We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MARTI Resort de Luxe
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Marti. The Hotel is in a great location and the scenery is absolutely wonderful. We upgraded to a seaview deluxe room which was very dark and the way the balconies are made we got very little sunshine in the room. The food in the main dining room was very repetitive and all the cooked meats were very overcooked and dried out. The food and staff in the central snack bar were awful, I think they found it to much trouble to serve you. We noticed on our first day that they didn't have a bottle opener and the chef would open the bottles by pressing them down on a stainless steel unit. On our last day two weeks later they still didn't have a bottle opener. Most of the waiters in the main restaurant were very helpful and polite. The relax pool was not relaxing as on the second week five or six children were constantly jumping in and out all day long. The beach is more shingle than sand with a huge stoney drop to get in or out of the water. This is our ninth trip to Turkey and to say that this is a Thomsons platinum five star hotel we were disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChannelIslandsBailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martiresortdeluxe, Guest Relations Manager at MARTI Resort de Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Matt ChannelIslandsBailey

First of all, as the guest relations department of Marti Resort Deluxe Hotel we want to thank you for your comment toward our address. We have red your response with a great care. Your comments always make us improve our quality to excellence.

In case of any assistance please feel free to connect us through our email: resort.gr@marti.com.tr

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,931 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked to go to Icmeler staying at the Marti Resort a couple of weeks before departure on 29 April (which was my birthday). At the time of booking we did not have the option to upgrade and we did not realise that the rooms did not have a bath - just a shower. We got in touch with Thomsons who sent an email to the hotel asking for an upgrade of the room.

Upon arrival (which was at 1.30 am on 30 April), we could not see much of the view as it was obviously dark but soon noticed that the air conditioning was not working. On Tuesday morning on our way to breakfast we asked the receptionist if we could upgrade our room (and offered to pay of course) and also explained that the air conditioning was not working. She was not very pleasant and said that the hotel was full and that we should ask again in a couple of days. She also said that the air conditioning (which was a central system) was being fixed and that it would be working "tomorrow". To cut a long story short "tomorrow" never came and as it was warm in the room, we had to leave the patio door wide open every night - the upgrade also never happened as the hotel was full.

The hotel is a lovely hotel and it could get to be a 4-5 star hotel if some the staff and management put their heart into it.

The food was ok - we went there half board - albeit a little repetetive - so we ate out a few times to get some atmosphere.

Upon our departure we had booked a private transfer to the airport. We checked out and the receptionist did not ask if we had enjoyed our stay or wished us a safe trip home - I think she got forgotten when personality was dished out. We waited outside for our car to turn up - it was late but not one of the staff came to us to enquire whether we were ok.

We have travelled to many places and I I must say that we have felt very let down in terms of customer service and hospitality. I appreciate that they were busy but they were very dismissive to the point of rudeness. I suppose you can't win them all!!

However that did not stop us from enjoying our holiday and loving Turkey on our first visit.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view - avoid Block 150 or you will be looking down at boiler rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolande_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martiresortdeluxe, Guest Relations Manager at MARTI Resort de Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Yolande_12

First of all, as the guest relations department of Marti Resort Deluxe Hotel we want to thank you for your comment toward our address. We have red your response with a great care. Your comments always make us improve our quality to excellence.

In case of any assistance please feel free to connect us through our email: resort.gr@marti.com.tr

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday at the Marti. We arrived towards the end of April so had a quiet first week, the service and food was fantastic although as you can imagine, the pool bar and Oriental bar wasn't open but it wasn't much of a problem. The second week was much livelier, it went from about 30 rooms to about 180 rooms filled but made it feel a lot more 'awake'. Being the youngest couple there by a good twenty years in our first week meant that we were constantly 'encouraged' to take part in nearly every activity going... everyday! There seemed to be more animation staff than bar/restaurant staff. They were all brilliant and the activities were fairly good although it would have been nice to be able to relax a little bit! (this was probably because we were the only people under 25 in the first week - other than a family of young teenagers). One person in the animation team stood out in particular, called Nastya who was easy to talk to and encouraged us to take part without forcing us as the others did (maybe just out of boredom). In the evening, we would often have one of the members of the animation team sit with us which was a bit awkward as they'd obviously been told to mingle with guests but most of the time sat there and didn't make much conversation. It was also sad to see that they only got 10 minutes to eat dinner at night, I thought one of them was going to pass out with the speed she had to eat!

Whilst on the subject of the animation, I'd recommend avoiding the 'Night Disco' - its very expensive. We went once as we had won a free ticket - tickets are normally 23 lira (£8ish) for a bus there and back. You are taken to a busy club and told you get discount. However, regardless of the drink, it's pretty much 17 lira for everything (£7ish) which can make it an expensive night. They are obviously benefit heavily on commission. We only got 4 drinks and spend nearly £40 for the night! The older 'managers'/'team leaders' stood nearby as if waiting for you to keep buying drinks. They sold tickets earlier in the night by getting the nice girls in the animation team to sell tickets promising they would be there which people fell for and it seemed to be a trip for you to give all your hard earned cash away - it felt like you was conned as other bars had buy one get one free on drinks (particularly as it was out of season) and they cost less than one drink on the 'Disco trip'.

Service at the hotel and food variety dipped a little in the last week and there was one or two very miserable staff in the snack bar - they would not smile once and looked as if they were annoyed you was there. Everyone else was brilliant. The Jewellery shop and the Spa in particular were great. Bhecet and Oner were fantastic and the only people not to try and force you to buy something (unlike the hairdressers, photographer and spa sales person).

Rooms are fantastic, we didn't get the upgrades but went all inclusive and got a bit of the pool in the view from the balcony but on holiday, you don't really sit in your room anyway. The room was big and had a free mini bar (all inclusive only) which was filled after a few days, every day. Pools were also really nice. The hotel was clean and the harpist at breakfast and pianist at night added a touch more class to the hotel. The bar in the reception area was the only area open at night but the old guy who worked behind it was great, we tipped him a bit every few nights and he added the dressings to cocktails and pritoitised our service (which was good when it was busy).

Overall, a fantastic hotel. Although it had weak entertainment at night I think it will pick up during the main season with shows promised such as Grease and Chicago performed by the animation team. Day times were good and would recommend it for couples and families (animation team are great with kids). The food gets a little bland after a week but I would highly recommend the Turkish a le carte! It was brilliant and the waiter is brilliant (short guy with spikey hair!)

Hope to return next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martiresortdeluxe, Guest Relations Manager at MARTI Resort de Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Daniel M,

First of all, as the guest relations department of Marti Resort Deluxe Hotel we want to thank you for your comment toward our address. Your comments always make us improve our quality to excellence.

In case of any assistance please feel free to connect us through our email: resort.gr@marti.com.tr

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A really lovely hotel in a beautiful setting overlooking the sea against a backdrop of mountains. The hotel is nice and clean and has a good atmosphere. Plenty of choice for food and usually something to tempt your appetite. We found that the desserts were all a bit too sweet by the end of two weeks and welcomed the fresh strawberries that appeared on the last few days. No bacon at breakfast although there was some on our last day. The first week was nice and restful, but the hotel got busier and busier as the season started, the staff seemed to be rushing around like mad trying to serve everyone. They were all really friendly and helpful and couldn't have been nicer.
The pool area is beautiful and there were plenty of sun beds. The hotel policy is that guests can't reserve sun beds before 8.30 am, although some guests were ignoring this. The bar near to the beach wasn't open but was being prepared just as we left. The animation team try hard to get guests involved in the daytime activities and there is plenty going on throughout the day if you want to join in. We were more interested in relaxing by the pool although at times the loud 'boom boom' music throughout the day spoilt the peace a bit. Would have been nice to have a few quiet periods. There are plenty of sun beds on the beach in front of the hotel although cooler than by the pool.

The sea view room was worth paying extra for as the view was amazing. It got quite hot at night and there were a couple of times when we couldn't open the patio doors because of the very loud music below. I guess that the air conditioning will be on soon.

Overall, we had a really good holiday and would go back as this is a lovely hotel. Trips to Ephusus and the Dalayan riverboat were brilliant and we saw turtles on Turtle beach. You can take water taxis to Marmaris as well as boat trips.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martiresortdeluxe, Guest Relations Manager at MARTI Resort de Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Jan C

First of all, as the guest relations department of Marti Resort Deluxe Hotel we want to thank you for your comment toward our address. We have red your response with a great care. Your comments always make us improve our quality to excellence.

In case of any assistance please feel free to connect us through our email: resort.gr@marti.com.tr

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

First time in Turkey and my review may be about the place(Icmeler) rather than just the hotel so those who have not been there will know what to expect .The Hotel itself has the most beautiful setting I have ever seen and is more like being set in a lake rather than by the sea.The views are spectacular and it is worth the extra to get a room with a sea view .Think of Sinbad or Jason and The Argonauts.It is ideal for people with disabilities as it leads directly on to the promenade which goes all the way to Marmaris. The hotel rooms are very comfortable but while we were there the air condition in our room struggled to keep up with the heat(same in all rooms I believe).Hotel is fine though-lovely and cool in lobby etc. Turkish Barber was fantastic as were all facilities. Staff are wonderful too and friendly.The display and range of food can not be faulted and there is a wide variety.Turkish night was special as staff got dressed in traditional costume.
Now the downside. If not all inclusive you will be pestered and fawned over in an attempt to sell you drinks-this would not happen in 5 star here.The serving staff in the restaurant are mixture-some very helpful others wont try to find you a table.You are often left to your own devices.many of the waiters have sparse English and are efficient at getting your wine order wrong meaning you will get more than you want(bottle of wine with 2empty glasses we got a bottle plus 2 full glasses -as the glasses are almost price of bottle and they pretend they don't understand this comes expensive. I had same rose 3 nights then 4th night gave me one which was almost double price again! Pointless trying to change it!
Finally if you don't like being pestered walking past cafes /shops /bars don't go to Turkey. If you are an easy touch you have had it! They remember you if you go and drag you in every time you pass. Disabled people who need scooter e mail Marmaris Rentals before you go.Taxi Boat is great.
Ps. Temperature during day was 35! Too HOT!

Room Tip: pay extra and get sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal Odorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martiresortdeluxe, Guest Relations Manager at MARTI Resort de Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Mal Odorous

First of all, as the guest relations department of Marti Resort Deluxe Hotel we want to thank you for your comment toward our address. We have red your response with a great care. Your comments always make us improve our quality to excellence.

In case of any assistance please feel free to connect us through our email: resort.gr@marti.com.tr

Best Wishes,
Guest Relations Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in an excellent position over looking the sea, and the Hotel have beds free of charge on the beach in front of the Hotel. It was wonderful to sit on the terrace overlooking he sea to have meals. The gardens where a joy and the pool areas very nice. It was early season and we had two days of storms but the indoor pool was great to sit by and the pool warm to swim ( the outdoor pool was very cold). The hotel was clean with fresh flowers everywhere which was a very nice touch. The food was very good with plenty of choice, my Sister is allergic to garlic and the chefs where fantastic with her, they would go round each night with her to ensure she knew what she cold and could not eat. On a couple of nights they even cooked something special for her. All the staff where very friendly and very professional, everyone had a smile for you and nothing was to much trouble. During breakfast some mornings a Harpist played in the dining room she was very good, there was a Piano player in the bar at night and he was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed this Hotel, the only downside was the Animation team, they seemed fine with the Children but one night they walked through the bar shouting 'showtime' the showtime consisted of 1 game of bingo. Another night they played music from Grease and mimed to it, half of them did not know the words and only a couple knew the dance steps, another night it was a picture quiz, they showed a picture and just said shout out if you know where it is. We spoke to a Manager who told us it would get better in May unfortunately we where there in April. We walked to Marmaris a couple of days and it was a nice walk along the front, and the local bus ran frequently.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nan5553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martiresortdeluxe, Guest Relations Manager at MARTI Resort de Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear nan5553,

Thank you once again for spending you precious time and writing this review about our Hotel. Be sure that as a guest relations department we are gonna share your comment with all our MARTI team. The animation, now they all know the words of Greece and dancing it as a professional. For getting to this point we have gave them trainings and educations in animation team.

As the manager of guest relations, i can easily tell you that you are not gonna such downsides again.

For any kind of assistance feel free to connect us through our email address: resort.gr@marti.com.tr

Sicerely,
Guest Relations Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just had two fantastic weeks at one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in! Location, facilities, bedrooms, food, drink quality, pools etc are what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. What made the difference was the professionalism,friendliness and attention to detail of the staff and management, by day two everyone knew my name!! The jewellers offers a fantastic service, April my masseuse in the Life Spa was incredible and the young man who runs the late night bar is my new best friend, some nights we laughed till we cried. The Animation Team are the best set of young people I have ever met, memories of our nights out in Marmaris will stay with me forever!!! Staying here was an incredible experience, so good in fact I want a job here!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peterwright_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martiresortdeluxe, Guest Relations Manager at MARTI Resort de Luxe, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Peterwright_13,

Thank you once again for your tremendous comment toward our address. As the guest relations department we are gonna share your comment with all our MARTI team.

Cordially,

Guest Relations Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#3 of 77 in Icmeler
2,477 reviews
1.3 mi away
LABRANDA Mares Marmaris
0.4 mi away
Elite World Marmaris Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Julian Forest Suites
Julian Forest Suites
#6 of 77 in Icmeler
1,758 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#24 of 77 in Icmeler
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#32 of 77 in Icmeler
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MARTI Resort de Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MARTI Resort de Luxe

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. 78. Sok. No:2, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Icmeler
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#9 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#9 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#24 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#30 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range: $64 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MARTI Resort de Luxe 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Marmaris, İçmeler is a holiday resort and one of the most important attraction spots in the world, like a heaven on earth. Established in 1967 as Turkey’s first resort hotel, Martı Resort promises an unforgettable vacation in İçmeler, a natural and enthralling resort, which provides its guests health, tranquility and energy for life for thousands of years with its healing water sources. With traces of traditional Muğla villages, Martı Resort is an integral part of the local culture. Harmony of stone and wood accompany the unique synergy of the sea and the pine trees that surround it. Following its renovation in 2013, the hotel improved for the better as it combined Muğla’s traditions with modern and utmost quality designs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your MARTI Resort de Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marti Resort De Luxe Hotel Icmeler
Marti Hotel De Luxe
Marti Resort Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing