We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even Trip Advisor displaying traveller photos which ARE NOT the Munamar Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Munamar Beach Hotel
Ranked #56 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Having written a long review last July explaining how there are 3 hotels in close proximity with 'Munamar' in the title, and my experience of travel companies exploiting the confusion; I now notice that Trip Adviser is PERPETUATING the mix- up by displaying a photo of the actual Munamar Hotel with correct title BUT giving an address which is that of a DIFFERENT hotel - formerly Club Oylem Prestige !!!! [This is a hotel with a lower rating and NOT beach front! Although, confusingly, it has 'beach' in the title!!!!]

N.B. It is people who want a child-free hotel who will fall foul of not being clear WHICH Munamar hotel they are booking [and also those who think they are getting a bargain in a 'posh' hotel.]

I have just been through 300 traveller photos on this site and have reported very many as being the wrong location as they are NOT of the large beach-front Munamar Hotel, but of the 2 other, lower rated hotels in the chain. Most of the wrongly attributed photos are of the hotel [formerly the Club Oylem Prestige] which is BEHIND the Munamar hotel. A few of the photos are of the hotel NEXT to the Munamar [across the canal] this was formerly the Efes and now has 'Munamar' and 'Residence' in the title.
THIS IS NOT FAIR to those who are expecting to book the large hotel shown in the beach-front photos which is a 'couples only' hotel. If you want an adult only hotel you will not get this at the 'former Club Oylem Prestige!!!!

I have stayed in 2, but visited all 3 'Munamar' hotels [due to friends staying] and although the other 2 hotels in the chain are close-by and fine in their niche they are NOT the more up-market hotel which is written about in many of the Trip Advisor reviews and shown in the photos.

RULE OF THUMB:
If the photos show a large striped waterslide, rectangular pools, wood cladding to exteriors, black and white animal print furniture, zebra wall art and an entertainment stage area with bright 'sunset' backdrop this is the former OYLEM hotel [and last July was in the hands of a good manager.] This will have FAMILIES there. Last summer this had 'Beach' and 'Club' in the tile.

If the photos show a tiny circular pool, a tall narrow white building with canal/ beachfront location - this is NEXT to the original and more plush Munamar and was formerly the Efes and last summer was NOT geared to families and had 'Munamar' and 'Residence' in the title.

The carpeted coffee/cream hotel rooms and interior shots of white gallery above an atrium ARE of the MUNAMAR Hotel which is more expensive, up-market, beach-front and does NOT cater for famillies. Many rooms here have a front seaview, but some do face landwards over the pool a the back. These have a mountain view and look out onto other hotels- including the Munamar Beach Club- 'formerly Cub Oylem Prestige.'

Come on Trip Advisor- not good enough! It is fundamental- if potential holiday makers cannot get the truth and accurate information on your site why bother??????

Room Tip: Make sure you KNOW WHICH 'Munamar' hotel you are booking!!!!
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
22  Thank ChrissieLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 1,174 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Lovely hotel, can't fault it in anyway. We went in October as a last minute break and really got lucky with excellent weather, some days getting up to 41 degrees. Our room was very basic, but always clean and wer had decoration on our bed every day. We were given a family room to begin with but the staff quickly changed it and gave us a double bed in our room!

My favourite feature was the street bar which often had entertainment and we met some really lovely people there! The main bar with the zebra on the wall is quite cool and the all inclusive goes on until midnight.

The beach isn't far away from the hotel, and there are sunbeds there for the hotel that you can lay on for free, there were also inflatables in the sea which we enjoyed playing on, and that was also free.

The food in the hotel was ok, very clean and fresh, if a little "samey," but we couldn't complain and the staff always made sure we were well looked after!

Over all great stay, make sure you know which hotel you're going too as there are three hotels called Munamar in the same area, and some of the people we met thought they were staying somewhere else!

Nice pools, nice bars and friendly staff! I would also recommend going into Marmaris for some nightlife and checking out the local market.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Lauren0797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Where to start! We traveled for 7nights between 13/09/12 - 21/09/12. The week couldn't be over sooner! This was mine and my partners first holiday away together. We spent all in all roughly £2000 for what was expected to be an outstanding holiday. We even booked champagne on the flight to celebrate!

Firstly we booked our travel insurance with Thomson and called to declare our asthma. We never received any travel documents or confirmation of extra payment.

On the arrival of the hotel at around 4am to complete darkness and no receptionist. Eventually some one appeared. The bell boy took our bags whilst the receptionist took our details. Once the receptionist had finished we were left standing in a dark lobby. We then asked where were are rooms and he pointed to the lift and left us.

The restraint service was poor infant non existent. There were no clean tables clean cutlery provided. No table service which for a 4/5* the average person would expect. No seating arrangements just everyone was free to find a table. Due to being so busy one time we had to share tables with couple who we did not know. The food in the restaurant was left uncovered ad Luke warm an together with many other holiday makers we were left with sickness and diarrhoea. We ate hardly anything due to constantly being ill. We spent one whole day in bed and missed out on a excursion we planned with another couple. We were ill from the second day off arrival and was close to booking a flight home! Even when arriving home it took 3 days to clear up. We couldnt go ir do anything due to feeling so ill. Many occasions we had rude staff! The pool area was dirty with peeling paint, surrounded by ants and wasps. Dead ones left all over the floor.

Our room was damp, peeling wallpaper, plaster marks all over the walls. The skirting board was coming away with the wallpaper. Broken light switch in the bathroom hanging off the wall along with the tap next to the toilet, old tea rings from previous stayers. I've sent photos to Thomson. After complaining about our room and the whole holiday was offered a massage and made to feel stupid and a burden. Showed our room to rep, she sent someone to look whilst we were in the beach. We came back four hours later to our door left wide open and unattended!!!

I would never return to this hotel even if you paid me! I read the reviews and just thought people were making a fuss. I learnt the hard way and wasted almost £2000. Me and my partner are 19. That's a lot of money to us. I would recommend to anyone who still wished to go after reading such things to read the visitors book on arrival and eat out every night. Soo angry and disappointed!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Visited 8th october for two weeks and it was great. The hotel is situated close to its private beach, with a mountain back drop.
The staff are friendly and efficient in reception. Our cases were taken to our room.
Cleaning staff did a good job and the fresh towels laid out in a heart shape was a nice touch - as was the birthday card from the rep.she was regularly about to give advice.
The food was not the best we have ever experienced but it was acceptable.
The resort is ideal and has a wealth of dolmus buses, taxis and water taxis which makes getting around easy and cheap.
Being a couples hotel there are no children around to disturb the peace and tranquility.
This was our first visit to Turkey...it won't be the last.
We made several new friends at the hotel and most thought the adverse comments made about the hotel and/or staff was unjust. Some folk seem to be happy only when they complain.
Good holiday? No, it was a brilliant one.
The only downside is the very long transfer time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank peteanddipe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is amazing!!! The staff are all very lovely and I can't wait to go back next year!!
Drinks all inclusive is a very very good idea. They even free pour the vodka's!!
Very clean and spacious rooms, loved the little touches they done i.e the swans on the bed made from towels!
DO NOT go to Toni and Guy in Icmeler they are out to rip you off and don't do a proper job and will grab you and go on at you until they get you inside then they will over charge you big time!
Best salon/hairdressers is the one opposite the hotel!!
The food was lovely with a wide range of different foods even english for the children.
Definatly will recomend this hotel and will come back!!

Room Tip: Choose a family room, they are much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KirstieBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend booked this hotel after seeing it online and thinking the location etc looked great. After booking I read quite a few bad reviews so we were obviously wondering what we would find when we arrived. I'm pleased to say we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is right on the beach which initially drew us and there's a friendly attendant who will happily fetch you a sunbed and cushion with a smile on his face. The hotel itself is modern and our room was air conditioned and cleaned everyday. We had a small balcony which overlooked the pool and was nice to sit out on at the end of a hot day. Food wise the choice is huge- fresh salads,pasta, fruit as well as hot dishes. I've read terrible reviews of 'dirty tables' 'horrible food' etc - all I can say is not while we were there! I had a lovely freshly cooked omelette every morning and we eat well. (We did choose to eat out occasionally 'Coco Beach' along the seafront- fantastic) Entertainment wise it was obviously run on a shoestring but Joe the rep does his best and a good job although the band 'The Undercovers' looked bored to tears. The bar staff although not rude don't smile or seem friendly and this needs addressing. The Spa is well worth a visit although the staff do initially pester you. Overall I would say a great hotel, fantastic location and with a few small tweaks (entertainment and bar staff) could be great. Make up your own mind folks..

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank LEE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here in September,the transfer delivered us to the wrong munamar hotel and we where told we would have to walk to the Munamar beach hotel , once we arrived we where given a bread roll and shown to our rooms.The location was stunning and the view from our room was amazing, however the room stank of damp, the carpet was dirty and the extractor fan had melted, on the plus side there where complimentary soft drinks in the fridge, this was needed as we did not have tea and coffee making facilities!!!we complained the next day and asked to be moved , the reception said come back tomorrow, we did and they said the same , tomorrow nevr came , two weeks of a terrible damp smell.The extractor fan was mended but this was after speaking to the hotel liaison person who is only at her desk at certain times.The hotel is right on the beach , plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, however there is no drinks service you have to keep walking back to the bar who give you a silly paper cup.If you need the loo you have to go back in to the hotel, these are in reception, the mens stank the whole time we where there, these are also the toilets for the pool and the restaurant.Its quite a trek if you do need to go.There is no drinks service by the pool, this is the first all inclusive i have been to where they do not come and ask what you would like, the service at the bar was ok but the collection of glasses etc by the pool side was slow.The food was ok, the diet bar had cold brussell sprouts nearly everyday ! i enjoyed breakfast, lunch was ok and the evening meal was all right, the Turkish night was the best.Many other people have commented on the dirty tables and the need to hunt for clean cutlery, some guests where welcomed like old friends, we where not, here is a tip for the waiters, don't make rude comments about people in Turkish, some of us understand you.I did get great service on the night they thought i was on my own!!!.i loved Joe the holiday rep,however i did think the hotels entertainment was lacking.i tried the spa, it was OK. Great location, great views, food OK ,drinks where OK and the weather was fantastic.No tea and coffee in our room when all the others had it!!! they did give us free wine and fruit when we complained .Not a five star experience, this was my third time in the resort and in comparison the welcome here is not as warm as other places, we booked via low cost holidays and i am glad i didn't pay the Thompsons price.

Room Tip: check your room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cornflake13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,466 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#23 of 77 in Icmeler
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#30 of 77 in Icmeler
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quadas Hotel
Quadas Hotel
#67 of 77 in Icmeler
293 reviews
0.5 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#4 of 77 in Icmeler
942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mersoy Bellavista Suites
Mersoy Bellavista Suites
#33 of 77 in Icmeler
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munamar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munamar Beach Hotel

Address: Kayabal Cad. No:69, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#18 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range: $50 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Munamar Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Munamar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munamar Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing