We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Munamar Beach Hotel
Ranked #53 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bit Disappointed”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed in this hotel recently and were left a bit disappointed. It was really talked up by our travel agent and looked very nice in the photos on their website. When we arrived we were dealt with very quickly but as we had no rep on our bus we had no clue when or where the welcome meeting took place. The following day we met the rep who informed us of what we had missed. The hotel is easy to find your way around and everything is well signposted. Pool very small but as its adults only it's never too busy. Plenty of sun loungers to go around as well. The day time activities were a bit in short supply and even more so when Joe the rep couldn't really be bothered trying to find volunteers. The bars get busy at night and the service can be rather slow. Food gets a big repetitive. I think we had the same chicken dish 3 nights in a row with a different name. The a la carte is pretty poorly done. Our 1 waiter wanted to do everything by himself and then got himself carted off to hospital midway through service. The management took over and food was going to all the wrong tables. Bit of a joke. 2 hours later we left! Overall I think the hotel isn't suited to being an all inclusive hotel. It doesn't offer enough to keep people in the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank CMcKenzie1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    312
    277
    140
    130
See reviews for
251
633
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hi good people my partner Julie and I have just come back from a wonderful holiday in Icmeler mainly the Munamar hotel and had a great time.

We have read a lot of the revues and found them mixed, some you can relate to others not too sure where the problems were probably one of those "sliding doors" moments from the film of the same name. Put it this way, you could ask 50 couples to look around the same brand new house and get mixed revues, we all have personal tastes on this, us humans are a hard breed to please.

The over all standard of the hotel is very good but again if you are picky then you will find fault. You have to bear in mind that this is their first season as a "couples" hotel and I for one welcomed the respite from kids running riot all over the place with parents either unable to control or simply not bother with them. I endorse this by saying I have now two grown up girls and have been through that so the time has come to have "the holidays" you have dreamed of.

The location is great, out of the complex half a dozen paces and you are on your own private beach. Present your card to the lifeguard and complementary towels are at hand and free sunbeds, sorted!! Nice to know as well the air conditioning and safe in your room are free just obtain your key from reception. All too often these are seen as extras which eats into your hard earnt spending money.

The food had mixed revues and partially can agree with the fact that some days it was not as hot as it could have been. There is plenty of choice though hot or cold and at breakfast the chefs are on hand to rustle up a fresh fried egg or two or if you fancied an omelette with fillings of your choosing. There is an A la carte, Turkish or Italian, if you are there for one week you have the choice of either. If you are there for two weeks you can entertain both, one each week, personally for Julie and myself found the Italian was the best choice for food and service.

The staff were great with one or too exceptions in the bar area mainly the way it was managed or not in some cases and this had to be addressed. There were often times the queuing got a little long but what can you expect from free drink except imported spirits which you paid extra for if required. Again you could pick up on the fact that the tables in the dining area could have been better served but in time I am sure this will be sorted if we keep the constructive comments coming.

The entertainment was very good, Adrian has a good rap our with his audience with a wide range of music and entertains well. Joe who has recently started, hit the ground running and entertains with his quiz sessions and gets along with people very nicely, not forgetting Vicky for her sterling efforts, thanks you guys.

Esra the Thompson rep is excellent with her welcome meeting which is highly recommended and does not force the trips that are advertised to you down your throat. You can in fact pick up some deals from the ticket seller outside the hotel. A trip worth taking is on the boat "Eren 1" picking up at the harbour called "Lazy day" the guy on the boat who entertains you and does it well does an amazing back flip off the top deck of the boat into the sea.....don't try this at home kids!! Plus if you fancy a trip to Marmaris which you can see from the hotel it's around 15 minutes bus ride which you can catch outside the hotel on a frequent basis. Then you can catch a water taxi back, about 40 minutes back but much cooler. The bus is around 85p each (2.50 Turkish lira) single fare and around £3.40 each, 10 Turkish lira each on your return trip.

I can go on boring the socks off you with the experiences we had but in the end you are the ones making your choice. My partner Julie and I had a fantastic time there we made our choice and were not disappointed, despite some mixed revues that we read it's now up to you make your choice to live there for the next week or two.

Enjoy it if you go.

Quint and Julie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank C0rnishPixes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Reading the previous reviews I can relate to the lack of understanding on the reception desk - we had a very humourous conversation, which tickled us for the rest of the holiday. There is a statement in regards to dress code for the evening, which refers to wearing beach shorts/swim wear/bikini's etc. This notice didn't bother us as we both like to get out of our swim wear for dinner. I did hear from other guests that they were asked to go back and change but that didn't happen to us and my husband came down in shorts all week. Why would you wear trousers when it's 36oc?!
Esra was great! My husband had an ear infection after the flight in and she advised him, correctly, the process and organised taxi's etc efficiently for him. Thank You!
The pool wasn't an Olympic length pool but it was clean, plenty of sun beds and not busy as most of the guest were on the beach or just getting in the rays. The private beach was lovely. Sun beds were nicely spaced apart and just a quick hop, skip and jump from the bar. We had friends at the Aqua (5* hotel) and the sun beds there were far to close for my liking. The beach isn't as nice either.
Our room was clean, fresh towels and sheets each day (even though not necessary really) only downside was regards to the room fridge, which was warm. We asked the receptionist for advise and got lost in translation. I'm sure if we'd asked another receptionist or guest relations advisor they would have sorted it for us.
Food in the resturant was lovely, plenty of salad options and endless melon. I'm not a fussy eater but do like to eat healthily so the fish options where good for me. Chips & pasta are at hand for those who don't like to try other dishes. Aubergines are in many dishes so tough if you don't like them! Sweets were a lot to be desired as they seem to add gelatine into everything, but not having a dessert isn't such a bad thing.
I would come back to the Hotel again but not necessarily Icmeler, too much selling, GB bars, cheap gifts and not enough culture for us. It was 100% better than Marmaris, however.
I went for the Turkish Bath offer of 50% off. I got a Turkish Bath, facial, full body massage for £40. If you have the spare cash for a treat do go for it but make sure you take the massage oil off before you go back out to sun bathe. I was suffering the next day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Firstly let me start with Esra,the Thompson rep she is excellent and always available, also very knowledgeable and helpful if it wasn't for her our holiday wouldnt of been the same as there many issues with this hotel that need to be sorted out. Icmeler is a great resort has everything you could want outside your hotel,to the hotel and this is we're it goes wrong its only small things but when they add up it does put a downer on your holiday,rooms are nice and spacious but not cleaned to there best,the swimming pool was very small and after complaing about a spa pool which the paint was peeling off was removed and repainted,some of the staff at reception are very rude or speak or understand little English,a bug bear of mine is respect what your asked like,there are notices outside the restaurant and in the lifts stating no shorts, beachwear, sleeveless shirts in the restaurant. I assume this is only for evening meals.This is ignored by nearly all the of the customers,there is no meet and greet when the restaurant is opened,most of the staff are very friendly and if you face fits ie a blonde,you get the works drinks brought to your table and the flirting for free not what i like to see while eating.On a plus side hire a gazebo for the personal touch on the beach,the bar service at poolside and beach was very good ,they have a queueing system which seems better from reading reports before a free 4 all,have the a la carte in the restaurant you get a nice selection to choose from.To finish it was our first time visiting Turkey we would definitely go back but I'm sorry not to the Munamar Hotel.

Room Tip: Not 419 or any with a sea view( do not pay or you'll be dissapointed)as the entertainment is thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel on 26-27 July. Since we came from England by the agency of Thomson, we had great expectations about sun, sand, sea and the hotel. Icmeler is a great place to stay where you could taste local culture with some British blend. Sun, sand and sea-all of them were amazing apart from the hotel. We experienced a fire in the hotel which was horrible, As far as we were told it was just an electric point problem. There was a disgusting smell of burned cables through corridor of stage.
On the other hand, food was delicious, we love taste of Turkish food. Hotel staff, particularly Mr Tahsin who met us in lobby was so kind to us. But there is a lack of organisation and we think that there is no enough service staff. There were some delays when we ask for towels before we went to beach.
Overall, we would like to visit Turkey once more. We enjoyed the time we spent there, apart from this bad memory.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank FreeTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in Munamar Residence in August 2012, the hotel shares facilities with Munamar Beach hotel - so you have to walk for 5-7 min to get to the canteen or to the beach or to get drinks in the bar when it is +40. The minus: boring entertaintment in the evenings although convenient for people who go to Marmaris at night and then sleep on the beach.
There is no proper air conditioning neither in the canteen nor in the toilets on the ground floor. The air conditioner in our room was fixed on +18C and it didn't cool even 1/3 of the room, it was not pleasant to sleep all sweating. INo Wi Fi in most of the rooms, ok ithere is wi fi in the lobby but dissapers 2 meters away from the lobby. Very loud music from the pool (the hotel opposite) and from the cafes outside. The building is old and worn out, it is open planned and guesss what? It is as +40 as soon as you step out of your room to the corridor :-(( Why it is cool in the lobby and in the reception only? Yes, the staff is very helpful and the barman in Munamar Residence is a professional but it doesn't make the hotel even near 3 stars. The food in the canteen is no good - chicken and liver as the main meal and the same chicken or liver in the salads :-(( The locals (there wre many Turkish people staying) said that the desert was not good. I trusted the good reviews and wasted £822 for my holiday. I will go to Europe next time. My first and the last holiday in Turkey.
The hotel is good for elderly people - the beach is close to the hotel, plenty of sunbeds, the area is quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LV G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Icmeler hotels

Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First the moan; there are notices outside the restaurant and in the lifts stating no shorts, beachwear, slippers or sleeveless shirts in the restaurant. It does specify at dinner (on the notice in the lift). This is ignored by the majority of customers and staff who are at the door ignore this. Thomson staff also ignore the rule. Dinner should be an enjoyable experience at the end of the day, a time to relax. Unfortunately the dress of many, the manners of many make dinner like feeding time at the zoo. Guests; don't overload your plates then eat like an animal. It is not nice. There are also signs saying no smoking in the restaurant but ashtrays are provided! Gives a very mixed message!!!

Location is absolutely excellent, right on the beach. Always plenty of sunbeds no matter what time of day you went. We didnt use the pool so can't comment.

Room (333) was good, lovely view, nice size and comfortable, cleaned daily. Balcony small but adequate for what you need.

Staff are an asset. Generally helpful and friendly.

Drinks were readily available all day. Local brands but perfectly acceptable. There is a queuing system at the bar, ignored by some (eastern Europeans mainly). Sometimes the queue was a bit long, but not excessively so.

Entertainment is a bit repetitive, a resident duo (Undercovers) who appear several times a week. They do a variety of music. Also Adrian, a Geordie who also does a variety of music. Both like audience interaction.
Daily quiz at 4pm, no prizes but a bit of fun.

Esra, the Thompson rep is excellent and always available, also very knowledgeable.

Had a great time, a holiday is what you make it.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, it costs more but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iaatkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#2 of 77 in Icmeler
2,284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 77 in Icmeler
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#4 of 77 in Icmeler
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#23 of 77 in Icmeler
753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Munamar Beach Residence
Munamar Beach Residence
#61 of 77 in Icmeler
106 reviews
0.4 mi away
MARTI Resort de Luxe
MARTI Resort de Luxe
#16 of 77 in Icmeler
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munamar Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munamar Beach Hotel

Property: Munamar Beach Hotel
Address: Kayabal Cad. No:69, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#18 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Munamar Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Munamar Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munamar Hotel Icmeler

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing