We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not spectacular.”
Review of BonAmb Restaurant

BonAmb Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 341 Restaurants in Javea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good but not spectacular.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were looking forward to trying this restaurant after reading the various reviews on this and other sites. There is no question about the location, decor, quality of the produce snd service being really excellent. The disappointment for us was the uninspired menu and our food just lacked that 'spark' that we expected from a restaurant with these prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DennisWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    87
    38
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent...deserves an award”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is my second visit to Bon Amb in 6 months and our friends 4th. It will most certainly not be our last.

I have been coming to Javea for over 27 years and spend a few months here a year. The traditional rices are great and there a few excellent restaurants for that kind of wonderful food. Bon Amb is in a league of its own and can compete with the best on a world stage. I get to work all over the world and have eaten at many of the best. The location, building design and gardens etc are very modern, classy and are immediately appealing as is the welcome from the Maitre 'd. But when it comes to the food we are on another level. We chose again the daily, seasonal 7 course menu degustacion "Menu tradicion restaurante bonamb" and were not disappointed in what the young (28 year old) chefs Alberto Ferroz Moraleda and Pablo Catala Timmmer prepared for us for 49.50 Euros.

We started a visually stunning display of 5 or so amuse bouche followed by local oysters with foam of local limes and lemons. To lead you through the glorious other dishes that included tataki of veal with gassified vegetables then the asparagus, the the morcilla of calamares with a special fried egg (my wife's favourite dish), locally caught sea bass, veal again and the desrts will only serve to bore you. I can assure you we were far from by the range and invention of the dishes served with an excellent off-carte wine, Alto Landon, recommended by the Maitre. We were last to leave but were joined by the chefs whose energy, creativity and enthusiasm we could only admire. The training by the top Basque chef Martin Berasategui and a spell in Paris clearly has paid off. Hasta la proxima!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank superfoodieMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“At Last, a Local Restaurant that understands & delivers local seasonal menu & does it with style.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stunning Food, Fabulous Service, attentive but discreet, Excellent Wine List. Delightful outside seating area, (may be a tad too hot in height of summer, no shades or cooling system as yet, shame as it is very pretty area) A must go back very soon kind of place, not just high days & holidays, imagine will be mega busy July/August. Ample Parking. Truly enjoyed the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mungadoddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were looking for somewhere special for my Dad's 80th birthday lunch. Although they only live a mile away I had'nt seen it before as this restaurant used to be a sparsly visited Italian.
Anyway the new owners have transformed the restaurant into a beautiful modern dining room with excellent indoor and outdoor seating possibilities.

There are several menu choices. Spend a bit of time to unnderstand what's on offer as there is no munu info on the www. They have a gastronomic 7 or 9 course menu which the whole party has to order. This is at E49 or E79. Alternatively the Menu Del Dia is a very reasonable E24. You then have a decent selection of a la carte options.

Most of us went to the set menu which had several chefs canapes to add to the 4 courses included. We took the house rosada and red both of which were good. The presentation of each course is pretty spectaular and yet not so small that you are still hungary at the end. The staff are really terriffic and made our birthday visit one to trully remember. Although we dined inside we took coffee and liquers outside in the picturesque gardens. So for a long lunch with much to celebtate the bill for 9 guests was less than E400. If you are near or not so near Javea you simply must go here. Thank you to everyone who made our Dad's day so special.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texel, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Very good lunch! Started with beautiful severed amuses, very good wine and friendly, professional service. Restaurant atmosphere very good, nice garden with possibility to eat outside. One of the best restaurants near Javea/Xabia !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlorienTexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BonAmb Restaurant also viewed

 
Javea, Costa Blanca
Javea, Costa Blanca
 

Been to BonAmb Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing