We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress Free Break in the Sun”
Review of Hotel Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Aqua
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Deserving of 5* rating! The staff are friendly and helpful, as are the Turkish people in Icmeler. Everything is well organized and spotlessly clean. We asked for a sea view room, which we nearly got. All rooms, apart from suites, are on the side of the hotel. You can see the sea from the balcony. Personally I wouldn't bother. The gardens are much more attractive, so ask for a pool facing room. Rooms with odd numbers get the sun in the morning and most of the day. We had 149 and it was great, sun and a good view. The location is excellent, from the gardens you step over a communal pathway and you're on the beach. From the hotel, a minutes walk and you're in the shopping and restaurant/bar area. So no need for taxis! The hotel beach (Grit /shingles- no good for sand castles) is clean with good access to the water, which has blue-flag rating for cleanliness.
The only negative aspect of the hotel was the health centre and indoor pool, which was advertised as heated. My wife used the pool which was very cold, and disturbingly was left in the pool after closing time (7pm). There was no clock and no-one from the staff thought to check if anyone was left in the pool before locking the doors. This was reported, and the management apologized. This area of the hotel is not actually owned by the hotel it appears to be a separate franchise!
The food we thought was very good and plenty of it!
We start the day with breakfast, cooked or cold.
Then there is a late breakfast- for late risers.
Then there's lunch-hot and cold.
After that -snacks, and later tea and ice cream.
Evening meal. again plenty of choice- meats, fish, salads and vegetables, and deserts, generally light and typically Greek and Turkish.
And to finish off- there's late night soup.
We heard people moan about the food. These people should not go to Turkey or anywhere foreign! They really should stick to Brighton or Skegness!
One comment from our far northern cousins-" ...we really prefer prawn cocktails and smoked salmon and thick juicy rump steaks.." As I said, these people should not be in Turkey. They're an embarrassment!!
The bedrooms themselves were kept spotless. The en-suite was rather tired and in need of new fittings. But everything worked!! We were kept supplied with clean towels and soaps etc. The beds were great, unless you're a honeymooner! We asked for double bed, we got two singles pushed together with single bedding. It wasn't a problem, it was to hot!!!.
We would recommend this hotel to any one, young and old. We went last week in September, it was hot!! 34deg. So beware!!
Effeses- the ancient ruin. Only for the very keen archaeologist and people who enjoy looking at lumps of rock without knowing why. It was hot, crowded, noisy and about 3.5hrs from the resort by coach. Consider it very carefully. You can always buy the video.
Turunc- a nearby resort is worth a boat ride for 7.5 TL. Small place, nice beach, very clean water and nice place to eat.
I would recommend going 'all inclusive'. Apart from food, you get most of your drinks free ( They normally tell you if it's not included) Also free mattresses for sunloungers.
Never mind the 'Whinging-Brits', go and enjoy it.

Tony and Claire

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,862 - 1,868 of 2,477 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2009

We had a great two week stay at the Aqua Hotel, we took our 16 and 22 year old sons and there were others similar ages there so they all went nightclubing to Eastenders until the early hours. Always plenty of choice of food throughout the day, fab pool area although the second week of the holiday there were regular holiday guest that arrived and were down with their towells at 6.30am which we did not have the first week and we found out near the end of the holiday that if you gave the pool attendant a tip he would put towells out for you!!! The evening entertainment could have been better. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you, will be going back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennykinsWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

This was our first time to Turkey and I am so pleased we chose the Hotel Aqua in Icmeler as it was perfect for gently breaking us in to the Turkish culture. We stayed all inclusive from 21st Sept to 28th Sept 09, booked online with Thomas Cook (Manos) and everything went smoothly from start to finish. I emailed the hotel a couple of months before our stay asking if they could provide us with a pool/beach view room on a higher level, they replied to say they would do their best to fulfill our request and luckily for us, our request was honoured on our arrival as our room was spot on.
The way this hotel is set up is just perfect - central, by the beach, sizeable pool, lovely gardens and a delightful spacious interior. On arrival you're cases are taken by the 'bellboy' to your room - you are given an wrist band to wear for both half board and all-inclusive (which you must wear as the staff do look to see if you are wearing them when you are being served) - you are provided with cards to exchange for towels and an Aqua credit card should you wish to add things to your bill (which we didn't use). The key for the security box in your room is free so best to ask for it when you check in.
The Aqua is more of a 4* and, like many of other reviews, I agree that the food choice was rather repetative and could have consisted of a more varied choice but we still enjoyed what was on offer. (without any tummy upsets at all). We didn't have kids with us but did note that the food here was not really made with children in mind, no seperate kiddies food area etc. You won't get bacon at breakfast, but ample of fried & scrambled eggs/omelette/sausage/beans/cereal/breads etc.. to choose from.
We did find the service in the restaurants a bit slow at times, but this never really caused us a problem and we always managed to get a table quite quickly.
We had room 359 and size wise it was roomy with a lovely balcony view of the hotel gardens, pool and the sea in the distance. We had loads of storage space, plenty of electric sockets, great air conditioning, free mini-bar (only stocked up once on arrival and you have to pay extra if you want it filled up again), tea/coffee/kettle, shampoo/conditioner/soap/cotton buds etc... The bath was a downside though as it was tiny, I am only 5ft 3ins and I couldn't lie down in it and it was a bit of squash getting in and out of it. Maids cleaned our room and made the beds every day and they were very friendly.
The pool and gardens areas were very pleasant and we managed to get a couple of sunbeds at the pool without any problems at about 9am but they did fill up quickly. The beach was much better for grabbing a sunbed after 9am and equally as good. Was great having towels provided, saved space/weight in the suitcases so I would suggest you don't take any with you.
The hotel entertainment was not good (terrible at times) and it is the hotel's biggest let down - but we didn't let this bother us as we went out every night after dinner for a stroll or a drink in a bar, then we only caught the last 15 to 30mins or so of their shows whilst making the most of our all-inclusive drinks before midnight.
Icmeler itself is a charming & pretty resort and it was made even better for us by staying at the Aqua. We walked into Marmaris along the beach front promenade which took a good hour and a half to two hours, then got a relaxing taxi boat ride back which was well worth every penny to rest our tired legs!!
I would hope to return to Icmeler in years to come and I would most certainly stay at the Aqua again and all in all our holiday experience was a 'Turkish Delight' !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LezHunta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I stayed here with my two daughters and was also joined by my sister and her daughter.

The staff were very friendly and worked tirelessly. The food was excellent, and the location had it all. Boat trips taken straight from the beach to a variety of locations. A lovely clean and scenic beach, a short walk to the canal area with all the lovely fake designer boutiques. Also the entertainment was a short stroll away where the bar staff provided amazing entertainment such as Michael Jackson impersonators and sexy dancers. It was basically a single woman's heaven and the young daughters enjoyed it too. Best of all the hotel had a predominance of British people who in our case were exceptionally friendly. The view from our window was to die for, though I know that some other rooms were not so lucky. Only downside was the evening entertainment - though the animation team were excellent at getting everyone involved. Guess where we are going again next year!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank Katrebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I went for my September week in the Hotel Aqua armed with Tripadvisor reviews, both positive and negative. My experience was mixed. Hotel Aqua is a fine hotel in a prime seafront location. Many hotel facilities, particularly physical infrastructure make the 5* grade and some services fall short of the expected standard.

Public areas 9/10, the gardens, reception and Atrium Bar outstanding. The beach is great albeit sunbeds are a little too tightly packed.
Room 7/10. The room space, fixtures and fittings were good. Cleaning excellent. A functional but tiny bathroom pulls the score down. The best view from standard rooms is 3rd and 4th floor pool view.
Food 7/10. The hot dishes featured a variety of meats, rice, pasta and vegetables. No vegetarian hot main courses. Deep fried food featured at all meals and very little Turkish food to sample. Lunch and dinner salad bars are exceptional however, as reported elsewhere, repetitive.
Drinks 5/10. The house wines and machine coffee are very poor for a hotel of this standard. Try the Turkish tea instead. The local beer EFES is fine.
Staff 7/10. Dining room waiters appear disinterested and have perfected the 1,000 yard stare, unless you happen to be female. The bar staff were excellent, Ferdi (aka Elvis) a gem.
VFM 9/10. In the current economic environment this factor carries particular weight.

Overall I would recommend Hotel Aqua, the All-Inclusive concept as in other Turkish resorts, somewhat different to the more mature Costa's.

Icmeler is a fine compact resort, way superior to the sprawl of neighbouring Marmaris and will appeal to mature couples. The fact that many retail outlets and bars post "No Hassle" signs is evidence enough that it remains a problem. Retailers would probably sell more goods if they allowed shoppers to browse in peace. Similarly, restaurant touts are very off-putting. I found the general prices for food, drinks and excursions very reasonable.

IMO the top Tripadvisor tip for the holiday was private taxi transfers from Dalaman airport. Eighty minutes from arrivals to hotel reception. £40 each way for exclusive TAKSI and £10 each for shared 8-seater mini-bus. The coach transfer took three and a half hours.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Reading prevoius reviews, I agree with most of what the_oklanders have said but a few points I disagree with,the evening entertainment for a Turkish 5* but should be at best 4*was shocking to be honest.The kids club entertainment still carried on even when there were no kids.The animation team were at best average,but fantastic people,very friendly,I asked them why they carried on doing the "kids club" thing when none were around They told me they had to be seen doing something even though they were struggling to entertain.The Robin Hood sketch I thought was a comedy act apparantly wasnt!! all in all the impression I got was they couldnt wait for the end of the season.

In the 14 days we spent at the Aqua we had 3 Turkish nights when they had a band playing in the restaurant so loud you couldnt hear what other guests were saying.Other nights there were other musicians playing too still quite loud, not the ambience required for a restaurant. One night there was a soup called Wedding soup..(your guess is good as mine) looked like chicken soup but whiter,another cracker was tomato and mushroom soup!!
At breakfast time there were cooked meats on offer ,but none at lunch to go with your "cheese only" salad.Meat balls and chicken/turkey on offer at lunch with chips most days.We have been on numerous all inclusive holidays and this was the first not to have show cooking ie carved meats from a joint.We all were fed up with meat balls,kebab,or chicken/turkey with very nearly the same sauce every night.

We too went to the Loveboat restaurant around the corner from the Aqua and it was first class, a welcome change from the food served in the hotel.The Sports bar joining the Loveboat was a great place to chill too with the barstaff entertaining the customers. The Irish bar was a good source of entertaiment too.

The beer in the hotel was Efes on draught was so gassy if you drank it all night you would pop!! The local gin an vodka was ok but spoiled by below average tonic!!

We went to the Turkish baths in Maramaris boked through Jenk the Thomson rep (who was lovely) which was very good but they try to get you to have more and more extras ie honey facials,different types of massages..beware a cheap trip turns out expensive.The mud baths were brill too incorporating a trip to see the tombs by boat and turtle beach where we saw a turtle feeding on a blue crab.The jeep safari is a must up,in the mountains seeing spectacular scenery,followed by a superb water fight with the other 2 jeeps in our convoy.

I must give a mention to George the pool attendant/lifeguard, he is a star,If you couldnt see a sunbed ,he would get one for you!!never stops cleaning ,tidying,nothing too much trouble for him.

In my opinion the hotel does alot right,ie the rooms,cleanliness,staff,but the things they do wrong spoils it....get the entertaiment right and the restaurant and this would be the jewel in Thomsons Turkey experience's crown.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ftumptch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

As someone who stayed in all-include 5 star hotels in Turkey many times, I totally recommend hotel Aqua. The staff was great, food was good and different every day (and most important - vegtebales were fresh!). We could always find sunbeds at the beach or pool, the beach was always clean, location was wonderful - private but 5 minutes walk from everything the village has to offer. the rooms were standard, not unique but clean and tidy.
Not too many small children, there were some pool games twice a day but it was in good taste and not too loud so it didnt bother everyone like in other hotels.
The seaside in Marmaris itself is AWFUL, but in icmeler is GREAT, and you can enjoy Marmaris if you take a taxi which is quite cheap, and not have to stay there the whole time.
The hotel is not fancy, so if you're looking for beautiful corridors and rooms you'll be disappointed. It is a nice, quiet, welcoming hotel which is great for relaxing and if you want to keep yourself busy and dont need constant entertainment. and the view, the bay, is great!
Whoever writes that it should be a 4 star hotel hasnt been to Turkey. You should compare it to the rest of the hotels and the prices. again, not fancy, the staff usually will not know english very well, but they will do their best to give you what you want.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikshaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.2 mi away
Elite World Marmaris Hotel
1.5 mi away
LABRANDA Mares Marmaris
LABRANDA Mares Marmaris
#10 of 77 in Icmeler
1,989 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#31 of 77 in Icmeler
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Julian Forest Suites
Julian Forest Suites
#6 of 77 in Icmeler
1,758 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#23 of 77 in Icmeler
817 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Turban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua

Address: Icmeler Mahallesi Cumhuriyet Caddesi Sahil Sokak No:27, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#1 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
#1 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
#2 Family Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range: $135 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Aqua 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Hotel Aqua is nicely situated on the South Western tip of Turkey, where the Mediterranean and Aegean seas meet. Hotel Aqua is located only 7 kilometers from Marmaris City Center and 110 kilometers from Dalaman Airport. This unbeatable beachfront location provides proximity to shopping, night life, restaurant and bars as well as fantastic excursions which Icmeler generously offers. Comfortable rooms, exquisite culinary experiences, luxurious Spa and Wellness centre, combined with spectacular views and unparalleled service, will guarantee a perfect stay and unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Icmeler Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing