We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not a turkish hotel as we know them!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vela Hotel Icmeler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vela Hotel Icmeler
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Icmeler
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not a turkish hotel as we know them!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

my husband and I have just returned from a week AI at this hotel. there is only one good thing I can say about it and that is that it is kept very clean by the domestics, they and the girls on reception are the only staff that appeared pleasant and happy. choice of food was non-existant, the choice was between fish(same fish every day) or a stew(it may have been beef or lamb ) could not tell. they had rice some small pieces of chicken cooked on gill outside or donor kebab meat. not very appetising. tended to eat out most days. you can get a full English breakfast in resort for £1.99. this really pleased my husband as he loves his fry-up. there was only the pool bar where you could get drink as part of AI and that finished at 11pm, you had to pay for your drinks then. it was not pleasant to sit by the pool day or night, the staff behind the bar would play music that they enjoyed, not really in keeping with the age of the majority of the guests, and this was extremely loud. the hotel had a bar called café vela situated at the side of the hotel and you could sit there,it was much quieter but you had to pay for your drinks! but as we were AI we were given a 20% discount wow!! we could not get our drinks from the pool bar and bring them through, not allowed,all in all not a good place to stay, it is rumoured that Thomas cook are taking on this hotel next year and are already planning some changes, they have a lot of hard work on their hands and they must do some staff training as a priority.

Room Tip: odd number rooms face the square and are quieter. do not accept 5th floor rooms as small and dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    149
    80
    35
    44
See reviews for
108
181
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 3am to be told " rooms not ready " and " we will put you on the 5th floor " after requesting that we be moved they said it would be done tomorrow , got to room and it had the most vile smell ever :(
Curtains would not close and a bed fit for a tramp !!! Opened the window to try and clear the smell . Woke up very tired and went to reception where we were told " one room is ready at 12:30 , the other one tomorrow "
Bags packed we got keys for room 112 , clean , tidy and overlooking the pool :)my son and his pal stayed on 5th floor and during the night the bathroom roof let the rain in :(
Got them moved quickly. Food is of average quality with the usual toast , boiled eggs , fried eggs , omelettes and various cereals etc , lunch and dinner menu was restricted to fish , doner meat , meat casserole , chicken casserole , rice , chips , salads ( cold mashed potato and tuna !!!)I think a wider choice of food such as spaghetti , meatballs, lasagne , and a little imagination would have helped .
All inclusive bar from 10 am to 11 pm , whiskey not on all inc , beer seemed weak compared to bottled , and all served in primary school plastic cups !!!
No live entertainment just the same music everyday and night , most of the staff helpful with the exception of one or two , some very rude customers promising to report staff as they knew the owner ??? Pool freezing cold , if you tip the bar staff you got better service , don't see why we had to do this on all inc ? All in all was it worth it for the price ? Just about !!!
Would we stay here again ? Icmeler, yes , this Hotel , No,couldn't knock the weather or how nice food was at local bars , wish we had gone B+B

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnie1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Just got back yesterday from Vela hotel...was very reluctant after reading all reviews before we went..we went on a family holiday (8 of us) ages ranging from 13 to 59.. Arrived and was fast check in all our rooms were excellent and clean, could not fault it, the views of the square from balcony were lovely.. Variety of drinks to choose from, yes food was not the best but always found something to eat. Would say they need to cater more fir kids with the food but they never starved. martin at pool bar was brilliant, threw us a party for birthdays whilst there cake and everything.. The hotel is small but could not fault in anyway. U are rite in the middle ov everything with beach a stones throw away...some people just want their back sides wiping aswell in my opinion but we could not complain. I would go bk to this hotel in a flash and so would the rest of my family ;)

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea8032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

my wife and myself have had a weeks holliday at the vela. we could not fault any part of this holliday the hotel is clean and well equipt we arrived on the 14/10/13 food and accomadation was first class allinclisive was what it says so any one questioning should put worries behind them and book while they have the chance. we certanly will be going back to this hotel the hotel is right in the middle of the town what more could any one wish for .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 518stuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on 14 th oct hotel and staff excellent nice and clean rooms I would stay here again I thought the food was good breakfasts wasn't that good but can eat out for 1.99 for full English was put on 5 floor when arrived wasn't very good bathroom stunk of drains and room was very dark so complained and they moved us to 2 nd floor which was ten times better.martin the bar man really friendly and sonic from cafe vela was lovely would definatly stay again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Storms48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

found the rooms ok kept clean and towels changed regular, I would have been better at the front of the building as it could be a bit loud with music near the bar area over the pool if you wanted a early night, overall a good place to stay it is in the middle of the place near to the beach very central to everything. martin was great behind the bar and the rest of the staff were pleasant as well.

Room Tip: rooms at the front of the building for a quiet sleep 3rd 4th floor don't go in the attic rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 455robert1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Booked from 10th till 18th October with only my hubby and I. Read some bad reviews and thought what have we done? Anyways that was pushed right out of the window when we arrived. We arrived after 1 in the morning and was offered any room we wanted. We opted for the lower ground front. What a view of the square and the fountains. We were the introduced to the pool bar and may i say it MARTIN!!! The nicest guy you could meet. Nothing was too much for him. I could go on and on but basically, the place was spotless, staff were brilliant, (Martin, Merlin, Jaffa and the rest of the gang). The room was big and had a mini fridge. You can hire a safe which is in your room for 5 Lira a day. Rooms are cleaned every day and towels changed daily.
OK heres the bad bit, the food was terrible for the first 6 days till everyone complained. It kind of improved over last few days. There was something to eat but either cold or salad. To top our holiday we met the most amazing people which helped a lot. We would stay in the Vela again, but would go Bed and Breakfast if that was an option.The holiday was fantastic, the staff were fantastic. You get what you pay for x

Room Tip: Try and get front of Hotel coz if you dont like noise, believe me thats the quietest!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.1 mi away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#18 of 79 in Icmeler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selen 2 Hotel
Selen 2 Hotel
#67 of 79 in Icmeler
3.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Verde Hotel
Verde Hotel
#74 of 79 in Icmeler
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Devamli Hotel
Devamli Hotel
#48 of 79 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ustun Apartments
Ustun Apartments
#66 of 79 in Icmeler
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecem Apart Hotel
Ecem Apart Hotel
#41 of 79 in Icmeler
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vela Hotel Icmeler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vela Hotel Icmeler

Property: Vela Hotel Icmeler
Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Kenan Evren Blv. No:11, Icmeler 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vela Hotel Icmeler 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Vela Hotel Icmeler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing