We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“prison food”
Review of Vela Hotel Icmeler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vela Hotel Icmeler
Ranked #53 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Reviewed October 1, 2012

stayed at this hotel sept 2012 ,very clean and the maids were lovely,only thing that let it down was the food, i wouldnt have given it to my cat, we didnt budget to eat out but had to, so all our money went on food outside the hotel, it was very cheap to eat out......i would be very surprised if this hotel stays open, everyone was complaining about the food and the staff didnt seem to care. :(

Room Tip: dont go...the lighthouse appartments across the road exellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 452 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Got back on the 25/09/2012. Stayed for 1 week and throughly enjoyed my stay, was a bit worried about the food reports, but found the food alright not fantastic but not as bad as people were saying.
The Cons
Sun beds were at a minimum and had to be up sharp to get a one and you never got the sun all day.
The barman Martin I believe his name was and to be frank was a nob, not sure why he didnt like us, but never gave us glasses always plastic cups. One day we asked for a drink and he stated was on his dinner and to come back later, his attitude was crap. He owed my daughter money for an ice cream as didnt have enough change and we had to chase him for this and he did this to several people.
The girl on the reception was miserable, we paid £20 to keep the room until 5 and then she asked us if we paid which we did and then called us at 4.30 on the day to say she said 4.30 not 5 which was a blatant lie as she did this to several people.
Noisey at nights and no entertainment.
The Pros
Excellent rooms very clean and the maids were fantastic.
Food was really ok as it did improve on the last 2 days and the staff were great in the restaurant were very friendly.
Drinks were free, if not fantastic and the other barmen apart from Martin were great.
Sunbeds if you got them were great as you got a matress.
Free aircon and safe deposit was only 5TL per day.
You could also eat and drink at the Hotel Verdi which made a change and they had some entertainment on.

Icmeler is very cheap to eat and drink and the sunbeds on the beech only cost us about a £1 a day. I would definitely go back to Icmeler but probabally not the Hotel Vela. Flight and bus journeys are not great but you quickly for get them. Market at Icmeler is fantastic love a bit of bargaining. 5/5 for the holiday but 3/5 for the hotel Vela.

Room Tip: Pool view was good, bottom floor was abit noisey though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billsa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

husband and i have just come back from the vela after booking a 10day stay with last minute. first time all inclusive in this resort. as we usually go self catering. could not fault it at all. food was excellent lots of choice.martin the bar man works hard, as do all the staff. pool area kept clean and plenty of sun beds for all. rooms kept really clean and staff could not do enough for you. for a 3 star hotel .you got above the standard what you pay for. well done vela. how anyone can say that they did not like it is beyond us. would we go back? yes to the hotel but i am afraid not to icmeler as it has become rather busy and too up beat. we enjoy quieter areas. so if they could move the vela to a quiter area then yes we would be there

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back on Wednesday after 2 weeks at the Vela Hotel, Icmeler. We had read all the reviews on here before we went and were prepared for the negative side of the hotel.
The hotel was very clean and the rooms kept spotless by the lovely girls doing the cleaning.
They used to make towel animals for us every day and made us laugh...swans, crocodile and an elephant! We had fresh towels everyday and clean sheets every 2nd day. No complaints there.
Martin who worked in the pool bar wasn't as bad as some people have said. He worked extremely hard and had to put up with alot of crap from some very rude guests - particularly the russians who seemed to have went on holiday without their manners! He kept the drink flowing and made some lovely cocktails (at extra charge) if you wanted.
The pool was fantastic, just the thing for cooling off in the roasting hot heat we had there. Plenty beds to use and shade if you needed it with the palm trees and the brolly's.
The only gripe with the room was facing the pool bar, we were kept awake almost every night with noisy people still drinking sometimes to 5-6am. The bar didn't shut until the last person went to bed and if your room is on this side of the hotel, it can get noisy. On the other hand, you get the sun all afternoon until about 6 at night to enjoy. On the other side of the hotel, you get the sun only in the morning on your balcony.
As expected the food was edible but repetitive. It would have helped if there had been names on the trays to give us a clue as to what we were eating. We ended up getting really fed up and ate out the majority of the time and spending most of our cash on food. There were some lovely places to eat, our favourite was Don Corleone Italian restaurant. The food was superb. Harry's just across the square was the best place for the cooked breakfast and they were very friendly.
All in all, it was a good holiday but I don't think we would go back to that hotel but defo will go back to Icmeler. It is an amazing place.

Room Tip: A room facing the square - sun in the morning and quiet after 12pm A room facing the pool - sun all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

booked this hotel last minute knew was not good, but took chance the rooms not to bad, pool area ok, hotel in general not to bad, then comes our first look at food could hardly tell what it was supposed to be, no clues with a name plate.Everyday lunch and dinner everything looked the same trash,it was even cooked in sister hotel and came over by van and warmed up here.It tells you something when the barman had take aways delivered say he would not eat hotel food. We ate out every day but a lot of people had not got a buget for this only meal we ate was breakfast Turkish style.would not and will not ever go back to this ONE STAR hotel been round the world and never seen food like this.people we met stayed here in may and food ok but not now so what has happened they even ate out, hope have not upset some people by telling the truth in my eyes.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddie812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

we have just arived home after 2 weeks at the vela hotel in icmelar and miss it already.The rooms were spotless,the staff were extremely helpful at all times,the meals were basic but if you like salad and chicken you will do fine ,but if you book a low cost holiday you should not expect gourmet meals.There are plenty of places to eat very cheaply if you want a change of menu.Would I recommend this hotel ? Definately.

Room Tip: we were at the front of the hotel and had a very loud bar to contend with every night but as they ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

After reading the reviews before we went, my partner and I were open minded as to what to expect. After our flight was delayed by nearly 5 hrs and the transfer took 4 hrs (not joking) we arrived at the hotel at 10.20pm. The hotel had been made aware that we were delayed but when we asked if any food was available, a sandwich or some soup, we were told nothing was available, all food finished at 10pm and we had to make our own arrangements to eat. After the day we had had travelling it would have been nice to have been offered at least a sandwich.

Our room was basic but very clean. It was cleaned on a daily basis being provided with clean bed linen and towels. The Air Conditioning was free, however, ours was quite noisy. Although we were on the ground floor the noise was minimal from hotel guests coming and going and the busy square outside. Any music has to be turned down at midnight we never had a problem with any noise so families should not have any difficulties getting their children to sleep.

The drinks at the bar are local drinks, efes (draft not bottled), vodka, raki, gin, red or white wine (you will be charged for rose) and fizzy and soft drinks. They do have cold water available in water tubs which you can fill up your own water bottles, however, the water is not always as cold as you would like. Martin, who worked behind the bar, was unfriendly (unless you were tipping are 11pm), he was rude and would turn the music up if he saw people talking at the bar.

The food - well mixed reviews from everyone it would seem. If you have a strong stomach and like chicken you will like it. Breakfast was standard and the same everyday, no variations was made. We found out after a couple of days the one of kitchen staff cooked omellets outside, which were quite nice. Fresh bread was available either sliced or uncut. There were several items available, which you did'nt know what they were (pink and brown slimy stuff) It may have helped if they had been named. Lunch was usually salad and chicken. The snacks was leftover croquettes or chips from lunch. Dinner was once again, chicken (it was just cooked different each time), some kind of fish with either pasta, chips or wedges. Soup was available but if you were not there early it would be cold. Desserts was available, if you have a really sweet tooth and also some fruit.

The reception staff, were helpful when they wanted to be. Priority would be given to people checking in, if you had an issue you had to wait!. As we were being picked up at 10.30pm we had to check out of our room at mid-day, after an dispute with the reception staff, who did apologise we were offered a room so we could have a shower and change before we left and also told we could keep our bands so we could eat or drink any of the all inclusive items. Its a shame this kind of courtesy could not have been offered at the beginning of our stay at The Vela.

As you are staying at The Vela, you are able to use the amenities at the sister hotel, The Verde, which is close by. We found the Verde's dining area much better as the Vela's was very closed in and the air conditioning inadequate for the size. Cats are a big problem, and is not helped by guests, putting them on the tables and giving them milk (disgusting!!!). Dont change your money at the hotel, you get a much better rate outside.

We feel in love with Ichmeler and will be returning next year, however we will not be staying at this hotel. I would rather pay slightly more and enjoy the hotel as well as the resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianehancock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.1 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#18 of 77 in Icmeler
410 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quadas Hotel
Quadas Hotel
#67 of 77 in Icmeler
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verde Hotel
Verde Hotel
#61 of 77 in Icmeler
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#30 of 77 in Icmeler
779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Selen 2 Hotel
Selen 2 Hotel
#72 of 77 in Icmeler
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Etoile Hotel
L'Etoile Hotel
#23 of 77 in Icmeler
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vela Hotel Icmeler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vela Hotel Icmeler

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Kenan Evren Blv. No:11, Icmeler 48700, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Price Range: $49 - $595 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vela Hotel Icmeler 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Vela Hotel Icmeler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing