We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Hotel Aqua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aqua
Ranked #3 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Got to agree with the last reviewer as we felt the same.
Lots of people on here seem to rave about the waiters, don't know why all they do is top up your glass every now and then. Food was reasonably good, with a broad choice available but we only stayed for 5 days so any longer and it might be a bit repetitive. The milk was off one morning and even though I showed the waiter it slowly separating in my coffee cup into thick blobs, he just returned with the same milk and couldn't understand the problem.
Tried the spa after being approached on day one, my wife ended up with the trainee who wasn't great and god knows what they done to my foot but I could barely put any pressure on my heel for five days after!
Rooms were fine and mini bar top up was a nice touch.
We left our towel cards at the towel collection point on our last day assuming we won't need them only to be told on departure we were to be charged 15euros per card for not returning them to reception! A quick walk back to the spa to ask for two towel cards which we then gave to reception solved the problem, don't know why they didn't just tell us to go and get the cards back instead of threatening to charge us.
No sun beds around the pool unless you were prepared to rush down there at the crack of dawn along with the other selfish losers who then didn't return until late morning but that's not the hotels fault although that could be addressed. Beach was good and we always managed to find a bed here away from the sad people around the pool.
Overall the hotel was fine, certainly not as great as some people make out and I'm in no rush to return. There are too many places around the world to holiday before I'd rush back to the Hotel Aqua.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lagger286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaManager, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your comments, we take all guest feedback very seriously and value all opinions expressed.
We are pleased that our food and rooms was to your satisfaction.We have taken all your feedback onboard .Thank you once again for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Hotel Aqua and thank you for bringing the matters to our attention.We hope you visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 2,474 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

Aqua hotel is an excellent hotel beautiful location. Overall cannot fault it, immaculately clean lovely rooms ,great food with a daily variety. Ocean, the waiter in the restaurant was very kind and helpful and a complete pleasure to be around. My family all visited the beauty salon to have pedicures and Turkish shaves for the men, we were all very happy, Alberto and the girls did a great job. Animation team could of been better although the professional shows were fantastic. It is really worth going to Irish bar just outside the hotel which we always ending up to at the end of the night, staff there are fantastic and very friendly. We also visited the gorgeous Love Boat restaurant for member of our families birthday which was an experience we are all glad we didn't miss. Without a doubt we will end up visiting here again. Thank you Hotel Aqua for an unforgettable holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaManager, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your positive feedback following your recent stay at Hotel Aqua .We are glad to read that yourf room was to your satisfaction and you were happy with our food variety.We strive to provide our guests with memorable experiences in the hope that they will return time and time again. We are very happy to read this and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent ages reading the trip advisor reviews on this hotel and were so pleased to get a good deal on our two week stay. But I honestly cannot understand why all the reviews are as glowing as they are. There are so many mentions of certain waiters etc and in the fortnight we were there we couldn't recommend a single one! Except ozcan. But otherwise you were served by many different waiters with varying degrees of English. Some would offer drinks. Others wouldn't. Some would take your order but never return with the drinks. This wasn't on one ocassion and I'm just being fussy. This was every meal time! Rooms are small but clean. The atrium is lovely. The food was mediocre. Some themed nights were good. Some were very limited. Always plenty of salads/cheeses but few main meal options. All the extras such as waffle hour, ice creams, iced face towels etc were lovely touches that certainly made you feel spoilt! The hairdressers/spa staff worked very hard to coax you into having their treatments. This is to be expected but became very tiresome after several days. They even came over to chat early one morning when we were sat by the bar with one of our party opening his birthday presents! maybe im being fussy but we found that very rude! Basically it is a nice hotel. It's in a very convenient and pretty spot. The pool is cold but refreshing. The water sports thar are available are good. But I definatly would not return and cannot understand why so many people on here leave such fabulous reviews on the place. We believed the reviews. And I don't want to make it seem like the hotel is rubbish. It isn't. But it certainly did not live up to our expectation. The only real let downs were the food and the pushy/inattentive staff. Otherwise it's a nice hotel. We did enjoy our stay But all came home saying that we've stayed in better. By the way, our group of 6 ranged from age 18-60. And we all felt the same. Disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robandphilippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaManager, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback that you have taken the time to describe your impressions.
We are totally glad to read that our room cleaning was to your satisfaction and you were happy with our Atrium as well. On the other hand we are sorry that our some services have not matched with your expectations.We at Hotel Aqua appreciate the unique opportunity to see ourselves through the eyes of our guests and are eager to gather ideas on what we can do better. Even you do not plan to come back to Hotel Aqua we hope you would prefer coming back to Marmaris or any places in Turkey once again.
Kind Regards Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Returned home on Friday 30th august from another brilliant fortnight at the Aqua. The refit of the rooms was excellent as was the changes to the all inclusive options .Overall another great two weeks in Icmeler and the Aqua. Thanks to all the staff and management for another good time

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jbs4869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaManager, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your comments, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. I’m glad to hear our refurbished rooms were to your satisfaction.We are pleased to learn that we were successful in our all inclusive options .We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards,Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Superb hotel, and staff very helpful, disabled accessibility very good.will definatley return with my family. Thomas's cook rep not disability aware about trips, get information about trips from locals and guest.

Room Tip: Excellent hotel, brilliant location, staff superb, food to die for,cleanliness outstanding, top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaManager, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your feedback.We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.I’m glad to hear our staff so helpful. We pride ourselves on our guest service and I’ve passed your comments onto the relevant staff. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been going to Icmeler for the last 10 years and this is our first time at the Aqua after recommendation from our friends.
We found the rooms to be very clean and tidy, the facilities are excellent we especially like using the SPA facilities, and the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We mainly used the hotel's beach as it was so hot the beach provided a refreshing breeze.
Even though this hotel is All Inclusive, I would still recommend that you take some time to visit to many wonderful restaurants in Icmeler and if you want a really nice meal try the Love Boat. We also dined in the Allur fish restaurant at Aqua and the meal was wonderful.
I am sure that we will be back to Icmeler for an 11 year and will stay again in the Aqua.
Only one negative was that the free internet in the hotel was extremely slow and sometimes did not work, people need great internet in this connected world, please look to fix this.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike4Mobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaManager, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear reviewer,
Thank you kindly for taking the time and bestowing us with generous compliments . We are truly delighted that you were happy with our rooms and cleaning and it's nice to hear that you enjoyed our Sea Food Restaurant .We are truly proud of our colleagues and pleased to learn that we were successful in providing you with friendly and intuitive service.We are pleased that your comments overall are positive with our standards of guest service and accommodation. Thank you for bringing the matters to our attention.We have taken all your feedback onboard and would like to thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Hotel Aqua.
Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Family holiday, 3 generations and we all had a wonderful holiday. Arrived after dinner had finished but they arranged a cold meal for us. All staff for the whole 2 weeks were great, good service and a sense of fun but special mention to Ozcan in the restaurant who is the kindest, most thoughtful waiter ever, and George at the pool who is just as lovely. Animation staff were full of fun and made it easy to join in, our 13 year old son had a brilliant time going from activity to activity with a huge crowd. Hamit runs things well, he's organised with a great sense of humour, Spike is fun too, Sanchez is lovely but can be like an overgrown toddler, but you can't help liking him too!! Thought the pool was a bit small at first but as its a stones throw from the beach it was never crowded. Our only criticism of the hotel at all is the restaurant. The food was very good quality overall with some outstanding meals but we felt not enough choice each night and the restaurant could be better organised, had a few times where choices ran out and there was no butter put out at all, drinks ran out at the start of breakfast etc. Better organisation and opening the closed restaurant would make this hotel faultless. We tried the spa on our first day for a Turkish bath and massage, whole family loved it, Antonio is great and no hassle or hard sell, really recommend it and none of us burnt or peeled for the first time ever. Entertainment was not brilliant but we're not really into that anyway, our son had some great times with friends especially the Turkish celebration with amazing fireworks, so good we all ended up partying. Hotel lent out lilos/balls etc and everyone shared, all nationalities together with a really good atmosphere. Ok usual sunbed rush if like us you needed by the stairs for my disabled Mum but i go with the 'if you can't beat them join them' approach and i loved having an early coffee and chat with some lovely people at 7am and watching the sunrise. That said there were still beds available at half 8, never seen so many sunshades and George would always get/move stuff for you if needed. Rooms were really comfy and whole hotel was spotlessly clean, saw a complaint on here about third bed but my son had a very comfy full sized single and the room wasnt overcrowded. Air con in the room was fine but in the lobby bar needed to ask them to turn it on a few times and could be more powerful. Son had a trip on jet ski with Steve the cheeky bu**er as he's known. Really enjoyed it and they took me and my husband out on the jet skis too so we could watch at no extra charge. By contrast also booked the banana boat with 6 friends from the orange rent a speed boat by the canal. Supposed to get 10 minutes but they took them out into the bay, tipped them all off and left them for 5 minutes, unhooking the banana while they dropped off some jet ski passengers so they only had 5 minutes on there. Really wouldn't recommend them. Met some wonderful people, Turkish and other holiday makers, if there was more food choice we'd go back.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor for a view, 448 ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AquaManager, Manager at Hotel Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear reviewer,
We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us.We at Hotel Aqua apreciate the unique opportunity to see ourselves through the eyes of our Guests and are eager to gather ideas on what we can do better.I hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Thank you for staying with us .
Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO Sea Star
SENTIDO Sea Star
#4 of 77 in Icmeler
955 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#26 of 77 in Icmeler
814 reviews
1.7 mi away
Julian Forest Suites
Julian Forest Suites
#7 of 77 in Icmeler
1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MARTI Resort de Luxe
MARTI Resort de Luxe
#14 of 77 in Icmeler
1,928 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Yazici Club Turban
0.8 mi away
Sentido Orka Lotus Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua

Address: Icmeler Mahallesi Cumhuriyet Caddesi Sahil Sokak No:27, Icmeler 48720, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Icmeler
#1 Romantic Hotel in Icmeler
#1 Luxury Hotel in Icmeler
#2 Family Hotel in Icmeler
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Icmeler
Price Range: $122 - $589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Aqua 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five star Hotel Aqua is nicely situated on the South Western tip of Turkey, where the Mediterranean and Aegean seas meet. Hotel Aqua is located only 7 kilometers from Marmaris City Center and 110 kilometers from Dalaman Airport. This unbeatable beachfront location provides proximity to shopping, night life, restaurant and bars as well as fantastic excursions which Icmeler generously offers. Comfortable rooms, exquisite culinary experiences, luxurious Spa and Wellness centre, combined with spectacular views and unparalleled service, will guarantee a perfect stay and unforgettable memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Icmeler Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing