We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Views and getaway place in Javea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Tango

Bar Tango
Ranked #242 of 332 Restaurants in Javea
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Views and getaway place in Javea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been coming to Bar Tango for years - it's a perfect place to sit and lunch and stare at an amazing view - I am completely bewildered by some of the negative reviews - ridiculous. We haven't been for a few years due to a bereavement and came back this week to be greeted so warmly it was quite emotional. We are glad the menu has stayed pretty much the same it always has - lovely simple delicious food that will put you on before an evening meal.

At weekend many boats weigh anchor just off the shore and its great to watch them all in a stunning setting.

The family used to live in Javea and now we just visit - when we do we make sure we come to Bar Tango every day. It's that good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgenNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    9
    6
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fortunately we were 'banned' today,10th May 2013!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We live in Javea and have been to this restaurant three times, each time the service has been appalling, the waiter, who incidentally would benefit from a lesson in personal hygiene, was rude and surly from the outset. We ordered a bottle of wine and water for 4 which arrived and was dumped on the table, however, only one small plastic bottle of water between us. I had to go into the restaurant to ask for a menu as we considered having lunch. When no one approached us to ask us if we wanted to order we decided to leave what we thought was the exact money on the table (€19.00), having checked the menu for the price, as we walked to our car, the waiter shouted and gesticulated for us to go back, when we did he aggressively pointed out that we hadn't left the €1.90 service charge, service charge for what!
The stunning location of this restaurant is wasted on the owners. Don't bother 'gracing' them with your presence.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing views-average food-but worth it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We came across this by accident walking round the port sea wall. Great views, tapas type menu. Very resonably priced in the main. I'd echo the comment about staff being a bit indifferent, entirely polite but seemed to favour those who spoke spanish. I guess if you know you're only going to see tourists once you don't need to try to make much of an effort.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food simple but nice, location spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The location for this restaurant just behind the Jávea port is very beautiful, especially in the summer when you have a whole series of little boats scattered across the bay.

The food is simple but tasty especially the fish, by no means high class dining but makes for a very pleasant afternoon. The only thing the lets the restaurant down slightly might be the fact that the staff seemed slightly distant, but the food was served quickly and politely. Not a big negative point.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiny_Tim_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
370 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Oh dear me, what a waste. Avoid at all costs.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

800 metres from the fish market and they cannot produce a decent fish dish. One of the best locations in Javea and one of the worst meals I have had anywhere.
800 metres away La Cantina had 300 covers where the view is of trawlers at dock with a pervading aroma to match; here, nestling in the cliffs with a view over the rocks and sea there were 11 covers 2 of which were kids who did not have a choice. Now I know why. Very little was fresh, the menu was limited, there was one type of fish available on la plancha (maybe La Cantina had all the rest). Whatever salad and vegetables that were available were pitiful and the service was appalling. The drinks were massively overpriced. Overall this really was quite terrible which is a shame because the location is wonderful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank felipehavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Tango also viewed

Javea, Costa Blanca
Javea, Costa Blanca
 
Javea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to Bar Tango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing