We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely area”
Review of El Poblet - CLOSED

El Poblet
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Denia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely area”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Lovely area which has tourist and non tourist hotspots in it

Helpful?
1 Thank Kennglobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow You must go It's worth every penny”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I read the reviews on El Poblet and despite these We wanted to try for ourselves. We were warmly greeted by the restaurant manager who was very helpful checking if we had any preferences, dislikes or allergies.

To start we ordered a glass of Cava and the sommelier opened a bottle for us, and explained in detail the grape, vintage and producer in English, not fluent but a sight better than my Spanish!

We ordered the menu "Local Universe" @ 125€ and I had the wine float for 65€ and we asked if Sarah could have a glass or two as she was driving, they said no problem leave it to us, so we did.

Having read the reviews saying the sommelier did not speak English, and tried to push the expensive wines, we were a little apprehensive but should not have worried, Sarah had 3 glasses from the wine float and we were charged 22€.

What followed for the next 3 hours was a treat to the senses, we were seated in the garden and served the 1st act
(http://www.quiquedacosta.es/archivos/file/Menu%20Ingles%20(2).pdf)
We were then shown into the restaurant which could be described as minimalist but suited the feel of the whole experience.
Each course was served with a flourish and detaied explanation the stand out dishes were
Mary
Apple tart and Campari
Cubalibre of Foie Gras

All finished with the "Magic Box"

A truly memorable meal and worth the expense.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JTattheloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Praha
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A foodie's paradise!”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Be prepared to have all of your senses indulged, not just your taste and smell, as El Poblet (aka Quique DaCosta) truly is a feast in all sense of the word.

Seeing the minimalist, laid-back surroundings, so out of character with the neighbouring establishments, we knew we were in for a treat. I visit with my wife (several times now) and the place never fails to impress. Be warned, this is not a meal where the food is fuel; this is a meal where the food is the star, the main attraction, and offers an outstanding, if somewhat eclectic, performance every night.

Greeted by a very urbane Maitre D’ (who was Heston Blumenthal’s restaurant manager at the Fat Duck for many years) in fluent English/ French/ Spanish/ German (delete as appropriate) we were quickly seated and presented with menus. Faced with the choice of two degustation menus, we chose the shorter one, with only 15 some courses, at a measly €115 per person.

Trying to pair wines with so many different flavours was beyond my capability, and the sommelier recommended that we choose a simple white which would not clash with the food. Surprisingly, this was one of the lower-priced wines, and proved an excellent choice.

The courses themselves came slowly through the evening, accompanied by explanations from the waiters: what it was, how it was influenced, each a real story. The rum & coke foie gras was a deliciously sweet savoury burst of richness on the palate. Both the Guggenheim oysters and the Golden Hen were feasts for the eyes, sparkling silver and gold respectively. The weirdness of the experimental dishes was offset with the clean crispness of simple seafood and light salad/ fruit courses.

The star of the show, however, was a walk in the woods. This dish is up there with the best I have tasted, in Per Se, Mugaritz, The Fat Duck. Mushrooms mixed with a brown sugar sand, with a rich stock jelly at the base, it gave the feel of walking through a forest. Garnished with individual leaves and flowers, it looked like a moss-covered altar to some pagan god, and each bite yielded different aspects of the earth. Simply amazing.

Let’s face it – this is going to cost you money. You’re also going to go home in a daze, overwhelmed by sensations, trying to hold on to the tastes, smells, sights and feelings that the meal evoked. But take the time to visit this restaurant, it is a world away from the tourist places that surround it.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bolanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not average but ...”
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Of course this restaurant is not average although my review points are. Average for such a famous restaurant with Michelin stars and expensive. Decoration is cold. The food looks beautiful but some times you ask yourself if maybe too much effort went into the look. Some dishes were very tasteful while others just a blend pretty look. Service was very professional.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaspy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Emperors new clothes”
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I visited this highly feted restaurant in June on a Friday evening with three friends. We drove up from Alicante with our hopes high. The restaurant is stylish and minimilist. We were greeted and taken to a garden area where we sat and read the menus while glasses of champagne arrived. The waiter tripped over the table and spilt my champagne over my leg! These things happen but, strangely, no-one apologised and a replacemnt glass arrived with no comment. We chose the cheaper of the digestion menus at 110 euros a head and headed into the restaurant itself.

The interior is really nice, cool and well decorated. I ordered a reasonable wine at a very inflated price and we waited for the show to begin. To be fair, the service is excellent, lots of theatre and a waiter for everything. Even the bread is on a specially designed table, the bread waiter dons a white glove to cut you a tiny slice of bread (advice - ask for as much bread as you can, you'll need it!). Then the courses arrive, each one described by the head waiter in glowing terms and each one a huge disappointment.

They are real constructions and some are quite beautiful but they were all bland and tasteless. Served up on a variety of rocks, slates and wooden boards, with accompanying props to accentuate the theatre they promise much but fail to deliver. After the first few mixtures of flowers, powdered liver and cold peas the surprise wears off and you are left wondering when the food is going to arrive! One dish showed promise with four small slices of raw fish but their wasn't enough to grasp the flavours.

We reached the end of the rather drawn out meal (2 hours to serve) and payed the bill (165 euros a head). We were still asking for more bread after the bill arrived.

Now comes the problem. If you say in a review like this that the food was rubbish, you are considered to be 'not getting it' or 'unrefined'. Actually, it's like the story of the emperors new clothes, no-one had the guts to tell him he was naked. Well, I would suggest that you ignore the Michelin stars and the hype and save yourself hundreds of euros by avoiding this pretentious tourist trap. There are dozens of better places up and down this coast and at a quarter the price.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank BillyAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Poblet also viewed

 
Valencia, Province of Valencia
 
Denia, Costa Blanca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing