for me normally most of all inclusive hotel give cheap coke and beer but they were served coca coke fanta Efes .I cant compalin anythink but just they need more music .I will definitely retun.Thank you Sunshine ...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haluk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ordu, Samsun, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I would like to share my holiday experience with you.Having seen bad reports before we went the Sunshine holiday resort, Why people so negative , very nice place friendly staff. The food was excellent I will definately return

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tolga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2014

It is clean friendly and welcomming . The rooms were modern and clean are more than big enough .there is always a wide range of food at every meal. I would definitely recommend sunshine holiday resort hotel for value,and will be lookinf to back there myself.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybellkangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Me and my friend stayed at sunshine holiday resort for ten days at the beginning of July and hardly fault our stay.the staff could not do. More for us and always chatty and helpful. Food was amazing and surprised at the standard from all inclusive hotel, was eating something different every night and especially enjoyed Turkish food . Would defiantly return sunshine holiday resort again as had a very good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie76123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel from the 1st - 11th July 2014. After reading some of the reviews felt compelled to write our own. We booked our holiday back in May 2014 and were very excited at the prospect of staying at such a stylish modern hotel as the website had described it. However when we arrived at the Hotel we were led up a rubble dirt path with a man with a torch he was very helpful, he took us straight to our room as we needed the toilet facilities as there is only one public one within the hotel he asked if we were happy with our room if not he would move us. The room was lovely very spacious with a Jacuzzi bath and shower over very clean and modern. we were told that the bar was still open so went to have a drink. However when we went to bed that evening we put the air conditioner on and it leaked quite a puddle over the floor. The following morning we went to the reception and informed the staff of the air conditioner and that we needed hangers and bedding as we had used a bottom sheet from the single bed that was in the room we received the hangers but the air con was never sorted. we spoke to staff Ali and asked about the Turkish bath and other facilities he informed us that they were not available however he would organise taking us to a Turkish bath in the local area we took advantage of this but this was a one off offer. There was no evening entertainment other than one quiz night for 20 minutes Ali did a fire eating show which again was probably half an hour we also had a belly dancer again about half an hour. The bar staff Ali, Orhan and Ramazan were entertaining and helpful and made the very quiet hotel a little bit more fun. If you are after an English menu you wont receive it at this hotel however there was plenty of variety of Turkish food albeit chicken everyday and chips and a bit repetitive it was fresh and nicely presented.

In brief: when we left this hotel it was not a building site but far from a finished hotel none of the amenities promised on the website were available apart from swimming pool, table tennis and pool table. There were workmen on site everyday doing finishing jobs but not noisy. During our whole stay there were never more than 30 people which could mean for some people who were planning on staying at the hotel in the evening very uneventful but we enjoyed that aspect of it. If your planning to take children I'm sure you will spend an absolute bomb trying to keep them entertained as there is really nothing for them!

I'm sure when this hotel is finished it will be a 5+ star and an amazing place to take a holiday! If we can answer any questions for you we will happily do so and we hope our review is helpful.
Nicola & Marcus

Room Tip: Go for deluxe rooms as the other rooms are finished to the same standard but smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
1.1 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
0.7 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#3 of 19 in Ovacik
1,240 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#7 of 103 in Oludeniz
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#10 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#13 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ovacik
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Holiday Resort

Property: Sunshine Holiday Resort
Address: Kocapirnal Cad 3, Ovacik 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you feel yourself in peace and tranquillity. You will enjoy sunbathing around the pool under the shining sun on a breezy plateau overlooking the village with stunning mountain view in daytime and sunset view in evening.The ideal location of this hotel provides you with the best weather you may find in this area as it leans against the forest on the skirts of Para gliders most popular mountain, this altitude makes the sunbathing here more joyful and pleasant compared to the destinations in both Fethiye and Oludeniz characterised by high humidity and scorching sun in high summer season.It is just 10 minutes drive (4 km) to the famous Oludeniz Beach at Blue Lagoon and at the same distance to Calis Beach in Fethiye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sunshine Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Holiday Hotel Ovacik
Sunshine Holiday Fethiye
Sunshine Holiday Resort Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing