We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service.”
Review of Restaurant Peking

Restaurant Peking
Ranked #57 of 85 Restaurants in Hisaronu
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible Service.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family of 9 were stopping in a villa near by the restaurant, and we were given their take-away menu by one of their staff members coming round the complex. That evening we decided to order a take-away from them as advertised on the menu we were given.
On ringing up at 8.30pm we were told they were too busy to do deliveries but we could come down and order and collect the food ourselves. By this time we had our hearts set on what we wanted so my dad got a taxi down to collect the food.
On arriving there he was told that the prices were 40% more for take aways. He reluctantly agreed to pay the extra price after already going through so much hassle. Then he was told that if we were eating in the restaurant he would be buying drinks so he had to buy drinks to take away with him. They expected my Dad to buy 9 litres of their over-priced drinks (Water at 6 Lira) and then manage to take it all back home with him.
When my Dad said he wasn't willing to buy the drinks they refused service to him and were incredibly rude.
On top of all of that, the restaurant was nearly empty when my Dad went down with only 3 tables filled, so it seems preposterous that they were too busy to do deliveries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    15
    7
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“joke of a place”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I agree with JKDoll we were here in early august, after someone at our hotel said they had been there my husband myself my friend and her husband said we would give it a try god I wish we had not bothered, my friend ordered chicken and sweet corn soup it looked like she had a whole tin of sweet corn in it as for the chicken don't know where that went to my husbands soup looked like they had wrung a dirty dish cloth in to the bowl the service was very slow, it was full that night maybe this was the problem if so they need more staff, I would not advise anyone to eat here try dellboys insted

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theresa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic all you can eat resstaurant”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was the best chinese food we have had in ages. It ended up being about 10 pound a person including drinks. You choose 2starters and 2 main courses per person and then more if you want it when you have finished. Rice, noodles or chips come with it and are not counted in your choices.Absolutely deliscious

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank szilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Faulty Towers”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Visited sat 27th July
Poor food , service slow after starter , waiters running around Like headless chickens ! Manager just about looked like he was going to have heart attack ! Chef on the till then running back to kitchen ? I nearly stood up and said everyone calm down , it was so bad . One of the overhead fans spun out of control and the gaurd came of it and hit a table full of people . Only enjoyable part of the food was sweet and sour chicken . Noticed they are doing takeaway food too and maybe that's why it's so disorganised ?? My take away at home has nicer food , wish I had gone to dragonara instead !!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Luke warm food & cold towels!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We decided on the spot to dine at Peking one evening and opted for their set menu prices at 21.90 Lira each which comprises 2 starters & 2 mains each. Our eldest boy opted for chicken chow mein and our youngest boy fish fingers!
I'm surprised there are so few reviews on TA considering it's prime location in Hisaronu.
The positives:
1. The bill. Just 77 Lira for a family of 4 which included the above meals and drinks. Very good.
2. My hot & sour soup, the sizzling chicken & our eldest enjoyed his chow mein.
3. Location. Nice upstairs balcony area to people watch below!
The negatives:
1. Much of our food was luke warm at best.
2. Food quality average. Far inferior to our local chinese takeaway. More in line with a cheap supermarket takeaway.
If you are looking for a cheap meal to fill you up one evening I'd recommend you go but not if you are after a gastronomic gourmet experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Peking also viewed

 
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
 
Hisaronu, Mugla Province
Marmaris, Mugla Province
 

Been to Restaurant Peking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing