We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uality going down”
Review of El Gaucho

El Gaucho
Ranked #14 of 356 Restaurants in Javea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Went in May and so disappointed. We have been going to this restaurant since it opened and recommended to lots of people. They have either changed their meat supplier or are buying cheaper quality. You could always rely on a great steak, but the last time it was grisly and thin, the consommé really is a waste of time, the waiters and waitress were the usual high standard, such quality of the raw product gone down. Unfortunately I am not the only one from Moraira that think the same, there is a lot of competition in the area, it would be a shame for this to go the same way as many others. Your restaurant on the Arenal is also down on the quality of eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FloWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladychop2003, Manager at El Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your review of our restaurant! First of all what is utality? We can assure you that in no way have we changed our meat supplier! Our meat is cut to the same size every day 280-300 grams. If you choose the ribeye this is a little fatty so you should have gone for the sirloin. Bit surprised you never mentioned it to the waiters who always ask you if you enjoyed the meat and if everything was alright why you did not mention it at the time is a mystery as we would of changed it for you. As for the consume being a waste of time this is complimentary and hundreds of our customers enjoy it. If you don't want it you only have to say. As for mentioning our other restaurant this is totally irrelevant to this review and that is another highly successful restaurant that has been on the Arenal since 1983! We have been opened now for nearly 3 years and have extremely satisfied customers who have been coming back since we opened. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 514 of 976 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I are often disappointed whenever we go out to eat. At last we have found the right combination of excellent food, friendly service and great value when you are served what you ask for. The Steak was 'melt in your mouth delicious' and cooked to perfection. Beautifully plated, served with excellent vegetables and side salad, the main course was the best I have had in a long, long time! The starters are exquisite and the dessert was to die for!! We have now found our favourite restaurant! We will be going back as often as possible!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladychop2003, Manager at El Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Gary thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant such lovely comments ! Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

In the past this restaurant was called Las Brisas. Now run by the same owners as Pizza Pepe on the Arenal beach. Excellent grilled steak and a menu del dia that is reasonably priced for the quality of food and service. Pleasant outside eating area. Professionally run with good service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 777Richard777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladychop2003, Manager at El Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi Richard thank you for your lovely comments so glad u enjoyed your meal and that we catered for your little ones. We hope to see u again soon. Kind regards Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Best meal we have had in a while, cannot find a single fault. Reasonably priced, service great, catered for our little one, tables were positioned far enough apart so not having to listen to the table next to you. Can't wait to revisit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladychop2003, Manager at El Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi Michelle thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our restaurant. So glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you very soon. Kind regards Sandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Went with friends and yet again we were not disappointed. Food and service were both first class - as they have been on every previous visit. The little extra touches i.e. the consomme and sorbet - are very nice - and for between 16 and 20 Euros per person, including wine, it is also extremely good value. This is most definitely one restaurant we keep going back to and most certainly will visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suemaxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladychop2003, Manager at El Gaucho, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant we really appreciate u taking the time to comment. Hope to see you very soon kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho also viewed

 
Javea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing