We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent service, great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slothotel Igesz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Slothotel Igesz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schagen
fife scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed in Schagen for 19 days as I was working in nearby Den Helder and was very glad my work based me at this hotel. Good, clean rooms and the staff were very helpful and attentive. I must praise Bob, Ingrid and Joey in particular as nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel like old friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank statts1976uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
11
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I went to stay at this hotel as my chopper was grounded for work. We arrived to the hot and we were greeted by very friendly staff.. The rooms were excellent and the restaurant was something else.the location was perfect and It would be good to spend a few days here as the location is beautiful with a lot to do. I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Igesz before as we have family in town and it is always the same, beautiful surroundings in the centre of town a decent hotel but not great ever. It could really do with a refurb, furniture looks tired as does the carpetting at one point we thought we would fall through the floor, they creak badly and there is just too much movement for it to feel 100% safe. That said the breakfast area is so lovely I could sit there for hours and the food is good that I do always come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A relative and I stayed one night in the Igesz Hotel in Schagen in the Netherlands. It had nice big rooms with good beds, and the room was quiet. A nice, dutch breakfast buffet was included in the price of 78 € for two people, so it was good value for money. There was free parking until 10 AM in front of the hotel, which is located right in the middle of Schagen. The service was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzyjakemusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in the smallish town of Schagen. Shops and restaurants are just steps away. The hotel is decently appointed, clean and comfortable -- having the turrets and the caste features aren't bad either. The bed was very soft, almost too soft.

The stairs are delightfully curving; the elevator is serviceable and welcome with luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank menardjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We visited this hotel as part of a cycling tour and were delighted to be upgraded to the Castle. The original castle is long gone apart from two original towers that remain. The bedrooms, however, are in the newly erected building on the site of the old castle and are reasonably large, exceptionally clean and very comfortable.The location of the hotel in the Town Square is perfect for shopping, dining (several great eateries scattered around the Square) and just generally relaxing with a cold beer and a plate of the local 'snacks'. We didn't eat in the Hotel (other than breakfast which was, as expected, Continental style but fine for what we wanted). All the staff were very pleasant and most helpful ensuring our stay at Slothotel Igesz was a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We visited this hotel as part of a cycling tour and were very pleased to find we were in the "castle" rooms. The castle is actually a modern building built on the site and in the style of the original Schagen castle - only the two towers remain of the original.

Our room was spacious and spotless with a nice big bathroom. The only minor complaint was that the bed could have been firmer - we are used to a very firm mattress. However I did not suffer any back pain so it was ok.

The castle does have a lift (in the left hand corner) - which is a bit of an oddity as it has no internal walls so as you go up all the walls slide down around you - be careful with kids.

The hotel is set back from the main square and is quiet at night so you will get a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good enough - nothing outstanding but nothing wrong either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schagen
5.3 mi away
Strandhotel de Horn
Strandhotel de Horn
#1 of 3 in Callantsoog
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
12.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Beatrix
Grand Hotel Beatrix
#1 of 1 in Huisduinen
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
13.6 mi away
Strandhotel Golfzang
Strandhotel Golfzang
#1 of 9 in Egmond aan Zee
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Jan van Scorel
11.9 mi away
Wienerhof Hotel
Wienerhof Hotel
#2 of 4 in Den Helder
3.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
5.5 mi away
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
Fletcher Badhotel Callantsoog
#3 of 3 in Callantsoog
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slothotel Igesz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slothotel Igesz

Property: Slothotel Igesz
Address: Markt 22, 1741 BS Schagen, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Igesz)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Schagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Slothotel Igesz 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Slothotel Igesz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slothotel Igesz Schagen, The Netherlands - North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing