We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vela Hotel Icmeler
Nearby Hotels
$64
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$77
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Private Hotel(Icmeler)
$23
$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$64
$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Club Aquarium(Icmeler)(Great Value!)
$20
$11
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveler rating
127
158
82
38
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
158
82
38
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturkeymost eveningslocal spiritsbar managermartinholidayentertainmentcleanerslagerseptemberladsmaidmidnight
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
315 - 320 of 453 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Just returned from a week all inclusive at Vela Hotel and am surprised at how many people are complaining about this hotel!

I travelled there with a friend with the idea of having a nice chilled out week without having to faff about trying to find places to eat that didn't hassle a couple of girls in their early 20's. This is exactly what we got.

The hotel is clean, attractive and extremely well maintained and the staff are exemplary. Yes, the food isn't exceptional, but when you're spending around £300 for a week in Turkey, what more can you expect? There were meals where I would load up my plate because it was all lovely, and meals where I just had watermelon and a bit of salad. It's all down to personal taste, so if you're not picky, you'll have plenty to choose from.

The bar and pool area was the same standard as the rest of the hotel, well maintained with fantastic staff. Martin, the barman, was entertaining and treated people the way they treated him. If you're rude to him, he will simply serve you swiftly and move on to the next person. If you offer him a smile and thanks, he will shine. His right hand man was Orhan, who was forever running around picking up empty cups and offering a shy smile to those who said thank you!

The hotel itself was centrally located with just a 5 minute walk to the beach, which was lovely! If you went for a sun lounger with Coco Beach Restaurant, you were greeted by Messi, who's service was fantastic, after one meeting with him he remembered our names perfectly everyday after and everything that we ordered.

We went on a boat trip to Dalyan, visiting Turtle Bay and seeing the King Tombs through our rep, which was fab, despite the 8.15am pick up time!

All in all, we had a fantastic time, got exactly what we wanted from the holiday and more! We made some fantastic friends and will definitely be returning to both Icmeler and The Vela Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mossop1518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The hotel Vela was in an ideal place as it was situated in the very heart of Icmeler meaning that whichever way you wondered you couldnt really get lost and as it has been newly refurbed the facilities were fantastic - they were clean and well kept and the staff really couldnt do any more for you!
all of the staff in the hotel (including the infamous Martin) were smart, helpful, always on hand to help and never letching as a lot of the turkish men seemed to be as i went with my female friend and they do tend to leer quite a bit!
The hotel bar is great and the staff are relentless ensuring that the area is kept clean and the drinks are flowing and Martin almost definatley made our evenings with his gossip and fantastic cocktails, which your must try! Inside the hotel the marble staircase and reception gives it a lovely feel and we were welcomed as soon as we stepped off of the coach!

The food has been discribed as awful and inedible but this just wasnt the case - yes some of it wasnt to everyones taste and the manager has tried to accomodate everyone (russians included) but that is no reason to write off the food in general. Breakfast was simple but you could get eggs and toast freshly made to your taste along with seasonal fruit and dinner and lunch were about the same, they catered for everyone and werent a five star quality but then most people hadnt paid 5 * prices - they just seem to forget this when writing their reviews!!!

i will definatley be returning to the Vela next year but next time with my family instead of with friends and i hope to recieve the same standard i have recieved over the last week! THANKS!

Kirsty and Kylie :)

Room Tip: ask for a room with morning sun as the afternoon sun hits the back directly and can be overwhelming, especially when the temperature at midday hit over 50C
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kirsty808405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

After looking at the reviews I was a bit apprehensive but couldn't complain about the rooms they were very clean and modern and we had a single and a double bed in our room. We were on the first floor overlooking the square which is an excellent view over Icmeler town centre and gets the sun on a morning. The food was a bit repetative but it was edible and after all the price we paid for all inclusive included drinks. We did eat out a few nights and it was very cheap. The only downfall was the swimming pool which was 1.6 metres deep all around and the only access was by the metal ladders at the side. I heard a few people saying it would have been nice to have some steps at the side to sit on but you either got in and swum or hung on to the sides. As this is a new pool I would have thought that the needs of tourists would have been taken into consideration. Onto Martin who managed the Pool Bar. That lad worked all hours and the only time we saw him lose his rag was with a Russian man demanding Vodka over and over again at 10 in the morning. We got on really well with him but were disappointed there was no local whisky or brandy but not his fault. Remember to take your own Pool Towels as none are provided and you do have to get your own water but we filled our bottles up from the water coolers in the restaurant and the pool bar. There was a fridge in your room which was ideal for milk and water to keep cool. The waiters were very helpful and tables were always cleaned straightaway. We have stayed in another 2 all inclusives in Turkey which were far superior but also cost a lot more and were not centrally positioned. I would go back to the Vela again and for centralisation it is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Square get the sun on a morning and can be noisy at night but once you close the patio doors you can't hear anything. The rooms over the pool can be quite noisy if people are at the pool bar all night shouting and singing
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lawrence_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

As I couldn't even get a weekend away in England for what we paid for 7 nights all inclusive I don't think there is anything to grumble about. It is in a prime location, The rooms were a decent size, it was clean, the food may of been limited but it tasted good, the meat melted in your mouth and the potatoes were fab. Always managed to get a sunbed by the pool without being up at 6am! Friendly staff, even the famous grumpy barman "martin", he was a good laugh - all you have to do is speak to him properly!!!! I like to go out in the evenings anyway so no entertainment wasn't a problem.. All in all I would go back to the vela next year for what it costs to stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nanna-kez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just arrived back from the Hotel Vela, here is a list of the negatives,
one bar which is situated at the pool, if you wanted a drink with nyour meal, you would have to go to the pool for a drink.
The food was awful, seemed to be geared towards Russian tourists, the choices were boring and most of the food I would not feed my dog, the only redeeming thing about the food was the breakfast.
The hotel was boring, no entertainment of any kind, when I asked for the WIFI password, I was told it did not work with phones.

The good points about the hotel, the staff were nice and helpful, the room was spacious and nicely furnished, the location of the hotel was good.

I would not go back to this hotel until the have a decent menu and provided some form of entertainment and had a bar in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews