We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Vela Hotel Icmeler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vela Hotel Icmeler
Ranked #51 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Spent 10 days at the Hotel Vela in September and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough

Staff
Manager- Nihat- Fantastic guy who is more than happy to help with any problems you may have, mine was not with the hotel but using a courier to transport a parcel to a friend in Bursa. Nihat and Namik was extremely helpful in arranging this. Thankyou once again Nihat and Namik.

Restaurant Staff - Soner great guy who works very hard, but will always give you a smile, you are a little diamond. Thankyou for making my holiday a great stay.

Reception Namik - Very helpful and kind, will bring you some Jack Daniels chocolates when i return to Icmeler.

Night Reception - Umut lovely man who will do everything he can to help, he also loves English chocolate so please buy him a bar of choc or maltesars. Always greeted with a smile and chat at the start and the end of the evening.

Pool Guy - Metin He is a little diamond also, nothing is too much trouble for Metin and he will try and make sure you enjoy your holiday . He will make you laugh so much.

Bar Guy - Metin -Sadly he is the weakest link, sometimes smiley but most of the time scowling. Prefers to serve the Russians first because " you are a nice lady and you will not complain" yes i did complain, when 4 people entered the queue after me to be served and they was served before me!, suffers badly with mood swings!.


Rooms
The room was bright and spacious, very clean , towels and linen changed daily. only met the maid on my departure and sadly i do not have her name to give her credit. The air conditioning was free , slightly noisy but it was an added bonus not having to pay for A/C.

Food
The food was slighly repititious but this is to be expected with budget AI, i had budgeted to eat out most evenings as there is so many good restaurants in Icmeler. I am a very fussy eater but the standard of food for breakfast and lunch was very good and I always found something I liked.

There is no entertainment in the hotel but this is the norm in Turkey, I cannot comment about the evening meals or night time service in the bar as I never used it. Would i recommend this hotel , most definitely yes.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sandybeachhampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    151
    81
    35
    44
See reviews for
112
182
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just returned from my second visit to Icmeler this year. Changed from my original hotel to the Vela after reading some bad reviews on tripadvisor, so glad i chose this smashing hotel as my alternative, location absolutely brilliant, central and handy for all local ameneties..

Firstly we are a family of 3 including our teenage daughter the room we were allocated was on the first floor overlooking the pool. Room extremely clean and well presented, 1 double and 1 single bed in room and still felt quiet spacious, Bathroom was lovely, managed to have a hot shower everyday during our stay (rare for turkey). Clean towels everyday of our stay, the maids do a fantastic job and clearly take pride in their work.

Staff polite, well mannered and extremely hard working, nothing too much trouble for these guys, Martin the barman is a legend, just loved his dry sense of humour... would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends alike.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DaltonMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

As this was our first time in Turkey we were unsure what to expect but based on the reviews and price we wre paying we booked at the Vela with another couple, we are aged 45 to 55 and have travelled mainly spain and greek islands but chose Turkey due to uncertain times in Greece.
First the people we encountered, Turks were nice and friendly to your face if you were buying off them but sarcastic remarks when you walked away without buying or drinking/eating in their bars, rude russians? we never had that experience but only came across a few, or maybe i could not tell the language!!

The hotel, well it was clean and tidy, the rooms were good size really with good bathrooms and clean towels every day, sheets changed twice.
Our aircon did not work and we swopped room to one room over looking the pool, did find the unit was noisy though but was free, had to pay for safety deposit box in room.

The pool was one depth all over around 5 foot deep and freezing cold but if you swam it was ok, no good for kids,

All inclusive is a waste of time at this hotel, the only place to get a drink is at the poolside bar and the drinks as other people have said were Tuborg lager(drink this in weatherspoons what they sell aint Tuborg) no Effes which is the turks national lager so to speak and cheap to buy in bars everywhere,but not included here the plastic cups hold at best a third of a pint and are used in the breakfast room for squash as well, the barman is an odd character he makes you feel that he is doing you a favour by serving you, his music(not yours) sounds much worse than it is by his poor sound system tinny and naff.

The only time wine was offered was on our last night, we stayed 3/10/11 to 10/10/11 and was drinkable.

The food: if you like salads then you are onto a winner, my wife enjoyed hers, but the rest is not so much poor quality but if the cooks were better they could have done better with what was on offer, chicken everyday fish one one day only, it would have been easy to do a curry maybe spagetti bolagnasse that type of thing with the same ingridients. If it was not for the fresh bread at breakfast i would have eaten out out for breakfast(5 lira most places) the staff we had most contact with were the 2 reception men both caring and attentive and the room attendant who made love hearts and even a swan out of our towels everday but did not meet her.
So would i stay there again? sadly no, would i go all inc. again? no better to eat and drink out its cheap enough(depending how much you eat and drink of course)
Highlights were scuba diving with a meal and pick up £20, boat tour with food and drink £10 inc 5 stops for snorkelling, good weather 30 degrees except rain on our last day

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baggieboy10_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have just returned from my second stay this year at The Vela Hotel Icmeler. It is still fabulous. The rooms are clean, well equipped and spacious. The maids clean daily and the linen is changed at least once a week.
All of the team at The Vela work extremely hard and nothing is too much trouble for them. They all work very long hours seven days per week and it has been a long season, but if you treat them with kindness and respect they will return it to you. Everyone who works at The Vela is well trained, helpfull and extremley friendly and pleasant.
This was the first time I have gone away on holiday completely alone, but I always felt safe, happy and well looked after. Every member of the team made an effort to make sure I enjoyed my stay.
Please do not listen to the people who moan about the food! It is plentiful, fresh and tasty. Yes it can be a little repetitive, but no different from other all inclusive hotels I have stayed in. In fact I found the food to be of equal quality if not better than other hotels I have stayed in which were of a higher star rating and much more expensive to stay at!
If you have any suggestions for the hotel management regarding the food, or any other aspect of the hotel then let them know! They do welcome all advise and constructive criticism, in fact they ask the guests opinions and take any advise or suggestions given to them on board. Please remember that it is just as important to the hotel management that guests enjoy there stay as obviously they rely on repeat custom. So if you think anything needs improving tell them! If we as customers do not let them know when there is a problem, how can we expect them to correct it?
This is a great little three star hotel, but it has a five star service. It is centrally located, spotlessly clean and has a fantastic team. It has a real home from home feel to it.
I hope you enjoy your stay at The Vela as much as I have. In fact I can't wait to return again next year! I only wish I could stay there all year round! :-)
Give this lovely hotel a chance, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank traceypotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

the hotel is good just been referbished food not to bad but the only bug is te music the barman runs it to his own taste and is far to loud

Room Tip: ask t the desk if you can change wedid was change next day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mumsey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Well just returned back from the VELA HOTEL after 2 week all inclusive holiday, forget the all inclusive spent more eating and drinking out of Hotel....the food was absolutely diabolical.....so take plenty of extra spending money for food....been all inclusive before and I know can be very repetitive but this was constant chicken or meat balls rice and COLD CHIPS only cold meat at breakfast so if you liked salads you would have to have for breakfast ...no snacks available after restaurant closed then at 5pm out came burgers or chicken nuggets and salad and COLD CHIPS sometimes not enough for all at poolside so most people gave up...usually you get coffee and cake at 5pm at all other all inclusive Turkish holidays and food snacks available all day from lunch till dinner but not here. NOT A HOTEL FOR CHILDREN NOTHING FOR THEM even pool not designed for children, no play area, so good Hotel if you want a child free holiday....the PLUS side of this Hotel and all that it has going for it is THE STAFF THEY ARE PURE DEAD BRILLIANT nothing too much for them except Martin the barman lot to be desired there not barman material maybe because end of season but that's not customers fault he should be pleasant to everyone not choosy its his job to serve and be nice and communicate to customers. All the rest of the staff were brilliant and helpful and nothing too much for them always smiling and ready to help they made the holiday this Hotel needs this staff to survive

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magz39_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We booked this hotel as a last minute deal after reading the reviews, and I would take in what they are saying. I travelled to the Vela hotel with my husband, mum and dad and my 6 month old son. The hotel itself is kept extremley clean and the rooms very spacious (with a double bed, single bed and travel cot in the room their was still enough room to move around and for baby to play.) The reception staff where the friendliest and most helpful i have ever come across and they where always to help you when needed. The pool area itself was average and we found ourselves having to reserve sunbeds (something which we have never done before,) in order to get a bed. The baby pool was very small and twice i would not put my baby in it because it was dirty. The drinks was average for an all inclusive and yes they where served in a small cup but you can ask for a large drink and you can bring your own glasses in and use these. Also we where able to get more than one drink at a time. The main downside to the hotel was the food. The food was eatable, but their was not enought variety. My mum does not eat meat and as they do not serve fish at every meal we found ourselves eating out more often than not otherwise she would have been living of salad, which is not good for a holiday. However to eat out it was very reasonable you could get a breakfast for around £2.50 each and a 3 course evening meal for around £5 per person. Overall this was a good holiday but I would not return to this hotel as when going all inclusive you want to be able to eat in the hotel and not spend your money having to eat out. The hotel could also do with some entertainment. But once again thank you to the reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Icmeler hotels
0.1 mi away
Navy Hotel
Navy Hotel
#19 of 77 in Icmeler
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verde Hotel
Verde Hotel
#58 of 77 in Icmeler
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mirage World Resort Hotel
Mirage World Resort Hotel
#37 of 77 in Icmeler
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ida Hotel
Ida Hotel
#21 of 77 in Icmeler
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Private Hotel
Private Hotel
#49 of 77 in Icmeler
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miray Hotel
Miray Hotel
#43 of 77 in Icmeler
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vela Hotel Icmeler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vela Hotel Icmeler

Property: Vela Hotel Icmeler
Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Kenan Evren Blv. No:11, Icmeler 48700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Icmeler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 Hotels in Icmeler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vela Hotel Icmeler 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Vela Hotel Icmeler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing