We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely holiday”
Review of Grand Aquarium

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Aquarium
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A lovely holiday”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was our second visit to Icmeler but our first staying at these apartments but I have to say they were great value for money and to sum up we would be more than happy to return for another holiday.
There are one or two negatives and I think these points are worth making so that future holiday makers know what to expect:
The one bedroom apartments were a bit small so if you were travelling with two big teenagers, I'd say book a two bedroom apartment. However, the maids came in every day and everything was kept lovely and clean.
Another apartment gripe for us was the lack of a freezer compartment in the fridge as we like to freeze bottles of water to take out with us. We do appreciate however, that this would not be an issue for most people.
The music around the pool could be quite noisy during the day and with the entertainment up till midnight so if you just want a holiday of quiet relaxation then maybe this is not the place for you.
The 10am cockerel crowing and the loud "Good Morning" song was reminiscent of Hi de Hi or Butlins and may not appeal to everyone.However as the week progressed we began to find it amusing.
Now for the positive points. The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly and the one problem we expressed with our room was quickly dealt with. There was none of this getting up at the crack of dawn to bag a sun lounger. There were still loungers available at 10am and if we had been out for the day and returned at 4ish there were loungers available then. The pool and poolside area were kept lovely and clean.
Although we were sceptical about the wristband system at first, we found it really good. Everytime you placed an order, the money was taken off the wristband straight away and a receipt given.
The quality of the food in the restaurant was fantastic and so resonably priced. We usually rarely eat at our apartment complex but this year we ate there 3 out of 7 nights. The Turkish night is not to be missed. Entertainment brilliant fun but importantly the food included in the price was fantastic. Again, normally we would shy away from apartment complex barbecues as in the past we have found them less than inspiring. However, quality meats were served by chefs dressed up in beautifully clean aprons and hats and the cold table heaved with lovely salads, stuffed peppers, stuffed aubergines etc. Well worth the money!
The location of the apartments was great too. Although I was concerned that we were quite far out of the centre, the dolmus was cheap and frequent and we often walked as it was a lovely pleasant flat walk .
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank stacky44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    165
    32
    13
    8
See reviews for
445
136
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Glamorgan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at the Grand Aquarium this June, It was our first trip to Turkey and wasn’t sure what to expect, but as soon as we arrived at the hotel we were given a warm welcome by the staff.

The hotel and grounds are well maintained. The rooms are spacious and spotless, the cleaners come every day to change towels, bed sheets etc.
The staff at the hotel are absolutely fantastic and made they holidays for us, from the restaurant and bar staff to the entertainment team, even the hairdressers, their service is second to none and they became good friends, nothing was too much to ask for. They work extremely hard and long hours but are always there to welcome you with a smile.

We were very sad to leave, a week defiantly wasn’t long enough, but we are hoping to return again to the Grand Aquarium later this year and see all our new friends. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat_Glamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed here between 9th and 23rd May, myself and partner and 3 children aged 13,3 and 2. The best family hoilday we have ever had the hotel wasn't full and there was plenty space and sunbeds around the pool.
The hotel is located outside the town and it is a half hour walk downhill to the beach, and to the centre of Icmeler, however, its a very pleasant walk and we didn't mind doing it. The buses are regular though, if you can't be bothered. bus stop is just along the road at the bridge, 2 mins walk. We always walked into town but took the bus back most of the time. The nearest supermarket and Tommy's restaurant are at the bridge. There is a small supermarket at the hotel but we found the one beside the bridge to be bigger and cheaper.Food and drink at the hotel were good value and a similar price to the main resort, we always ate all our meals at the resturaunt, breakfast at the hotel it cost about £2.40 for a full fry up, we also had several meals ranging from a club sandwhich to a traditional desti kebab cooked in a clay pot all of which were lovely. The evening meals are served with complimentray hot turkish bread so take this into account when ordering as it is very filling. The staff will happily serve your food poolside or in you apartment. The beer is Efes and it's about £2 for a half litre which is the same as the main resort. . All food was was very good quality and fresh and the portions where big.Food and drink also shop on complex is paid using a wristband rather than cash you get this from reception and just top it up when required, every time you use it you get a receipt with your balance. The apartments themselves are quite compact (we had a 2 bed apt) but they have adequate wardrobe space and enough pots/pans/cutlery etc. Maid service is excellent with clean towels every day and I think during our weeks stay, the sheets were changed twice. There are 5 chairs and a table on the balcony as well as a washing line/pegs. The balconies are fancy wrought iron and surrounded by pretty window boxes full of flowers. The public areas/ pool etc are very clean and well maintained and the staff work hard to make sure they stay that way, good hygiene brilliant service,. Entertainment is varied but suitable for all ages and the staff make it such good fun, entertainment staff of 3 people Cem,Sercan and Bubu where very good especially Sercan and Bubu absolutly lovely and my 2 girls age 3 and 2 took a real shine to them and they was brillant with them and always had time for all of my children, thankyou both very much for making my childrens hoilday they still go on about you even being back home, thankyou again. Very good entertainment ,magic show,karaoke,barman nite and mr aquarium was good.they also do weekly theme nights, the Turkish night was fantastic with folk dancers belly dancers and break dances wow what a show Thanks to everyone.The staff here are second to none, I have never came across such hard working and friendly people, I have to give special mention to Robbie the head waiter andHuseyin( who my 13 year old son took a shine to and got very upset to leave him.) and Huseyin the barmanager, nothing appeared to be too much trouble for these guys.The night manager and reception staff are very good also and Sally the hotel PR lady was always making herself available to assist with any problems... although due to the facility being well run you sould not have any unless you are the one causing the problems!! I hope that the bad review doesnt put people off holidaying here as it is amazing and class!!!
There is also a photographer that will take pictures of your stay if you wish ... there is no oblgation to buy the photos but he seems to be good at what he does, we had some beautiful picturesof my children and the family thankyou. They are friendly without being in your face and make you feel very welcome. During our stay, we became very good friends with them all. It was an honour to meet them, a pleasure to stay there and we will definitely go back. I cannot recommend these apartments highly enough. These guys are a credit to their country.
I would happily recommend the Grand Aquarium this is mainly because the staff are fantastic and do everything they can to keep you happy.
Thankyou again for the brillant hoilday already booked for June next year see you all then.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 1972dazsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

returned from the grand last week and would go back tomorrow if we could. travelled with my husband and teenage daughters,and we all had a wonderful time.the staff here are fantastic and became great friends, we loved them all. the food was excellent everyday, the sunday roast to die for. our room was very spacious and cleaned everyday ie clean sheets and towels. had loads of fun with the entertainment team. ignore bad reviews try for yourselves.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kclax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

went with my boyfriend here had a great time the staff couldnt do enough for you and worked so hard hotel has brilliant facilities entertainment at night was excellent especially turkish night thoroughly enjoyed it , the staff made our stay welcoming .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicole_x91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just returned from the Grand Aquarium after staying there for the 3rd time in 7 years. We had not been back for 3 years due to a family illness but the hotel and staff are consistently great and we look forward to returning soon.

The hotel is spotlessly clean with maid service every day and fresh towels and bedding. The restaurant is great value and the food was very good. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and the entertainment at night was very varied and fun. There is no television but you do not go on holiday to watch TV so no complaints from us. There is air conditioning at an additional cost but we did not feel that it was hot enough to warrant the air con.

The hotel is very quiet at night and also very secure. It is a 20 minute walk into town but we enjoyed this as it provided us with exercise to walk off some calories.

We stayed at the same time as the travellers and witnessed them fight amongst themselves which was scary to say the least. When they stayed we did not stay at the pool so I can not comment on behaviour poolside during the day.

WE will definitely be back again!!!! Our favourite place to stay. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so great.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimandcolleenshaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I have just returned from the Grand Aquarium on the 16th June, and i must admit this has been the most enjoyable holiday my partner and yound kids have ever had. The staff were absolutely AMAZING nothing was ever too much trouble for them. They worked soo hard and very long hours yet they were still soo friendly towards everyone. Thought the entertainent team were hilarious, well done to them, as we had our little 6 year old son and 7 month old daughter we spent every night in the hotel but never once did we get bored. The staff are the best staff i have ever came across in my life, Mr Ali should be soo proud of them. Honestly not a bad word to say at all about the hotel. We will definately be coming back next year.

As for the bad reviews below please take no notice, we were on holiday when the Irish travelling family were there, they were a disgrace to themselves and there community, yet they still seemed to have no shame about it the next morning.

Definately please go to this hotel Best Holiday and Hotel EVER!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jackieghirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 78 in Icmeler
2,191 reviews
0.6 mi away
Julian Forest Suites
Julian Forest Suites
#5 of 78 in Icmeler
1,613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#36 of 78 in Icmeler
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Labranda Mares Marmaris
#11 of 78 in Icmeler
1,517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Club Aquarium
Club Aquarium
#14 of 78 in Icmeler
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Aquarium

Property: Grand Aquarium
Address: 245. Sokak No: 2, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
#3 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#3 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#7 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#13 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Aquarium 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WHERE YOU FEEL HOME ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Grand Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Aquarium Hotel Icmeler
Grand Aquarium Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing