We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
Ranked #5 of 356 Restaurants in Javea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $31
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Relaxed dining in a friendly, family run restaurant, providing a varied menu with meat, fish, vegetarian & vegan options. Menu is GLUTEN FREE. Childrens menu available. Outside dining on our terrace in the summer months.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Visited on a Friday evening in early February. All I can say is that it was a fantastic evening. Good food, good company and good value. In the words of Gen MacArthur "I shall return"!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michael_kathy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

In the words of General MacArthur "There is no substitute for victory"………We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and we certainly look forward to your return…..

Best wishes from our team at La Cocina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 482 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

La Cocina is always on our list of favourite places to eat in Javea but being "lazy residents" we tend to stay around the Arenal area so that we don't have to drive! None ever compete with the standard we enjoy at La Cocina where every meal we've had has been memorable! Cliff, Laurie and their family really have got it right with a lovely atmosphere, amazing a la carte food and the right price! DEFINITELY one to visit if you're on holiday in Javea - and DEFINITELY one to go to more often if you live here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank honeygirlkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant and appreciate you sharing your positive comments.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

I really liked it but the OH thought there were too many flavours competing -have to say I did think the prawns in the starter might have been freshly cooked -overall good and will go again !

Thank morg1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your review of your restaurant on Tripadvisor and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal and will be returning for another…..The only reason we do not use freshly cooked prawns in our prawns with fresh mango sauce is purely price restrictions. The 3 course lunch menu is 15.95 euros that includes a glass of wine and therefore not the budget to include such luxuries! I do however agree with you that the dish would be greatly improved with freshly cooked prawns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had been here once before in 2012 when we came to Javea and enjoyed our meal, so on this trip we thought we would go back. We were not disappointed, and again had a first class meal. We found the choice on the menu (a la carte) very varied with plenty of differing tastes, which even my fussy husband found to be to his liking. Just one very small niggle, when our food arrived, the plates were not very hot.

However, the atmosphere is relaxed and we had a very enjoyable evening. We are probably going to try the frozen dishes next week, which sound like a brilliant idea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ALC33220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of our restaurant and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal with us. Thank you for pointing out about the plates not being warm enough and I will keep an eye on the plate warmer!
We hope you call in and try the frozen meals as I am sure you will not be disappointed with the quality as we cook these meals in the very same way we prepared the food in the restaurant.
See you soon…..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We took advantage of the range of frozen meals to cook at home and we were not disappointed !!! The meals were so tasty and top restaurant quality. Difficult to pick a favourite but special mention for the chicken and leek pie and Catalan pork !
Now for desserts ...wow, they are all wonderful !! Sad to be going back to the UK ...if we lived here we would be regular customers ! Give them a try you will not be disappointed.
Thank you La Cochina.

Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on the Delicious Frozen Food. We have been very pleased generally with the response the meals are receiving and they are a really easy solution for tourists such as yourself. As the meals have now been selling really well for 15 months now….where has that time gone…..we are in the process of opening a shop on the main road in the Arenal area to sell the meals from!
Many thanks and best wishes…..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing