We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont just walk by....get in there”

Suzannes Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 83 Restaurants in Hisaronu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“dont just walk by....get in there”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

been visiting Hisaronu for several years and walked past this restaurant many times without giving it a look.
a couple of our favourite eating places have now closed so we thought we'd give Suzanne's a try
and after trying, we had to go back again.
fantastic food and great service from the nicest, most friendly restaurant owners you could ever wish to meet in Hilal and Suzanne.

my wife was very disappointed that Malibu restaurant has closed as she loved their stuffed chicken, however she was highly delighted to find that Suzanne's is even better.
personally I recommend the ottoman steak, spiced to your taste. A fantastic steak with great flavour.

A great meal at a great price,
we will definitely be back there next time in the village
Thanks to Hilal, Suzanne, Chef and staff

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank stevewheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    68
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tasty Turkish Cuisine”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Down a small street of an Hisarönü full of bars and restaurants serving international cuisine in a nightmare of neon, english, tourist tat, is the small oasis of turkishness that is Suzannes Ottoman Restaurant. The staff are friendly, the food is fantastic, spicey if you like it, cooked in front of you and very good value.

If you are in Hisarönü because it is cheap, but in Turkey because you are drawn to the east, give it a try, you will not be disappointed. If you are in Hisarönü because you want Britain in a hot country, and like fish and chips, stay away.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Beingwithdoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Turkish meal.”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

A lovely family restaurant that will allow you to try a range of gorgeous flavours. Lots of choice with something for everyone but always lots of flavour. You can watch as your bread is made in the oven. I have had the meatballs and the sizzling chicken and would recommend them.
Children are welcomed and the conversation is genial and fun. In the otherwise over anglicised Oludeniz this is a delightful Turkish oasis.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BeingDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic meal”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just returned from Hisaronu & wanted to write review of this little gem. Decided to try Suzanne's after reading reviews and was not disappointed. Tasty, authentic Turkish cuisine & very reasonably priced. Approx £50 for a meal & there were 5 of us! We ate here 3 times in our week and every meal was excellent, from lamb kebabs to chicken stews & Turkish pide. The pide in particular were a great favourite. The owner Suzanne & her husband were very friendly and Suzanne speaks fantastic English. We will definitely return soon, I hope!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I am not sure why we haven't been to this restaurant before. We first met Suzanne many years ago when she was still at school and was one of the few people in what was a very quaint village who could speak excellent English, we even stayed in one of her apartments years ago. Suzanne was intrigued we remembered her and showed us he photos of way back. It is really great to have a restaurant in the heart of Hisaronu that is making really authentic Turkish food, it was a delight with very generous potions and very reasonably priced. The friend that came with us were really very impressed with everything, it was quite a cold night and we were lucky enough to get seated inside, boy does this place get packed out, it was the end of the season and the other restaurants in Hisaronu were not so lucky, not surprising really. We will make a beeline for it on our next visit. Most of the restaurants in this this area are serving to much European and English type food, this place was such a change and a great find, I can highly recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suzannes Restaurant also viewed

Hisaronu, Mugla Province
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
 
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
 

Been to Suzannes Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing