We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Soydan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Soydan
Marlow, UK
Level Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night, the rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean, although a little drab. The receptionist spoke very good English and staff were helpful. The hotel is central and although our room was overlooking the main street we were not unduly disturbed by noise. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank periwinkleMarlow_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fritzlar, Germany
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. Nothing big changed since my last stay but now I had a kind of apartment with 2 rooms and 2 baths for the price of a single room. Funny thing is that the owner called me at breakfast time. He asks me in German if everything was ok and gave me his private phone number. Very good and cheap restaurants nearby.

Again my last review:
A hotel with unbeatable low prices including breakfast. Located close to the town centre. Therefore the rooms facing the main road are a bit more noisy but not the whole night. Offering ensuite rooms with free WLAN and balcony. Furniture a bit older but functional. Shower has the usual black joints but nevertheless clean. 24 hours reception. Owner operated.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper take a room not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Central Afyon and easily accessed by dolmus from the otogar. The room (207) was spacious and with a balcony looking to the castle ( which is a strenuous but worthwhile 3-4 hour walk) Make sure you visit the Staff on signing in we're keen to please but had little English. On sign in out we were asked to pay cash rather than credit card which may be a problem for some. Bed was firm and decor from the80's but clean. Carpet wearing a little and bathroom small but adequate. Shower leaked from the base. Breakfast was buffet and typical Turkish fare. Recommended. Make sure you see the Mevlevihane Camil ( Dervish mosque)and adjacent museum. Ask a local and they will assist in the 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Main Street and was a little noisy but had a great view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agapanthusinbloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fritzlar, Germany
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A hotel with unbeatable low prices including breakfast. Located close to the town centre. Therefore the rooms facing the main road are a bit more noisy but not the whole night. Offering ensuite rooms with free WLAN and balcony. Furniture a bit older but functional. Shower has the usual black joints but nevertheless clean. 24 hours reception. Owner operated. Owner worked for 20 years in Germany so he speaks perfect German. Also English spoken. Parking a little complicated during business hours but after 8 pm no problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good: Great location in the center of the town. Big rooms and comfortable beds. Also great value for money!

Bad: The street below is noisy, but if you ask for a room on the second floor there is almost no noise at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lefteris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayvalik, Turkey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you are on a tight budget and want to explore the historic heart of Afyon on foot, I can highly recommend this hotel. I was travelling alone but was given a spacious double room with en suite facilities and a good view of the citadel for approximately €20 a night including breakfast.
The hotel is centrally located close to the commercial and administrative centre of the city. It is very near the historic Imaret mosque complex and only about a 10 minute walk to the base of the citadel. The archaeology museum is about 15 minutes away on foot.
The hotel is not luxurious but I found it adequate. The room had a TV and free wi-fi, there was a hair-dryer in the bathroom.
There was some noise from the street and the interior walls could benefit from improved sound proofing but I managed 3 nights' good sleep.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have good views of the citadel but are subject to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fidgettyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Afyonkarahisar hotels
6.9 mi away
Dundar Thermal Villa Hotel
Dundar Thermal Villa Hotel
#5 of 20 in Afyonkarahisar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grand Ozgul Thermal Holiday Village
3.9 mi away
NG Afyon Wellness & Convention
NG Afyon Wellness & Convention
#1 of 20 in Afyonkarahisar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Ikbal Thermal Hotel & Spa
Ikbal Thermal Hotel & Spa
#7 of 20 in Afyonkarahisar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
12.2 mi away
Basaranlar Termal Hotel
Basaranlar Termal Hotel
#12 of 20 in Afyonkarahisar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
4.0 mi away
Anemon Afyon
Anemon Afyon
#15 of 20 in Afyonkarahisar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Soydan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Soydan

Property: Hotel Soydan
Address: Karagozoglu Sok. No:2 Afyonkarahisar Merkez, Afyonkarahisar Merkez, Afyonkarahisar 03000, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Afyonkarahisar Province > Afyonkarahisar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Afyonkarahisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Soydan 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Soydan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing