We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-Theatre meal”
Review of La Cocina

La Cocina
Ranked #4 of 347 Restaurants in Javea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Relaxed dining in a friendly, family run restaurant, providing a varied menu with meat, fish, vegetarian & vegan options. Menu is GLUTEN FREE. Childrens menu available. Outside dining on our terrace in the summer months.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our pre-theatre meal. Menu was designed to go with the performance which made it fun. Would have liked to try some of the frozen meals that you can take away but it was near the end of our holiday in Javea. Would definitely recommend, great value, especially for pre-theatre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
1  Thank NBlobsterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, we always enjoy working with Javea Players and designing a menu that compliments their plays.........
Try and take advantage of our own ready meals on your next visit as their popularity is growing each month and we are delighted with the take up on them. They seem to be very popular with families on self catering holiday as they take the stress out of cooking every day.......
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 473 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Enjoyed a three-course pre-theatre meal Saturday 20th April 2013. Service, ambience, food all get ten out of ten from us. We were staying in a villa some 15km away and so tried their pre-cooked frozen meals for our last night's stay. Again, superb and fantastic value at a mere €5/6 each. A must-visit, classy restaurant with very reasonable prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank valueman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed putting together a fun menu for the Javea Players pre theatre meal and are so pleased that you enjoyed it also. Our Delicious Frozen Food range is going from strength to strength and is just perfect for when you are on holiday to stock up the freezer so you have a convenient and delicious meal in stock to save you the hassle of cooking on those days when you would like to spend more time around the pool!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

La Cocina always appears in the top 3 of tripAdvisor Javea recommendations. Recognising across the spectrum of all reviewers there will often be a wide range from the very best to mediocre both reflecting individual taste and expectations it is difficult to see exactly why La Cocina is so highly rated as there are many alternative establishments of equal if not better choice and quality of food.
Although the restaurant has an attractive overall ambience and the service is attentive the tables are a little too close together whilst the menu does not match the quality or choice found in true Spanish establishments such as Tosca's where even their ever changing menu del dia is excellent value whilst the al la carte is superb. As for La Cocina the salmon pate was almost ice cold whilst although tastefully prepared we genuinely had the impression that all 4 of our main courses had been prepared earlier in the day and re-heated - we sat down at 8:00pm. Overall at circa 145Euro’s for 4 adults including a bottle of house red and an excellent value Enate 234 Chardonnay at 16.50Euros was reasonable a la carte value it certainly does not deserve a top 3 ranking. (Note: average Javea restaurant Enate 234 price is 18-22.50Euros)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank XabiaGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Firstly, the reason that we maintain a high position is that we consistently deliver a tasty, freshly prepared, value for money meal. We are not the 3rd best restaurant in the Town because we are in the 3rd position on Tripadvisor, although many think that we are, the rating simply means that a traveller can get a good meal here, reliably!

I find it insulting that you think that we re heat our food, it's always freshly prepared every day, if you really can’t tell I wonder why I bother!...... and the answer is that the almost all of our customers do appreciate what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We loved the whole concept of a pre-performance meal at La Cocina followed by a play in the Javea Players Studio. The reality lived up to and even surpassed our hopes. We were greeted with a WASSAIL ... it was a hot noggin of roasted apples, cider and spices .... We were told. The special menu "Bottom's Dream," had such things as "Peter Quince preserve" to accompany a home made pâté and "Puck's Favourite" (sublime pancake filled with woodland mushroom). There was an excellent choice of each course and options to have either 2 or 3 courses. We chose the Oberon Fairy Cake which was a delightful cake / pudding with fruits of the forest and a wonderful surprise of popping candy on top. This was an extraordinary experience but totally in keeping with the meal. Everything that came out of the kitchen was presented beautifully and tasted delicious. The service was slick and unobtrusive. We were on a schedule to get to the theatre on time but we never felt rushed. AND THEN ... We had the delight of watching the Javea Players in their performance of Bottoms Up .. A comedy based on Midsummer Night's Dream. Well done to everyone because it was a memorable evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SallyCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

We love it when Javea Players ask us to arrange the pre theatre meal as we just love coming up with a menu that follows the theme of the play they will be performing.......great fun for us and we are so pleased that you appreciated it. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited this restaurant whilst on our 7 night stay in Javea, I have to say the service and food was outstanding fresh and cooked perfect, we were a party of 7 and with 4 children aged between 9 - 17 the kids could not wait to go back we ended up there 3 times, and food was superb on every visit.
If your looking for very good food with a friendly relaxed atmosphere make a booking here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SeyseyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCocinaChef, Owner at La Cocina, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

It was a real pleasure to meet you all, such a lovely family with the children having such appetites it was a delight to have you all as customers. We look forward to seeing you on a return trip....best wishes.....Laurie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cocina also viewed

Javea, Costa Blanca
Javea, Costa Blanca
 
 

Been to La Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing