We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired and rundown hotel”
Review of Golmar Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golmar Beach Hotel
Ranked #30 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A tired and rundown hotel”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed at the Golmar for 10 days in Sept 2012, This hotel has the most perfect location in Icemeler but hotel rooms are very basic with very grubby carpet and furniture, the bathroom only contains an out of date shower and the tiling was just dreadful, you have to pay for air con £11.00 per day which was useless and noisy, you also have to pay £1.00 a day for a dingy little fridge. We found the staff quite rude with no concept of customer care, no greeting/welcome on arrival not even an hello, just your key thrown at you, we asked for air con and were told to come back and pay later despite being the only ones at reception, it was all a bother to the very lazy male receptionist [tall male with hair tied back].The pool is dominated by a huge slide, after a while the kids get you down screaming which spoils any kind of relaxation/reading, the tables were dirty with stains and dead wasps, they wern't cleaning in the 10 days we were there.Breakfast was basic, help your self, limited choice with one very slow out of date toaster which caused queues. Again, tables were sticky and dirty, they were cleared of dishes but were never cleaned, guests actually were cleaning them, bread and milk were constantly running out and you had to tell the waiters to replenish - they were too busy doing nothing or looking at their mobile phones, they were the laziest waiters we have ever come across and nobody seemed to care or be in charge of them, the chef was seen to grab a handful of cornflakes out of the serving bowl and walk away eating them, this is a hygiene issue and did put guest off their breakfast, god knows what he was doing behind the scenes. On our departure, waiting for the coach to arrive we were seated in reception, seated next to us was 3 male receptionists along with one of the hotels owners who were watching football, our courier arrived and called out our surname and we got up and left the hotel, neither the owner or reception staff acknowledged our departure, our courier noticed and just shook her head. The Golmar hotel is in serious need of a total refurb, a change of staff and a new owner.

Room Tip: Chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jhesketh115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    141
    51
    26
    11
See reviews for
135
153
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Fantasic Hotel with wonderful panoramic views over icmeler. Rooms basic but clean, with maid service every day... Thank you Suna!
Food was okay, but although we were half board, we ate out most evenings as the restraunts were fantastic and great value for money.
I would most certainly recommend this hotel and I will be sure to return.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and the views were fantastic... lower floors views were spoilt by the trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just back from the Golmar Beach,and what a nice place it is,best views from rooms third floor up,but the views from the private beach is lovely.The food was as good as any three star I have been to in Turkey.Rooms nice and kept clean by nice staff.Position was perfect,out of the main night life but close enough to have a stroll along the prom to a lively town,plenty of places to eat and drink,we went to Richards Place most nights and were made very welcome by a hard working and entertaining staff,all together a great holiday in Icmeler,met some lovely people and would like to think we will meet up again next year for some more great times.
Well done Golmar Beach and Icmeler

Room Tip: If possible higher floors the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have been comming to Icmeler for the past 10 years, it was our first visit to the Golmar hotel. I choose this hotel because of its location on the beach. We stayed in room 309 and had a great view of the bay which is what we wanted, it was great waking up to those views, what more can you ask for. The rooms do need updating however it did the job and i paid for a 3 star hotel so that's what i expected. Only problem i would say is paying for air con and fridge, which we paid for and this can be pricey. The fridge worked fine and did provide ice which was great. I agree with some of the previous comments about people putting towels on the sunbeds at crack of dawn although it clearly states around the pool no towels before 8, people still do so you do need to wake early to get a bed. We spent most days on the beach there are free sun loungers and its easier to get a sunbed there and you get a breeze and all day sun.
The food was good, although could be a bit repetitive but there is plenty to choose from, we were half board, I am vegetarian but again always a vegi option plenty of salads deserts etc. My husband and son enjoyed the meat though!.
Entertainment is limited but there is plenty to do and see in Icmeler so you wont be bored.
The water slides appealed to the kids however they big purple one does not look very safe.
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to return, the staff are very helpful and if you take the time to chat to them they are very friendly and will do what they can to help.

Room Tip: Request higher rooms and avoid rooms on the first floor as not much of a view from these rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 459Angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

we,ve just returned from the golmar beach tonight, before we went i checked th reviews on this hotel so i wasnt expecting much , the hotel is somewhat dated , but the rooms were clean and tidy, and the maid service was good , but dont bother hiring the fridge as there is no icebox and anything you put in it was just about cold after a day,
i had read that the breakfasts werent up to much, they were,nt joking , boiled eggs every day, plenty of choice if you came from europe , i asked if the chef could make me a omelette but was told it would cost me extra, so i passed on that one . overall the staff were pleasant and helpfull.
the hotels boat trip was very good although its about 5 lira dearer than most , you get a far better lunch and the wee boat was very comfortable so i,d fully recomend it, compared to some of them on offer,

now a word of warning for anyone with children, the pool has a water shoot and flumes , but i spoke to mothers who had a run in with the manager the joins on the shoot werent flattened so kids were getting cut on a daily basis, after complaining they were told its their choice to use the slides , if a child sees such things they will want to use them , the management did conceed and closed the slides for a few hour to do some repair work , but i dont think it made much difference, all you saw was people going about with plasters on them ,
the location of this hotel is perfect right on the beach but , overall i dont think i can recommend it, as the food is iffy , the evening meal wasnt much better than the breakfasts , thank goodness for their tomato soup, the hotel could be doing with a total refurbishment to bring it up to standard.

although i wasnt impresssed with this hotel , we had a great holiday , plenty to do , shops bars and restaurants nearby with the dancing waiters , plus the weather was amazing it was 50+ most days , i would recommend icmeler and would return , i just dont think i.d go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: coose a mid to high room as all you will get a view of is trees, we were given a room on the 1st flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toasty_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just back from a 1 weeks stay. Despite a Turkish friend phoning and asking could we have rooms with a decent sea view, we were allocated 3 of the worst rooms in the hotel (any of rooms 101 - 110). We were told that 'all the rooms have sea views'. Well, I've attached a photo to show the view from room 108. In case you can't find it, it's that little blue patch through the small gap in the bushes, about a quarter of a mile away.

The room was, well, basic. There was air conditioning which we had to pay extra for - essential when the temperature exceeds 40° every day, a fridge which we had to pay extra for, a (tiny)shower (no bath) and apart from the bed/wardrobe/tv, that was about it. No tea making or cooking facilities. There was access to a safe which was in the reception area which we had to pay extra for. So 3 aircons, 3 fridges and 1 safe cost £120 for the week. Ridiculous.

If you are desparate to have a sunbed by the pool or on the nearby decking, be prepared to get up very early. Otherwise, there were beds readily available most of the day on the hotel's own private section of beach where you do get a cooling breeze and guaranteed sun all day, unlike round the pool.

We only did B&B so I can't comment on the evening food. Breakfast was, well, basic. If you want a full English, go elsewhere. Here you get hard boiled eggs and (lukewarm) beans every day with either (soggy) mushrooms, unappetising-looking sausages (which reappeared in hot-dogs later in the day), or scrambled egg (to accompany the hard-boiled eggs). There were the continental cooked meat and cheeses, cereals (?) and fruits, melon, and a toast maker with butter/spreads. There were tea and coffee making facilities but be warned. At 10 o'clock on the dot, everything is whisked away, starting with all the drinks. As I said, basic.

The location is great. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby. It's handy for the beach, and the harbour if you fancy a boat trip. The slides into the pool are great for the kids but they are unsupervised and you always get the older kids climbing back up so if you've got smaller kids, be prepared for some arguments. The staff are pleasant enough. There is an on-site shop where you can buy water/beer/drinks, etc if you don't want to use the bar whilst on the beach (via the waiter service - they will bring you food as well).

We love Icmeler - we came here last year to the Marti La Perla which is in a different league. We'll probably come again next year but just not to this hotel. There are so many better ones. I can only base my ratings on the room we stayed in, but a room with a fantastic view (there are lots) would probably only raise my overall rating to 3 and a half (good).

Room Tip: Ask for one underneath or near the 'Golmar Beach Hotel' sign. Avoid first floor rooms like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnny_h_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from a great week at Golmar beach and have few complaints. The rooms were basic but very clean. The balcony is facing the sea so you get brilliant views. The staff were quiet and didn't speak very good English. Although when we needed help they were very helpful. The pool was a fair size and the waterslides kept the kids busy. The problem was with the sunbeds though. Other residents had put towels on sunbeds when they were not using them which left no sunbeds left for other people. A lot of people have put that there are a lot of eggs at breakfast on reviews. I have to disagree. There was a wide choice and it was all very tasty. The location was brilliant and it was near to many good restraunts, bars and shops. All in all a great hotel and would definately return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for panoramic views over Icmeler bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mar-Bas
Hotel Mar-Bas
#45 of 77 in Icmeler
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quadas Hotel
Quadas Hotel
#56 of 77 in Icmeler
262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#19 of 77 in Icmeler
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#2 of 77 in Icmeler
2,274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#21 of 77 in Icmeler
209 reviews
0.6 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#4 of 77 in Icmeler
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golmar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golmar Beach Hotel

Property: Golmar Beach Hotel
Address: Kayabal Cad 93, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#27 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#28 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golmar Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golmar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golmar Beach
Golmar Beach Marmaris
Golmar Beach Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing