We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dora Portofino Hotel
Ranked #13 of 25 Icmeler B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

After reading some reviews beforehand I was dreading it, but I have to say they are the most friendliest and hardworking staff I have come across. The hotel is a three star, at the front you have an average pool and sun chairs, there is a comfortable seating area around the pool. Peter the receptionist is such a lovely man ( they all were) nothing was too much trouble even when we asked to change rooms as the bed I slept in was too hard. The rooms are clean and basic, we asked for a fridge to be sent up, (at an additional charge as was the safe which was in reception) non refundable about £15.00 for both. The room had a Tv, shower/bath dressing table, balcony with two chairs. The food was ok, I personally didn't like a turkish breakfast (but hey I WAS in turkey) so we nipped next door to Pig and Whistle for full english at a cost of £2.00 Lunch was ok, the typical salad, pasta, fish, burgers, sausages, Dinner was similar. Cake and coffee at 4.pm. This hotel is bang in the middle, you can walk into town easily, a vast array of pubs, restaurants and shops. The beach was across the road, stony but clean. About £2.50 for a days hire of a sunbed and brolley. Buses across the road are frequent and cheap to take you into Marmaris. The bar by the pool is open from 10 - to 10.30pm, Juices, coffee/tea in reception. I normally stay in five star hotels, but have to say See you next year guys, and thanks for a lovely stay. xx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emmie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    24
    22
    17
    23
See reviews for
36
47
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here last summer for one week with my partner. We arrived in the afternoon and there was a lot of confusion over our room. After the flight from Glasgow and the long bus journey from Dalaman airport, we waited around reception for an hour trying to sort it out. Things will get better we thought, just a one off niggle.

The gentleman on reception then told us he was going to put us in a rooftop room, fine we thought, good views. What he actually meant, as we discovered later, is that our room literally had the roof sloping down the ceiling of our room at an angle.

The room itself: absolutely awful. We had a green worn out carpet, terracotta walls with a big hole next to the bed, a wooden sloping ceiling from the roof, and a small broken television on a stool next to the bed. The bathroom was very small - you could probably have had a shower whilst using the loo it was that tight, and the shower curtain was dirty and old. The bathroom was really cramped and run down.

On a plus side, we did have a nice view out to the sea because we were higher up and facing that way, but that was the only thing I liked about the room. We also felt uncomfortable about our security as the locks on the door were so flimsy, literally the ones you click in and out on a round door knob, and we felt under pressure to take our valuables out with us everyday as we just didn't feel safe leaving them in the room.

Food: we were all inclusive light, and all we consumed was one glass of water when we arrived on the first day and waited for our room. The food had flies crawling on it and just looked awful. We went out for dinner every night to a lovely restaurant along the beach called Contes, what a great place, 100% recommended, especially if you like a nice steak.

Pool: this was the best part of the hotel. The pool is small but clean and nice. We used it a few times and enjoyed it. No complaints at all.

Overall: perhaps my review sounds a little harsh, but I can genuinely say that we had a terrible experience. We actually considered just paying to move to another hotel for our stay but decided to ride it out and put it down to a bad choice of accomodation (we only booked this as a last minute deal as we wanted to go to Icmeler to surprise family who were in a nearby hotel and it was all that was left). If you choose to stay here then definitely do not choose or accept a rooftop room. I would not return here in a million years, I hated every second we spent in the hotel, it was probably the worst holiday I've ever had.

Room Tip: Do not choose/accept a rooftop room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Icmeler hotels

Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Visitied this hotel in 2012, great location only a few minutes walk from the beach, that would be the only good point, the main reception staff were rude, although the other staff members were fab, worked really hard and tried to make as much effort as possible, (not much to work with) the food was awul spent all our money eating out, rooms were absolutely tiny, air con did not work. The best part about this hotel was the people we met, if it werent for them we would have moved hotels straight away. Icmeler is amazing and would return again and again, but not at this hotel, please think wisely and spend your money elsewhere, you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is lovely and has a relaxed atmosphere. The rooms are clean and the hotel is in a fab location to the beach, restaurants and night life. The hotel has a lovely swimming pool which was always clean and offers plenty of sunbeds. The food was always pleasant and the staff go out of the way to make you feel welcome. Dilek and staff are fantastic and nothing was ever too much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HannahGoodliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

if your thinking of booking this hotel and are reading the bad reviews....plz dont take any notice! I booked 9days at this hotel and read the reviews and was really worried that id made a big mistake and went with a open mind....how ever we found it was really value for money ,the staff were really friendly .rooms clean and basic a very good location for the beach and bars.the food was good ive stayed all over icmeler and found the food the same wherever you go,i would just like to say i had a great holiday and met some lovely people in the hotel who all said the same? for what we paid it was good value and deffo be booking for next yr xx...and they let us keep the room till 6pm at no extra cost!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 306 at the front of the hotel.it was lovely to sit and watch the world go by and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lizhyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This being our 4/5th stay at this budget hotel, rooms are bright and clean, pool is loveley, location is supberb, food is good, sometimes there will be food we dont like so on those odd occasions we eat out, only because we are finnickey eaters, and you cant please all the people all the time, i would highley reommend this hotel, staff are 10*,which all makes for a fab relaxing holiday, will definatley be back next year.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank pattyWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our first week in Turkey having stayed in Hotel Portofino. I found the hotel excellent value for money and the staff extremley helpful. Big thanks to Kadir nothing was too much trouble. As a diabetic a fridge was essential for me, I am pleased to say one was supplied at no extra charge. We stayed all inclusive, meals are buffett style and there was a toaster at breakfast unlike what previous people have said. Although every meal was not to our liking this gave us the excuse to eat out in one of the numerous restraunt in town. ( The Venice) is well recommended along with Cupids. Breakfast is continental style and if you fancy a change from this try one of the many restraunts offering a full english for £2. If you are looking for 5 star luxury then this hotel is not for you after all your not paying 5 star prices. If you are looking for value for money then please give this hotel a go.You cant book a weeks self catering in the UK for the price this hotel is charging for all inclusive. We have rebooked this hotel for 2 weeks next year.

Room Tip: rooms 304 and 302 have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank niglor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.0 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 77 in Icmeler
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mersoy Exclusive Aqua Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#2 of 77 in Icmeler
2,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mar-Bas
Hotel Mar-Bas
#45 of 77 in Icmeler
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Munamar Beach Hotel
Munamar Beach Hotel
#53 of 77 in Icmeler
1,159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Labranda Mares Marmaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dora Portofino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dora Portofino Hotel

Property: Dora Portofino Hotel
Address: Kayabal cad. No 82-82A, Icmeler, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dora Portofino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dora Portofino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing