We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunshine Holiday Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sunshine Holiday Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Ovacik
Kayseri, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a two week stay at Sunshine Holiday Resort and was absolute fantastic, no complaints whatsoever, loved it!! Friendly helpful staff and plenty of free sunbeds to choose from, we ate out in the evening but lunch and snacks were great!

Room Tip: Swimp up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suat314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    115
    86
    40
    47
See reviews for
162
220
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed in one of the attic rooms and can honestly say we had no issue with it, as it's there to sleep in and that's it! Rooms are lovely and modern, balconys are big .staff were so friendly and helpful. hardly left the hotel. food was freshly made in front of you and could not fault the variety.
Overall we think this hotel is a good hotel and for the size of it they do really well, we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tazz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We have just come back from a 6 night break at the Hotel. We had read the reviews before we went and thought it was a bit unfair that people were giving poor scores without even visiting the hotel. So we decided to go with an open mind and give it ago. We were also were aware that at the price we paid we could not expect perfection. I think some peoples expectations are too high considering the cost of the hotel at the moment.

We arrived at 11 o'clock so it was dark and they are in the process of building a new road outside the hotel so it was a bit daunting pulling up outside ( the work progressed during our stay and already looks much better). But we had a friendly welcome from Ali and he showed us to our room, we booked a Deluxe room and it was huge and had a jacuzzi bath and was really lovely. Yes we experienced a couple of issues with the room but tiny things that were rectified once we reported them, however you would expect this in any type of new build or refurbished property. The upside of this was that everything was new and spotless. Our cleaner was amazing we seemed to make the bathroom a disaster everyday with all the suncream and sand etc. and we always returned to a spotless and shiny, fresh ,clean room.

There is still some ongoing cosmetic work but this does not spoil your enjoyment. I have been to hotels before where there was work going on at adjacent hotels and this was more intrusive than the work at Sunshine. Like most people have said there is no snack bar but snacks are served in the main restaurant instead so it is not an issue. The Turkish Bath is not yet open but a free shuttle is provided to one nearby and it is actually nice to get out and see somewhere else so it isn't an inconvenience.

The hotel is on a hill so at first it feels a bit like you are in the middle of nowhere until you get your bearings so don't panic. If you have booked the hotel then you must have been looking for a relaxing hotel and this is what you will get. The views are amazing and as you are a little bit higher up you get the benefit of a breeze most days which you do not get once you venture into the main towns.

I used to work overseas in many countries including Turkey doing health and safety checks in hotels and so I have a lot of experience to compare it too. The hotel has very good health and safety checks in place for checking the pool chlorine levels etc. and health and safety inspections were being carried out during our stay. I have seen some very poor standard hotels in Turkey with a 4 star rating and can honestly say I would rather stay in a hotel that still needs some tweaking to do but that demonstrates a knowledge of health and safety than a completely finished hotel with no standards in place.

The hotel needs guests so that it can flourish to it's full potential so be open minded and give it a chance.

Room Tip: We had room 7404 on the top floor it was quiet and had a private secluded balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gillya74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Compared to other Resort in the area, this is just a complete opposite. The rooms are super keen, there are 4 pools within the hotel, the hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel is surrounded by peacefull environment, only a few km away, the beautiful Oludeniz beach. It's only 10 mins away from the "Hisaronu" for the sunset bar with decent music and food. Above all, the inhouse speciality coffee place in this hotel actually serves real coffee with "umph". WIFI is free and reliable. All in all, had a very enjoyable stay and a great time here. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: swimm up rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ozguryigit81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Me & my boyfriend stayed here for 10 nights from 27th June - overall we had a great time & would definitely reccommend the hotel.
We had a room with a swim up pool that was amazing - the room was a good size and the pool was beautiful! The larger pool down at the bar was also great & there are tortoises in the middle island (across the little bridge) which were really cute.
The all inclusive food was lovely & drinks were good too. The majority of staff were friendly, polite and helpful - in particular we thought Ali, Orhan & Ramazan were really great and made every effort to ensure we enjoyed our stay which was much appreciated...thank you!! The man in charge of reception was quite rude to us but apart from that it was fine.
The hotel was quiet which meant our stay was really relaxing & we made some great new friends with staff/fellow guests.
There were little things in the room which were not quite perfect when we arrived such as no clothes hangers but every day there were improvements & by the end it had everything we needed including very good air con! There is certainly still work to be done around the hotel & guests should not expect a gym or the sauna if travelling this year... but the hotel do offer transfers and a discount at a local Turkish Spa. Not all rooms are open yet & the outside of the hotel does still look quite like a building site but it really doesn't effect you much when you're staying there.
Overall we loved our stay & if you are due to stay over the summer I am ensure you will enjoy yourselves unless you go with a negative attitude because it is not exactly what you expected. A holiday is what you make of it in my opinion :)
Finally, I really think anyone leaving a negative review of the hotel without having stayed there should seriously consider removing it - it's so unfair to the staff who are working so hard to ensure their guests enjoy their trip.
Feel free to ask questions.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful room with a swim up pool - would definitely reccommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Riona134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 day break, I will give a 100% honest review here.
The hotel is not finished. It is sitting in the middle of a dusty building site.

Our room was complete, and was very nice - missing the seating area (as TV was pointing to a space in the room where you, I guess, in time will be able to sit), bed very comfortable, room clean and spacious - bathroom lovely, although the bath did flood the floor daily - but cleaners cleaned it up every day. We stayed in room 7310 (above restaurant).
However, no gym, no amphitheatre, very basic restaurant, we have been told there is capacity for 500 but counted only 75 sun loungers.
All inclusive - very basic - breakfast, lunch, snack time - all produced same basic food, salad bar, grilled chicken, chips; no variety - sadly - and no atmosphere in restaurant we were forced to spend money to eat out every night, 2 of the nights required taxis - so our A.I. experience which we were hoping to spend no additional money resulted in us spending about £180 on top of what we had expected.
The pool area is nice, clean, but the snack bar is a shack - again not finished, and we experienced a lot of workmen around the pool area trying to finish things - not ideal.

We were told we would have to pay for late check out - which I point blankly refused to do as our pick up was at 5pm, and we had to check out at 12 - with no gym or other shower facilities - or luggage storage I insisted we had our room until 4pm with no charge, after some arguing, they agreed.
We were also asked to pay 40 Lira for a safety deposit box - that was broken for 2 days of our trip so we could not retrieve our belongings - again I refused to pay this.

The 1 god send this place has is Ali - the guest relations manager, he was very understanding and gave a friendly face that you were pleased to have around. The owners are lucky to have him and the place would be even more of a shambles if he was not around.

Staff did admit to us that the gym, amphitheatre, snack bar at pool etc will not be done this season and they were forced to open this summer so they could get money to complete the works. We were 100% mis-sold and will certainly be taking this up with our tour operator,.
That said, this time next year I believe the hotel will be a lot better as the things that are finished are nice.

Advice - do not book this hotel this year, wait until next year when it is finished. If you have already booked, it is not as bad as you may think - it was very quiet which meant we got pick of the loungers by the pool, but make sure your expectations are set! They also offer a shuttle bus to their beach area in Olu Deniz, which other residents took advantage off and were pleased with the service there.

All in all, nice pool, nice rooms, once finished will be a good hotel – just not quite there yet.

Room Tip: If requesting a 'swim up' room ask for the bigger top level pool, as the smaller one just be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank evansmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Me and my partner spent 11 days at this hotel and loved every minute of it Evan tho it's not completely finished all the staff were so friendly especially orhan, Ali,ramazan.the food was good allways something we liked we are already looking to book here next year ! Would defenetly recommend this hotel! And when it's completely finished it will be Evan better !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ovacik
1.1 mi away
Sahra Su Holiday Village & Spa
0.4 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 19 in Ovacik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aes Club Hotel
Aes Club Hotel
#2 of 19 in Ovacik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
1.4 mi away
St Nicholas Park
St Nicholas Park
#22 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
2.3 mi away
Montebello Resort
Montebello Resort
#32 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Holiday Resort

Property: Sunshine Holiday Resort
Address: Kocapirnal Cad 3, Ovacik 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Ovacik
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Ovacik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where you feel yourself in peace and tranquillity. You will enjoy sunbathing around the pool under the shining sun on a breezy plateau overlooking the village with stunning mountain view in daytime and sunset view in evening.The ideal location of this hotel provides you with the best weather you may find in this area as it leans against the forest on the skirts of Para gliders most popular mountain, this altitude makes the sunbathing here more joyful and pleasant compared to the destinations in both Fethiye and Oludeniz characterised by high humidity and scorching sun in high summer season.It is just 10 minutes drive (4 km) to the famous Oludeniz Beach at Blue Lagoon and at the same distance to Calis Beach in Fethiye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sunshine Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Holiday Hotel Ovacik
Sunshine Holiday Fethiye
Sunshine Holiday Resort Turkey/Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing