We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for improvement!!! :0)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Julian Forest Suites
Ranked #4 of 78 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Room for improvement!!! :0)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was our second visit to JF, last year we were 2 weeks self catering with 7 days flexi-dine, this year they don't do self catering, so we opted for half board as we were there for 10 days and we get by with 2 meals a day and are not big drinkers.
Compared to our last visit last year we were disappointed with the lack of activities during the day and poor quality of entertainment at night.
The food and accomodation were fantastic, a huge improvement on last year, still problems with the wasps at breakfast and evening meals though.
The first week of our stay was very quiet, no problems on getting sun beds, entertainment was greatly lacking, picked up when Jack arrived just before we left, and he managed to get people involved, evening entertainment was dire and sometimes embarrassing!!!
Music at poolside was at times inappropriate, due to rap style sexual explicit, not good for families.
Alot more Russians and Eastern block visitors staying compared to our last visit, and it appeared that the entertainment staff were catering more for them than the majority of Brits.
Apart from that we mostly got what we wanted, great weather, food and accomodation, room for improvement JF, we may not be back next year!!! :0(

Room Tip: Poolside views away from lift shafts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comment. We hope that your experience will not put you off of coming tos tay again. If you would like to contact me regards to your concerns I can help you in more detail.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,117
    311
    81
    35
    21
See reviews for
907
376
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just returned from two weeks all inclusive at the julian forest in icmeler. We went as a family with my wife and five year old boy. We arrived at eleven at night and were quickly checked in by the staff and helped with our bags to our room. The room was spotless with full sized fridge for your own stuff.
The next day we went to the pool ( there are three pools, baby pool, kids pool with slides and large main pool) plenty of loungers and umbrellas so no real problem getting a place around the pool. The bar and retaurant are both next to the pools so its easy to wander up for food, ice cream or drinks. The selection of food is excellent and the staff work hard to keep the restaurant area clean and are very friendly.
The hotel is located right at the back of icmeler and is about ten minutes drive by bus down to the centre of icmeler and cost 1.5 tl each way. You can walk in about 45 mins but in the heat it is hard work. The buses are just outside the hotel and down the road about 200 meters away.
When you arrive at the hotel you are given a plastic wrist band with a bar code on it. You can go to reception and put credit on this to allow you to buy things from the hotel shop or items on the drinks list not on all inclusive, so no need to wander about with cash. You can also change english note for turkish lira at reception.
We had a great family holiday and our boy loved the chutes at the kids pool. There are usually other families there so the kids just tend to get on with it and you get to lie by the pool. The hotel has a high wall surrounding it and only one exit via reception which makes it easy to keep an eye on you kids , also outside the hotel is a dead end road so its very safe for kids.
The entertainment at night is very amatuerish and on occasions very poor however the staff do try hard to make people enjoy themselves.
The only down side is the wasps which are attracted to the food at the open air restaurant, which can make eating a very unpleasant affair and we had to abandon our food on three occasions and return to eat later.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet night the best rooms are away from the poolside .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fixitScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I would like to thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed you holiday and hope to see you again in the future. If you have any concerns or queries please contact at any time

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

a beautiful hotel set within a background of a forest lush with greenery. Very rustic building. The staff are friendly and obliging and they try hard to make your holiday great, Also very reasonably priced. Lovely relaxed environment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Short and positive comment. Thank you very much.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our first time in Turkey and had a fab time; we would love to come back very soon. We were there from 26th June to 8th July. I'll start with the PROs:- Hotel is in an outstandingly beautiful location. Suites are spacious, clean with good air con in both lounge and bedroom areas. The provision of dressing gowns was a nice touch and our towels were changed daily. Our room was cleaned every day so this has definitely improved from previous reviews, bed was made daily and our sheets were changed every other day. Hotel was quiet for most of our stay (about half full for at least the first week). There are no noises or disturbances at night and yes the beds are hard but I got used to them fairly quickly. The staff are all very friendly, most spoke good English. The Turkish Bath is highly recommended! Yes it's more expensive in the hotel, but the individual attention you get is well worth it.
NOTE ABOUT DINING: JULIAN FOREST IS NOW 100% BUFFET. This change happened while we were there, but it didn't affect our enjoyment of the food. In fact we feel it gave us more choice and hopefully the chefs will have greater scope to provide more local dishes. Turnaround at mealtimes is quicker as a result so I can understand this decision, plus you can eat whatever combination of food you like from the buffet. Omelettes are made fresh every morning at your request. Yummy! The buffet is also replenished at regular intervals, so it is not standing for long.
OK now the CONS:- I feel the hotel have made very little effort to alleviate the wasp problem, and it is a problem which is affecting some customers' enjoyment of their meals. However, as others have said, they are only a problem at breakfast and evening dinner and are usually gone by 8:45pm. They are not an issue at lunch. They are only around the restaurant at these times and they don't attack people, just your food! Could this be solved by a mosquito net / curtain around the restaurant that can be drawn at meal times?
The entertainment team:- I got on really well with them and made some excellent holiday friends. However, they did struggle at times. They are employed by Broadway, an external company (therefore not the hotel). They were a brand new team so they are still finding their feet. They were improving as our stay went on. They found it difficult to get people to participate at times, but they were genuinely making an effort. They need to be aware that in an all-inclusive, people may be reluctant to pay extra for activities ;-). In England, bingo is a couple of pound, not 20 Lira! WE LOVE YOU SANCHEZ!!!
Don't book excursions with the reps or in the UK. Go into Icmeler / Marmaris and book direct with the locals, you'll get a much better price.
For excellent photos, see Sinan, the resident camerman. "ALREET". I tried to teach him some Wolverhampton slang but he struggled with "OWAMYA".
We made some fantastic holiday friends during our stay with both staff and families and we're really missing you already as we look outside to yet more rain! Due to the small nature of the hotel, it is easy to get to know people, but you can still have your privacy. I must say hello on here to loads of people:- Steve, Sue and Rachel, Ed & his wife, Christa and David, Mark and Gemma, Brian, Louise and Matthew, Adrian, Eileen, Conn and Cora (I've got a great pic of Cora with the grasshopper if you want it guys, let me know). There were many more but we can't name all of you on here.
This holiday was everything that Ellen and I both wanted and more. Thank you!!!
P.S: For good Jewellery, see Ernie in Zeus, the fastest goldsmith in Icmeler :D

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for your feedback. Its good to have guests to suggest ways of improvements which as always we be taken on board. Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We initially booked into Club Julian in Marmaris based on trip advisor reviews. I cannot understand how Club Julian gets so many great reviews and am a little suspicious that after a poor review 4 or 5 good reviews immediately appear above the poor review. Our experience at Club Julian was one of relief to just get out of the place. Having arrived at Club Julian at midnight we slept, ate breakfast, got harrassed to use the spa, covered our ears to block out the extremely loud music by the pool and got on the first minibus to the Forest Suites sister hotel. That said the management team were very helpful in transferring us to the Julian Forest Suites.

So onto the Julian Forest and what a very different experience.

Location

The hotel is set 2.5 km away from the main resort of Icmeler in the mountains but has excellent transport into the result with local minibuses outside the hotel. Not perfect for all guests but it was ideal for us.

Rooms

The hotel is very accomodating for couples and families alike. The suites are excellent, being modern and cleanwith plenty of storage space. The only quibble is that the room service was a little hit and miss in that our suite did not appear to be cleaned every day. The aircon was very good and welcome.

Service and food

The service was of a high standard at the bar and in the restaurant. All lunch-times and evening meals were cooked to order off the menus and the food was always hot and of good quality when it arrived. The front desk were also always happy and eager to help with a smile.

The pool areas

A previous review complained about children running wild. In our experience this was not the case at all. The vast majority of parents spent a lot of time in each others company and kept an eye out for each others children, whether it was in the pools or around the playground. (As for the main pool being full of lilos, there were at most 4 or 5 with all but one being used by adults.)

There were always sunbeds available anddue to the small size of the hotel faces of fellow guests quickly became familiar and hence conversations easily started.

Entertainment

No evening entertainment except the minidisco? I was staggered by this comment from a previous reviewer and even questioned whether the review was posted for the correct hotel. There was entertainment every nightwith the exception of the European Cup semi-finals and final. There were dancers, acrobats, a Turkish themed night and a bandon another night.

As for the minidisco, yes the same four songs are played each evening and as a father to 3 and 4 year old boys I understand the need for the repetition. Indeed our 3 year old was like one of Pavlovs dogs, in that as soon as the music started he would stand up in his chair and beg to go and dance.

Negatives

The wasps. A lot has been written about the wasps and they may be a problem for some people. We were not too bothered by them despite the fact that I was stung in the pool by one.

Summary

We had an amazing family holiday, met some lovely people from all over the UK and some from Turkey too. The management and staff were a credit to the hotel and a big thank you to all of them from our family. What a relaxing and friendly place they make the hotel.

Would we return to/recommend the hotel? The world has a lot to offer and there are so many other places to visit. However we are already considering returning next year and have recommended the hotel to friends who have book for the end of August.

Room Tip: Unpack the cases, find a sunbed, relax and enjoy the hotel and maybetake the Dolmus down to Icmeler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feed back. Glad to hear you were happy during your stay and as many of our returning guests we hope that you will be returning too. For booking or enquires please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have just arrived back from the Julian Forest, pros and cons are as follows:
PRO’S
• Staff are absolutely amazing, they are so helpful. The Restaurant manger Omar is extremely helpful and attentive; he would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel in London. The waiters underneath him are also very helpful and attentive.
• Food is excellent, anything you want, brilliant
• All inclusive does not stop once you check out, it stops when you leave the hotel, even if it is 11pm or midnight, i have never found that in any other hotel
• Dalaman Airport is a total joke, talk about take the pee out of their captive audience, a weeny bottle of water was £2, slice of pizza £5. Omar arranged for us to take a sandwich lunch with us to the airport, he gave so much we had to leave some behind. I have never received such caring service, ever!
• The suite we were in was fabulous, living room, bedroom and bathroom really spacious
• We decided to go all inclusive on the 2nd day, all they asked for was £22 per week.
• The Hotel Manager Denis, was also very nice and very helpful

Lovely hotel and lovely staff.

CONS
• There is no evening entertainment AT ALL, it is all catered around children and goes on until 10pm. (I forgot! BINGO at 9.30)
• The dining room is also the entertainment area, very annoying when you want to have a nice dinner and all you can here is children’s entertainment, same old songs every night! And children running wild, screaming, shouting, running in between tables with parents that just sit there and ignore the chaos their children are causing other guests.
• The pool is full of Lilo’s and as the week progressed it was getting worse, there is a children’s pool, with slide, but apparently it is only open for a couple of hours a day, so we had a few hours peace!
• The management told me it was a family hotel, OK, I accept that, but there should be somewhere where ADULTS can go and have their breakfast/lunch/dinner or even a drink, in peace. I love kids, but for God’s sake, that was a nightmare. It was akin to staying at Butlins. You really need to go out in the evening because the bar is also in the restaurant as is the entertainment stage, one night a two year old was standing on the bar, and the mother?? She was busy ordering her lager – you see where I’m coming from?
• Some of these people obviously expect other adults to keep an eye on their kids, 18 month old wandering aimlessly around the dining room, he only had to wander down by the pool and drown, it’s really was a real eye opener as far as parenting was concerned.
• The sister hotel Julian Club kept sending their guests down to the Julian Forest, offering them a ‘free upgrade’, consequently, it was getting more and more crowded with more and more children
• It really was impossible to enjoy a meal
• The entertainment team are complete rubbish, i have never seen such a useless load of people in my life. They were irritating and rude, one of them said to another guest ‘I hate it here’, I would suggest a training course for the lot of them, better still sack them all and start again.
If this hotel was Adults only, it would definitely rate a 5 star, it is in an idyllic spot, but with all the screaming kids around I would rate it a 3 star

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eiei c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comment it was very interesting to read and very helpful to us as we will take all points on board for future improvements. If you have any further concerns or queries please feel free to contact at any time.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was my 2nd time at Julian Forest, and it was even better than the first time. The rooms have been upgraded and are now suites with a bedroom and living room. These are very spacious, modern and really clean. There are 2 air con units; one in the bedroom and one in the living room, which is really handy when one person is hot and another is cold!! The beds were fine to sleep in, and even the sofa in the lounge is comfy to sleep on, after one too many!!

The pool is great, not too crowded and always able to get a sun bed. They also provide pool towels when staying all inclusive. There is entertainment during the day around the pool, with games such as water polo, darts etc and there is plenty for the children to do, with a good kids club. Entertainment on an evening isn't the best but to be honest, the place is so friendly and everyone makes friends, which means you have a good time any way!

Everyone mentions the wasps, and I have to admit I am terrified of them, however this only seems to be a major problem at breakfast time around the food and early evening. If you eat later after 8.30pm they are usually starting to go away then. Plus I never seen any wasps around the pool during the day.

Food- this was the 1st year the hotel has gone all inclusive and I was a bit dubious as I havn't liked this in previous hotels I have stayed in, however the fact you can order off the menu for both lunch and evening meal is fantastic. Where else do you get steak included in all inc hotels- it's usually buffet slop (like what we experienced in Egypt). The drinks are great as well, a decent larger, vodka, cocktails, wine, soft drinks, fruit juices, tea, coffee etc.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Hakan's English is great, so clever!! Deniz the manager is very friendly and helpful. We booked direct this year and Deniz was a great help, sorting out our transfer and other such things, plus he is a great laugh!!! Sinan (aka david bailey) is also lovely and takes great photographs. My favourite though is VAHIT- the best waiter ever, really kind and sweet. A lovely gentleman who will do anything he can for you, i miss him already!!! :) The staff on reception (sorry forgot your names) are also great, and one in particular always greeted you with a huge smile!! I must mention Ben the hairdresser, who is brill. I hate doing my hair and he did it most evenings, doing a great job. He is a great hairdresser!

Hope I can return next year, but I will be disappointed if the menu changes to buffet!

Ps. Met some great people that we made good friends with - Gillian and family and Ed and Hayley - keep in touch xx

Natalie, Newcastle.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deniz K, Manager at Julian Forest Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

A very positive comment from yourself which we thank you for. All of our team try their very best to keep all of our guests happy and we are glad you are one of many of them. We look forward to your return.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 78 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#3 of 78 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 78 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Petunya Konak Boutique Hotel
2.7 mi away
Marmaris Park
Marmaris Park
#13 of 78 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Turban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julian Forest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julian Forest Suites

Property: Julian Forest Suites
Address: Golenye Mah. Halide Edip Adivar Cad. 182. Sok, Icmeler 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#3 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#4 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Julian Forest Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a relaxing holiday away from the noise of the town or easily reached if desired the Julian Forest Suites is a must. Situated 2,8 km away from the beach at the foot of the surrounding forest, Julian Forest Suites offer fantastic service set in beautiful scenery, ideal for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Julian Forest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julian Forest Hotel Icmeler
Julian Forest Apartments Icmeler
Julian Forest Apartments Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing