We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base would go back tomorrow”
Review of Avlu 1 Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avlu 1 Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Avlu 1at the end of July/beginning of August after a quick no hassle check-in we were helped to our room by Jack and Nile who where more than willing to carry our cases up a flight of stairs. Our room was a one bedroomed apartment consisting of a reasonably sized living room consisting of a small 4 person dining table two single beds and kitchen area, a seperate bedroom with double bed and a seperate toilet with proper shower cubicle. The kitchen was basic having a large fridge with freezer box a kettle and only two cooking rings. Realistically you could not cater for a family of 4 on this but lets face it who goes on holiday to cook and with an abundance of resteraunts close by why would you want to.
Everyone at the Avlu from the maids to management where friendly and nothing was to much trouble.
The rooms where cleaned daily with bedding changed twice a week,the pool and gardens were cleaned and tidyed every evening.
Both Jimmy and Jack in the bar where more than happy to have a quick game of pool with my 7 year old son during quiet periods in the bar and liked to "help people" into the pool in a good natured manner and almost enjoyed being "helped" into the pool themselves.
We ate in nine different restaraunts (Yorkshire Lass,Charlies,Vinces,Broadwayand titanic to name a few) and never had a bad meal. Annes cafe does a great iced chocolate or coffee.
I dont like going to the same place over and over again but we still have a lot of Icemeler and the surrounding area to see and the Avlu is the perfect base to do this. Try it for yourself i don't think you wioll be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stumjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 131 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

These apartments are great. The first thing I most say is that the staff could not be nicer, especially Ilius (Jimmy). Our room was small but just what we needed. The pool bar cooks some great quality snacks at a really low cost. We found that no matter what time of day you could always get a sun bed around the pool and the surrounding area was well maintained. The apartments are close to the beach, bars, shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend these apartments to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had a wonderful holiday at the Avlu apartments! We arrived at around 4am and were met by the night porter who carried our bags up three flights of stairs for us and gave us some tips about where to shop and get the best deals as we went. The room was basic, but spotlessly clean and had everything we needed. For those that dont understand what Self catering holidays mean - it means that you cater for yourself. I saw the review below moaning about only one toilet roll being provided etc - well this is what self catering means - they didnt even have to provide you with one roll, so be grateful!!! We had maid service every day and the bins were emptied, the floor mopped and the beds and towels were changed every other day. Jack and Jimmy in the pool bar worked so hard, non stop, and were great fun, lovely lads and kept the place running smoothly and again spotlessly clean. The prices in the pool bar were so cheap! 1 lira for water, 5 for beer, and the food was great too with any egg you like on toast for breakfast at 4 lira (around £1.50) The pool was lovely and clean and my only bad point about the whole holiday is that it was too deep to stand up in properly, I would have preferred a shallower end where ball games could have been played etc, but it was lovely to cool down in anyway, and I spent many an afternoon sat reading in the baby pool which was "the best place to read in the world!". I would not hesitate to go back to these apartments, in fact, I'm already looking at booking it for next year again. Its in a great location, and run so well by such lovely friendly people, you cant go wrong! Best part of the holiday was seeing Jimmy and Jack thrown in the pool after they pushed one man in too many times!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LisaOxford_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Having visited Turkey on several occasions on a self catering basis we weren't expecting a palace but our studio at Avlu 1 was basic at best but in reality, shabby. The cooking rings were covered in flaking rust; the ice box in the old and battered fridge took three days to make ice; the aircon unit vibrated so badly against the wall it kept us awake at night (turning it off wasn't an option due to the heat); the 'wardrobe' wasn't long enough to hang a skirt in let alone a dress; the top sheet/cover/throw(?) didn't reach both sides of the bed - and that was before we got in it; the room was mopped twice and bedding/towels changed once during the week (I wish we'd had the cleaning some other reviewers had). Having said all that the thing that really irked me was being allocated ONE roll of toilet paper and being told if we needed more we would have to buy our own!
On a more positive note, the exterior, pool area and staff were very pleasant. The Avlu 1 is fairly central with the dolmus (for Marmaris) stopping outside and amongst shops and restaurants; the beach is a little further away but a pleasant walk among more shops and restaurants. The weekly market is only a very short walk and is great fun - be sure to haggle! I would strongly recommend the Titanic restaurant for excellent food and staff.
We will visit Turkey, and probably Icmeler again but definitely not Avlu 1.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our first time in Turkey and it will cerainly not be our last. The apartments are basic but spotlessly clean and larger than I was expecting for the price.. The staff, especially jimmy and jack were great, really friendly and welcoming. Pool, although not the biggest, is clean, with plenty of sunbeds, what ever time of day. Although situated on the road, lovely and quiet, but close enough to bars, restaurants and nightlife. One of the best holidays we have had. Will definately come back here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sheena183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

this was our 1st time in these apartments and i can certainly say i was not dissapointed, we arrived at 7 in the morning and was greeted straight away and shown our room, we booked a studio room cant fault it, billy and jimmy welcomed us as a family and couldnt do enough, the food here was cheap and very very good, we will certainly be going back to these apartments, the apartments are on the main street, but surprisingly you dnt hear any noise, shops are right opposite you which was brill.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jay28southwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed at Avlu 1 in June this year, was greeted at 1am with the night porter and a friendly smile, we stayed in the studio app I was a little disappointed a bit on the small side, would go back but will defo stay in the 1 bedroom app instead as they were bigger and spacious.
Pool area was very clean, was a bit disappointed as the bar closed at midnight. 10min walk to the beach, there was a couple of supermarkets 2min walk, although there was a small shop to the right as you come out of Avlu 1 app he was very helpful for finding what you needed, we always got a good exchange rate with him. I would highly recommend the Titanic, Mandalin, waterfall, Sidiks family restaurants and my favourite place was Hanedan Turkish family restaurant.
Hanedan was a proper Turkish family run restaurant the food was lovely If you stay in Icmeler you must check this one out...........

Room Tip: Stay in the 1 bedroomed app not the studio,s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daisy186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#18 of 77 in Icmeler
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Babadan Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Miray Hotel
Miray Hotel
#50 of 77 in Icmeler
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yade Hotel
Yade Hotel
#5 of 77 in Icmeler
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faber Apart Hotel
Faber Apart Hotel
#27 of 77 in Icmeler
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avlu 1 Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlu 1 Apartments

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Kayabal Cad. No:22, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Icmeler
Price Range: $13 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avlu 1 Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Avlu 1 Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avlu 1 Apartments Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing