We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting the balance right”
Review of Al Gusto - CLOSED

Al Gusto
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Getting the balance right”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited Al Gusto after meeting chef Phil in a local bar watching the England v Wales rugby match. He gave us his card and we sought the restaurant out a few days later. We opted for the 'meal of the day'. As our name suggests we are campervan travellers and value for money is very important to us! The balance between quantity and quality is a difficult job when price is not negotiable as that's what gets you through the door. Phil and his wife produced a full plate of really good food that was unmatched in our whole 10 week trip. The home made cheesecake was the best we have ever had.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hymer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    21
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chalais, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We thoroughly enjoy eating at La Gusto. The service was excellent and the food really good. We ate there one evening and also for Sunday lunch and both visits were very good. No negatives at all and we felt the portion sizes were just right. Congratulations to the owners and we'd definitely recommend to friends. Tony and Diane, Charente, France.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Di E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javea, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Al Gusto”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went at lunchtime today and took the Menu del Dia which, whilst not overfacing, was of adequate quantity and beautifully presented. The menu is primarily English style food.
The wine was very nice and complemented our dishes perfectly.
The restaurant is quite hidden in the back streets of Denia which might explain why there was only 10 people in for lunch and might account for the slight lack of atmosphere.
Overall, we enjoyed it and would recommend Al Gusto to anyone looking for something a bit different from the usual Spanish type restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juansaponatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Small Portions”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My partner and I went there one Friday evening around 8pm in February for a 2 course meal.. Food was nice but the portions quite small. We went round the corner afterwards to a nice Tapas bar as we were still hungry. Food well presented but prefer substance rather than style!!
A bit lacking in atmosphere also,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic creative food !”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Four of us met at Al Gusto on a week night at this lovely tasteful and fairly hidden little gem of a restaurant in Denia.The menu is very creative the food excellently prepared by chef/owner Phil and delivered beautifully presented by his wife Hazel who incidentally makes a mean Irish coffee!Just wish we were around for Paddys Day !!!

Helpful?
Thank Squiddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Gusto also viewed

 
Denia, Costa Blanca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing