We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent set lunch menu”
Review of La Trastienda

La Trastienda
Ranked #84 of 341 Restaurants in Javea
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent set lunch menu”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have had several of the set lunches here, six tapas brought out two at a time including a generous portion of freshly carved iberico ham. One of the menus I had had Spanish/Asian fusion going on, and it worked really well. Fantastic value at €9.90, especially when fois gras and fillet steak have been included.

Filled rolls “bocadillos” are very sensibly priced with ample good tasting fillings. A goats cheese and spinach salad was beautifully dressed with great flavour and texture. Food is brought out when it’s ready when we have been at lunchtime rather than all together.

Service is friendly, though the tables are a little tightly packed but this is a small restaurant.

I would highly recommend for a light lunch or the set tapas if you are feeling hungry.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    39
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uden, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good wines and service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We visited the place on the February the11th.
Good quality and the lady in service was and good looking after her guests and goodlooking too!
Our compliments for this address!
Grtz, Luc & Erna

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LucErnaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This little oasis in the old town of Javea is well worth a visit. We eat there regularly and one thing that particularly pleases us is that you can choose from a good selection of wines by the glass. Rather one glass of a good wine than a bottle of plonk! The lunchtime tapas menu has proved to be an excellent balance of varied dishes which have so far not failed to please. The service is charming and friendly. We always look forward, when in the pueblo, to our lunchtime treat at La Trastienda.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pammietennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Little jewel”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

What a great place to stumble upon. Traditional tapas with a modern twist. Great service, wonderful food and a good selection of wines, all in a very inviting and immaculate setting. Don't miss this if you're in the old town. Eat here as a couple and with a group of friends - recommend booking if you are more than 4.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The perfect Lazy lunch place”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Its one of those places that you run into, and walk away in love... good food,great wine selection and nice service... if you don't walk away smling from this place - you've got issues!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trastienda also viewed

 
Javea, Costa Blanca
Javea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Trastienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing