We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHEAP AND GREAT FOR KIDS. EXCELLENT POOL. LOCATION NOT SO GOOD.”
Review of Grand Aquarium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Aquarium
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Basra, Al Basrah, Iraq
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“CHEAP AND GREAT FOR KIDS. EXCELLENT POOL. LOCATION NOT SO GOOD.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Easily the best family holiday I have ever been on mainly because of the pool, entertainment team and the friendly staff. The hotel itself is pretty far away from the main town of icmeler and the beach but there are regular bus service on which is near to the hotel. The pool and the restaurant is quite impressive which looks like its built into a huge rock. The pool is good but a very small baby pool. Plenty of sunbeds but be prepared to wake up at 6am to grab the best beds otherwise you'll be pushed aside to the corners even when guests are out all day on trips returning to their sun bed at 5pm right by the pool! Plenty of entertainment throughout the day and night. the team work long hours keeping everyone happy. There is a games room which kids love and a pool table where they do a daily killer tournament. Great stuff! The Turkish bath is a must at the start of your holiday. do not delay getting one! Aydin does packages starting from around £15. I highly recommend using the hotel one as it is more effective and personal on a one to one, rather than the ones offered from the tour guides as you are herded through the baths like sheep. There is a gym at £5 per day for you gym queens. The rooms are clean and tidy at first but the cleaners didn't seem to clean them up but only make the beds. Many times we ran out of loo roll as they forgot to leave some. The rooms are basic but perfect for self catering needs. There was two beds in my room but the children and to sleep on a chair that turned into a bed. They complained they were very uncomfortable so i swapped one night and they were not lying! Worst night sleep ever on a chair/bed. There is a shop on site for all the basics with a friendly guy working there. The restaurant staff are very friendly and the food is lovely. A cheap full English would fill up anyone. But after 3 days of only eating from the hotel myself and some of my family were very sick with violent vomiting and diarrhea which i suspect came from a Turkish lamb dish. Obviously i cannot pin this to the restaurant as it could of been from anywhere but we had not eaten elsewhere for many days.
Good Stuff- Pool,Slide,Entertainment,Games,Staff,Services,Restaurant,Turkish Bath.
Bad Stuff- Location,Sun Beds taken up,Sickness And Vomiting,Room Cleaners,Beds In Room
Recommended Trips- Water parks (both)
Don't Recommend- Turtle Beach/Mud Baths!(long long boring trip)
Overall- Good Times!

Room Tip: Possibly a one with proper beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    165
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
445
136
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wow ! After many years travelling everywhere but Turkey so glad I eventually went ! We had a great time at the Grand Aquarium being looked after by the legends aka Aydin and Adem ! The Turkish bath is a must and worth every penny and you get some great pictures taken by Aydin and Adem who are a right laugh !! The hotel and its facilities is great value for money.Rooms are clean and tidy and staff very friendly and helpful and would recommend this hotel to everybody !
Cant wait to come back !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulirons66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just back from grand aquarium in icmeler, from start to finish was looked after from aydin sari from Turkish baths massages shaves and pictures all top class the entertainment team and staff were always happy to help and were great with my son overall had a great time recommended stephen and Jude x

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephenmcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Ideal hotel for a family stay, rooms and resort are clean and well maintained. Good pool and plenty of sunbeds, food is ok but not great although the breakfast is fine, a good way to start your day. Not sure why the slide only runs twice a day though and the entertainment is some what repetative. It was our second time at the hotel and if we did return to turkey we would more then likely stay at the resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_norfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have been going to the grand aquarium for many years but the difference this year is that it was just me and my husband as my kids are wanting to go there own holidays now . Have to say we once again had a fantastic time and this is 100 % down to the staff that work there . The restaurant is great value and we ate there for 8 out of 10 days mr Hassan and Robbie do a brilliant job and can't do enough for you. The two young boys this year Romeo and Jack were so pleasant and willing to learn again they couldn't do enough for you .

The entertainment team have been at the grand for a few years now and it really feels like you are having a night out with friends , we laughed so much this year so thank you Jim , kereme, and Nanny also the lovely new girl who's name I can't remember

This year we were placed at the other side of the complex and could see that the owner is up grading as we had the new air conditioning unit in the bed room and have to say a very comfy bed . The cleaners once again were excellent with clean towels daily , I also like the light system outside the door so when you want your room cleaned you give the green light and when you don't want to be disturbed you put the red light on.

Ayden was a lot quieter this year and we went for a Turkish bath which was really good although I will agree with previous comments that it was more expensive than other places in icmeler.

Finally Sally what can I say about her ....she is a ray of sunshine always smiling and makes me feel safe as I know if I have any problem what so ever she will go out of her way to fix it

Another great holiday so sad it's over, can't wait till next June to return

Room Tip: E mail the hotel before you go asking for a pool view they always try there best to accommodate requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned from 11 perfect days at The Grand Aquarium, It was our second time there, and it didn't fail to impress....Rooms are lovely, we were at the back of the hotel this year not poolside like last year, which was perfect really, lots of shade....Day 1, I had my Turkish bath, which was provided by the lovely Aydin and his team, worth every penny....a must for people that burn easy. The food this year was simply outstanding, Well done to Erol the chef, the only thing I can gripe about is that there was far too much :) a food lovers heaven. The restaraunt staff this year were excellent, Robbie, Hassan, a couple of new faces Romeo, Jack and Seth who can't do enough to help you.. Oh and John the bar man who makes fantastic cocktails...
Most of all I would like to thank the fantastic entertainment team, who are just simply the best...
words cant explain how excellent these guys (and girls) really are, if you are taking kids they will love every second, there is always something going on to entertain them, from pool, aqua gym, and the brilliant kids disco, which is bound to get even the shyest of kids up and dancing, they really never seem to stop. So a massive thank-you to Chem, Kerim, Nanni, Keelly, and Sam. Overall The Grand Aquarium in my opinion is a perfect hotel, and me and my family will definitely be going back..... :)

Room Tip: Rooms poolside get a lot of sun, the back of the hotel is quite shaded, so no need for air condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trike-tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent little hotel and a great holiday all round. Located a little way outside the Icmeler but an easy walk - also buses are regular and and will take you all the way to Marmaris for a couple of Lira.

Rooms were very nice although the only downside is we were given a twin bed instead of a double, they cleaned regularly and the showers are great.

Ayden (aka Tony Montana) will sort you out with a Turkish Bath on the first day and this comes highly recommended - it will help your tan and is extremely relaxing! Turkish shave was great too. He is also doubles as the hotel paparazzi and will take some great photos to remember the trip by!

Karim and the others in the entertainment team were endlessly enthusiastic and engaged with everyone (not just the kids) although by the end of your stay you may never want to hear the song follow the leader ever again! (Jump and Wave arrrrrrgggggh!).

Mr Hassan and Robbie in the restaurant were excellent and always made you feel welcome. Some of the portions are massive so make sure that you bring your appetite!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 78 in Icmeler
2,202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Julian Forest Suites
Julian Forest Suites
#4 of 78 in Icmeler
1,618 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#35 of 78 in Icmeler
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Labranda Mares Marmaris
#10 of 78 in Icmeler
1,529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Club Aquarium
Club Aquarium
#14 of 78 in Icmeler
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aquarium

Property: Grand Aquarium
Address: 245. Sokak No: 2, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#13 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Aquarium 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE YOU FEEL HOME ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Aquarium Hotel Icmeler
Grand Aquarium Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing