We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4* or a small leading hotel of the world!”
Review of Hotel El Rodat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel El Rodat
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Javea
Reviewed September 17, 2009

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the El Rodat hotel and felt compelled to share my experience with anyone thinking of booking this hotel. Having stayed at a number of the leading small hotels of the world group how this hotel meets the grades beggers belief. The hotel is set out in the form of a village with the hotel rooms on a steep hillside with a long flight of steps down to the rooms. The standard rooms are set at the bottom of the flight of steps; please bare in mind that you will have to carry your own suitcases down to your room and then back up when you leave as the hotel has no porter! The outside patio entrance to the room greets you with iron railings reminisent of a prison cell not a luxury hotel. Once inside the room first appearances can be deceptive as the bedding and decor are pleasant however the rooms get very little day light and due to the location the rooms do not receive very good ventilation. The beds and linen felt very damp which is not conducive to a good nights sleep! When we asked if we could change to a room further up the hillside we were told that would only be possible if we payed another 50 Euros a night.

Service in the hotel was very limited with the worst experience being on our final morning at the hotel when we were greeted at breakfast by a waitress who seemed to view all hotels guests as a major inconvience and spent her time tutting at guests when they asked for hot drinks or food not what i expect when you are paying to stay at a supposed four star hotel - i have to say this is the worst 4* i have ever stayed in and we will not be returning and would not recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank MableDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Rodat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed at El Rodat in a suite for four days. All surpassed our expectations. Breakfast was fantastic and service exceptional. All staff very friendly. Our suite had a fantastic view of Mongo, Standard of room very good, a definate 4 star, with black out curtains and electric shutters, very quiet air con. The spa facilities are immaculate and very tranquil, just what you need in the midst of 30 degrees heat. We didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molliechloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Hotel was very nice, rooms (junior suite) were a very good size, staff where excellent and very helpful, breakfast is definitely worth getting up for . We would without doubt stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JWS3and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

I stayed with my 2 daughters in the hotel for 2 nights. Was a bit surprised that it was not like an ordinary hotel room but in a sort of a village. Had parking space in front of the 'villa'room. Had to carry a heavy suitcase up and down the stairs though since we were on the ground floor. Room itself was very nice and clean. Lovely bathroom with robes, slippers, toiletries etc. Mini bar in the room, complementary bottle of water.

When we came back from dinner our beds were prepared for the night; sofabed was made up and very comfortable.

I don't understand the other comments on breakfast since we never had a better one! We were the only guests in the breakfast room so we had an awful lot to choose from: smoked salmon, several plates with ham and Spanish specialties, scrambled eggs, cereals, fresh juices, lemon pie, chocolat bread, chocolat brownies, croissants and much more. It was just delicious. There was only one strawberry yoghurt and we asked the staff if they had another one which was no problem at all. They were very friendly. They served us tea and asked several times if we wanted some more.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erika86378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2006

On arrival at this hotel our first impression was "What a smell of drains" in the hotel reception/foyer. ! It never went away.

The hotel was decidedly quiet and unatmospheric. The room was quite nice, but not fantastic for a hotel with the accreditation of a Small Luxury Hotel of the World, with the exception that the bathroom was lovely.

Breakfast was like a guessing game. i.e. Where is the cutlery kept ? Could we HAVE an egg cooked any other way than the hard boiled ones left near the toast. ? Give us a clue ! Anyway, by comparison, breakfast itself was absolutely unimpressive and we chose to go to the beach area instead where we could get exactly what we wanted, and for less money, in any one of the beachfront restaurants.

The bar doubles up as the breakfast room, and is only staffed occasionally. It isn`t the sort of place that one would want to sit and have a drink, even if you could get one !

Altogether there were about 40 of us staying at the hotel for the wedding that was held at El Rodat, and our hotel prices, although supposedly agreed with management by the bride to be, were varied from those arranged.

We had a great time because of the wedding and the people we were with, but, without criticising the staff, I would certainly not stay at El Rodat again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wanderingstarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2006

i have just returned from a trip to El Rodat. The hotel is quite unusual as it is basically set in an urbanisation and therefore is like a little village.As previous trip advisor reviewers have mentioned before the "village" consists of villas for hotel and non hotel residents and the outdoor pool is a shared pool.I have to say it was rather surprising to have to share a pool with non residents but to be perfectly honest on our stay it was very quiet.The pool is surrounded by pine trees and therefore is shaded from the sun a lot and is absolutely freezing!! The hotel itself is very pleasant and the main restaurant is excellent for dinner except a little pricey. I wouldnt recommend staying for lunch however as the service and staff are atrocious.Similarly we had problems at breakfast.breakfast is meant to start at 8am however on the one day we did not take it in our room (i would recommend this option) we found that the staff were not adequately prepared.We waited 20 minutes and were not even asked whether we wanted a tea/coffee.One couple asked for butter 3 times even though there were only 6 guests having breakfast at the time. I wouldnt agree that the El Rodat is below standard. We had a grand suite and it really was quite impressive with a large terrace,loungers and a very nice large room.The facilities are also good with gym,spa,tennis etc and an outdoor and indoor pool. The hotel managers were very pleasant and helpful and with the exception of the poor service at breakfast and lunchtime i would say its definitely worth a visit. I would agree however with a previous reviewer who recommended a car. Javea is about an hour from the airport and the town /beach is about 5 minutes or so drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2006

Once we arrived at the el rodat hotel we were rather suprised that it was more like a mini village with a few villas than a hotel, unlike described on the hotel website. It's not within walking distance to the bigger towns and there are some extremely over priced restaurants near-by, you definately need a car to travel around. Also contrary to the hotel website, there are very little sandy beaches near by and no subtropical gardens to walk around! The only good thing about the rooms themselves was the airconditioning, however throughout the night you could hear people scraping chairs and tables, coming in at 5am, and could hear people in the villas/rooms next door very easily. We also discovered peep holes above the showers and bed's while some had been filled in, others had not, and this was rather disturbing especially for the children. The food in the hotel restaurant was nice, but over priced, a meal for 2 children and 2 adults came to 200 euros. Another problem with the hotel is the fact that it is not like a hotel, as there are many spanish people living there, we had to fight for a car parking space by our room and sometimes there was nowhere to park. The swimming pool was also rather small and not particularly clean, with a lot of the kids from the village playing in it, so you could not go for a nice quiet swim. Overall you do not get the services of a 4* hotel, there is no internet service, there isn't even a bar! We orded some bread at lunchtime and one basket cost us 16 euros, it is definately 4* pricing, but I wouldn't reccomdend staying in the el rodat hotel village.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank beegregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Javea
1.2 mi away
Parador de Javea
Parador de Javea
#1 of 8 in Javea
667 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pinosol
Pinosol
#5 of 8 in Javea
97 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Javea
Hotel Javea
#3 of 8 in Javea
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Naranjos
11.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
6.5 mi away
Ona Ogisaka Garden
Ona Ogisaka Garden
#12 of 34 in Denia
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Rodat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Rodat

Address: Calle Murciana 9 | Ctra al Cabo de la Nao s/n, 03730 Javea, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Javea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Javea
Price Range: $125 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel El Rodat 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Rodat is a team of people working for people looking for a place where they enjoy a different way, in contact with the environment. It has evolved over the years looking for the best way to welcome all those who have enjoyed walking through its gardens, its cuisine, its services, its human treatment, its relaxation therapies and so many things that have here Happened. Because for us all the people who have passed by our hotel are the ones who have helped us write the history of this oasis in the middle of the Costa Blanca. Now we are waiting for you to continue writing our story. This is your house. This is your oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel El Rodat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rodat Javea
El Rodat Hotel Javea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing