We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money, book elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Save your money, book elsewhere!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Awful, awful holiday. Frequently given chipped plates and glasses, dirty cutlery and tables being reset in dining hall but table cloths not changed, meaning you get other people's splodges on table. Bedding wasn't changed once during 12 day stay - hotel are trying to blame that on us having Do Not Disturb sign up, but what happened the other 9 days?! We had the awful luck of having a pair of someone else's underwear on the the roof below our balcony, along with many, many cigarette ends and bits of debris. Wifi is awful. Black between the tiles of the pool. All inclusive doesn't actually include everything - freshly squeezed OJ at breakfast for example. Staff, particularly the reception staff, can be quite rude and ignore you. My husband fell coming out the shower and the maintenance manager thought it appropriate to shout at him in Turkish rather than ask if he was ok. Paid the small amount of damage repair, yet received a "reminder" three days later under our door, had to take receipt down to prove we had paid! It's clear one hand doesn't know what the other is doing here.

It's sold by Jet2 as a four star plus and is a Turkish five star, but don't let that fool you. I've been in better three stars. Save your money and book somewhere that's worth your hard earned dosh.

Definitely don't book with Jet2 to go here - they don't want to know if you have a complaint. They are low cost holidays for a reason...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    434
    246
    123
    92
See reviews for
740
486
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

I hate to moan, I really do, but we did not enjoy this hotel at all.
We arrived at tea time and to begin with everything looked good. Check in was fine and the reception area looked good. We were taken to our "villa" on a golf cart driven by a very friendly and chatty member of staff. Then the alarm bells started to ring.
Alarm bell no.1.
The apartment was poorly maintained and very, very basic although it seemed clean enough at first.
Alarm bell no.2
The food was absolutely awful. I'm quite a fussy eater but I can always find something I like but not here. My wife on the other hand can eat almost anything but not here.
Alarm bell no.3
The next day we went into Icmeler and at a café the waiter asked where we were staying. When we told him he burst out laughing and said he felt sorry for us for staying there. My wife and I just looked at each other wondering what we had done.
Over the 2 weeks we tried the restaurant 4 more times, still awful.
The staff looked scared to be working there. Some were helpful most were not.
If you need/want/have to go to this hotel get an apartment in the main building. I was told they were good. The bit we were in, the terraced villas at the other side of the swimming pool from the main building, should be knocked down and started again.
If you have walking difficulties you shouldn't go here, too hilly. If you like a beach don't go here, there isn't one.
Believe it or not, we still had a good holiday because we love Icmeler and only used the hotel to sleep in.
Turned out to be a very expensive self catering holiday.
Stuart and Margaret from Alexandria.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Buchinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We booked this hotel through On the Beach,as we where already in Turkey in an apartment,as soon as we entered the doors we were met by some of the most helpful staff ever,
There were 7 of us 4 Adults and 3 children aged 7-9-14 and not once were they bored.
The fixtures were modern,rooms very spacious,and also very clean.
The food was fantastic and never ending,drinks were plentiful,there are bars on the beach,jetties,ground floor,first floor as well,
The hotel would be great for disabled/wheelchair users as well,as there is a lift that takes u down to the beach.
We have booked again for May. 2014

Room Tip: Main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank scjones_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I had a beautiful holiday in Marmaris for 10days, which was made even more enjoyable by an excelleny hotel. Straight from the start service, staff, entertainment was very good. Great variety of food available every night. I was on holiday with my mum and 2 daughters, who enjoyed it just as much. Pools were clean with plenty of space. Slides were great fun. I knew before going that excertions would be cheaper from outside and having a good haggle would pay off! I guess having my mum with me was worth while as she loves to haggle!! Overall hotel was clean and tidy. Everyone had a smile on their face which is always a good thing.

As it was end of season, we managed to pick some good bargains and Marmaris town as well as Icmeler was fairly quiet.

Transfers to and from the hotel were on time and of a good standard.

i would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rihela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

First trip to Turkey and we will definitely go back. We arrived fairly late with two teenage girls, the staff where friendly and efficient. I wouldn’t say the rooms where 5* standard but good enough, 4th floor with balcony sea view, very quiet at night. The hotel was spotlessly clean, we went All Inclusive and the standard and variety of food did not disappoint a large selection each night. Great facilities, 3 swimming pools, gym and spa. Fantastic views in a great setting and location, outside of the hustle and bustle of Marmaris. The waiters where not over familiar with the girls, which we had been lead to believe as a potential problem. All in all the staff where friendly but professional. Holiday rep ripped us off on the trips, would encourage you to shop around (we were charged £19 each for a boat trip which we could have got for £8)
Visit the markets but be prepared to barter, great fun but you will be hassled (especially if you have teenage girls with you). If you have an All Inclusive band turn it around so they can’t see which hotel you are staying at, if they see its 5* we were told they will not discount as much. As we where there at the end of the season you can find some real deals, even the water sports guy was happy to negotiate.
The only negative I could say is the transfer from the airport. We landed fairly late and had booked a coach transfer. Half way to our hotel the coach pulled into an all night shop come cafe where they charged you even to use the toilets. It delayed the journey by around half an hour, during the day this would not have been too bad but at that time of night you just want to book into your destination. Next time it’s a taxi all the way.
This really was a fantastic holiday at a great hotel and location. We would highly recommend and can’t wait to go back next year

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked this holiday as a last minute deal and on a whim. It wasn't till we got home and checked Trip advisor were we slightly worried.

Let me start by saying we booked at the end of the season so we knew it would be a quiet holiday and we did enjoy our time there as it was just what we wanted.

We flew with Jet2 as that who the holiday was sold through, in the brochure it is billed as a "Luxe" holiday which is supposed to be one of their higher end resorts/hotels.

The flight was good and so was the transfer.

When we got to the hotel at 23:00 we were checked in relatively quickly it was at this time that we were told that we were in the main hotel and not in the Villa's which we were grateful for after reading some of the reviews. There was no welcome drinks or food offered when we arrived for either us or the kids. We were put in two interconnecting rooms which were both very clean with the kids in the twin room next door on the 3rd floor facing Marmaris, we were OK with this as it still gave us the privacy from the kids. We got dressing gowns and slippers but only on the third day. also the rooms could benefit from Tea and Coffee making facilities for those of us that like to have a brew in the morning before having to get dressed to go and get one from the restaurant. The hairdryers were the type that's fitted to the wall and didn't have much power behind it.
We went to breakfast and immediately noticed that there was no cereal so you had the normal choice of cold continental food as well as the hot choices. Our youngest child (9) ended up just having toast and chocolate spread for every day we were there and my wife had to settle with toast and honey. There were two toasting machines but the bread had to go through 3 times before even looking toasted which wasn't too much of a drama when were were there but may be a problem during peak season. Lunch wasn't much better there were plenty of choices but mainly luke warm and after the second day we realized that it was the same choices as the day before.
We ate some lunches at the Pizzeria this food was OK and hot as its cooked to order (apart from the soup/chips and salads), however this isn't a buffet service its a waiter service system with limited seating again may prove to be frustrating during peak season.

We met the Jet2 rep the day after we arrived for our welcome meeting and he gave us all loads of useful information including some of the excursions that were on offer. We did plan to go to the ruins at Ephesus but when we found out that the pick up time was 06:00 with a 3 hour drive and returning by 19:00 we decided against it. However we did walk to the market at Icmeler which is an approximate 40 min walk.

We had a couple of evening meals at their other restaurants which have to be pre-booked, the pizzeria was good and the wine kept coming till we left. However the food at the Turkish restaurant was fatty specially the chicken dish and was quite tasteless. we weren't even given a menu to decide what we wanted we were basically told "Chicken or Lamb" even the starter was just given to us with their selection of bread and dips, when I asked what the dips were I was told "Spicy, Med Spicy and Not Spicy". Because the lighting was so bad (candle lit) we struggled to see if the food was even cooked through properly also we got the feeling that they were waiting for more guests to arrive before they got the main courses out. We ended up eating out quite a lot in Marmaris and found a lovely restaurant on the Marina called Gusto were they served us a proper Turkish Kebab mixed grill for 39TYL each and Pizzas for the kids.

The bars at the hotel were OK but there was no Diet Coke for mixers, I asked for a kids cocktail after looking at me confused we ended up with Sprite a dash of Orange and a splash of what looked like Blue Bols.

There was no entertainment as such, there was a singing duet which were in the Lobby Bar but the volume was so loud that it was uncomfortable to listen to and wasn't geared at younger people. There was a DJ that came in on one night and that made life at the Sultan bar a bit more lively.

The pool area was good and was quiet whilst we were there (end of season) and we genuinely felt like we had the pool to ourselves specially the last 2 days (as the hotel got emptier). The ice cream bar had very little choice, we think that this was cause of the end of season and they just weren't restocking it. We were then shocked to see them dismantling it and packing the whole thing away even though we still had 2 days left to run on our holiday, this was a disappointment for the kids mainly.

Towards the end of our stay the hotel staff were literally packing everything away round us which made us as holiday makers feel uncomfortable and that we were in the way, surely this should be done when there are no guests around! When we ate in the main restaurant on the last day it was like eating in the hotel staff canteen as there were more staff eating than there was guests.

The staff seemed OK at the start of the week but we quickly noticed that they were bored and sometimes un-helpful, even when we asked for a late check out were were told that we would have to pay (this wasn't a prob as we expected it) but we were asked which room we wanted to keep, we couldn't keep both rooms even though it was classed as a family room. Then the room key we kept out was deactivated so had to get that re-done.

Having said that we had a very nice relaxing holiday as we went just for the winter sun and to relax, the rooms we were in were clean and tidy and they were cleaned everyday. However we think that during the summer season it may be a different story with limited sun loungers; pool side lounging may be a problem.

If you go to the market at Icmeler or the main bazaar in Marmaris for your "genuine fakes" then stand by to run the gauntlet from shop to shop. There are some good bargains to be had but remember they're not real and the clothing shrinks quickly as I found out :)

We have been on holiday to Turkey before and have been spoiled rotten at the other 4 Star hotel we were at so we have based our review on that experience.

Room Tip: Take your own cereals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradford_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was our 1st trip to Turkey and it won't be our last. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, we had a great time.

We arrived at 1.30am, reception had us checked in and the porter had us up to our room in about 10mins.

The location is bang in the middle of Marmaris and Icemeler (10mins either way, £7 in a taxi), so you can enjoy the peaceful surroundings of the hotel or take on the hustle and bustle of 2 busy towns.

Our rooms were very spacious and clean (cleaned daily, with new towels), excellent sea views (with balconies). Each room had a safety deposit box (FoC) and a fridge. you read about people 'moaning' that the complimentary bottles of water weren't replenished, for gods sake they were free on any bar, take them up yourself!!!

Being the end of the season, we were quite lucky with the amount of holiday makers in the hotel, no need for us to rush to the dining hall, but you could imagine the congestion at the height of the season, although there was loads of space. Saying that, there are plenty of 'watering holes & restaurants' that you can use.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Jesus at the Spa.

The pool was always clean, with 2 lifeguards on duty, 1 on main pool and 1 on the slides.

Evening entertainment wasn't up to much but we made our own fun with the great people we met.

The views from the Hotel lobbies/balconies were out of this world, overlooking the Med, and we had a perfect week of weather.

One excursion that is a must is the boat trip, but be careful to get an all inclusive deal. We paid £10 / adult (kids free), pick up from Hotel to Marmaris and drop of included, great fun diving off the boat into the sea.

Overall, we had an excellent time and can't wait to go back for some more fun and haggling x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mr51afs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icmeler
1.5 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#2 of 77 in Icmeler
2,273 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marmaris Park Hotel
Marmaris Park Hotel
#12 of 77 in Icmeler
1,077 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 77 in Icmeler
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#14 of 234 in Marmaris
1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Marmaris Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Labranda Mares Marmaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Labranda Mares Marmaris

Property: Labranda Mares Marmaris
Address: Icmeler Mah. Ataturk Cad. No: 64, Icmeler 48700, Turkey (Formerly Grand Yazıcı Club Marmaris Palace)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#5 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#32 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Labranda Mares Marmaris 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as Grand Yazici Mares, this 440-room, all-inclusive resort is ideally located on the beach within the pine woods of Içmeler, Pamucak and in close proximity to Marmaris center. With a wide range of recreational facilities including, 4 swimming pools, a tennis club, kids activities, and water sports, LABRANDA Mares Marmaris is an ideal resort for families and couples alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Labranda Mares Marmaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mares Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing