We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Complex but Very Compact”
Review of Bahia Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bahia Azul
Ranked #10 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Denia
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good Complex but Very Compact”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed at Bahia Azul for a week in mid-March. While it may seem to be in Denia, it is actually about 5km away, so a car is essential. Being low season, the complex was very quiet; nevertheless, it was very well maintained. Even the pool which was freezing cold, was always cleaned by the staff. The complex has direct access to the beach which is a definite plus.The units are clean, but the word 'compact' may be generous. We had a 3-bedroom, 1.5 bathroom unit, and there was only 3 of us staying there, and it was just right at about 700 sq. ft. It is supposed to accommodate up to 8 people, but that would be very tight, as while the master bedroom is quite spacious, the other two bedrooms are miniscule, with hardly any room between the two single beds in the room. There is also a sofa bed.

The units are well equipped, with laundry, dishwasher, microwave, fridge and stove. The complex is very secure with every entrance/exit requiring a key. There is no wi-fi in the complex, so one has to go to a local coffee shop dwon the street.

Overall, it's a decent choice, with the location being very quiet, and a bit far from the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muenster Canada
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

It seemed there were not many guests staying here. There are many locked doors and gates which give a sense of security but all those locks can also be a nuisance. You need 2 keys just to get on your patio and then another to get out the gate to the beach. We were there at the end of January so the pool was empty and the gardeners were busy with chain saws up in the trees. The noise was unpleasant but we understand they are getting the grounds ready for summer. The grounds are lovely and the pool may be the only thing they offer children. Lolita and “the man” as she called him, were friendly and helpful. Lolita even recommended a map shop and then called them to be sure they were open that evening. The bedrooms are upstairs. The steps are small and winding and have a tile surface. They can be slippery and there is no hand railing: consider how you would get your luggage up there. There was a dishwasher in the laundry room. The drying rack is so rusty it is difficult to find a place to safely put wet clothes. But it was great to have the washer and dishwasher. It is unfortunate there is no internet but the nearby coffee shop will give you 40 min free if you buy a coffee. There is a binder in the suite explaining where markets are each day of the week. We found the one in Javea and it had lots to offer. Denia is a nice town but you would really need a car to get around.
The beach is nice and we walked about ½ km and found some restaurants that I expect will be open in the summer months. The one thing that still bothers me was that we had to pay 50 Euros for 1 week of electricity. That is about 3 times more than we have paid anywhere else. Money grab? Overall it is a nice place, lovely garden; it’s on the beach and has friendly staff.

Room Tip: I doubt any of the rooms have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank grammasue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This place is not up to the standards of the more luxurious RCI resorts, but the local charm still beats any deficiency.

Finding the place could be a problem, as several purported website maps were just plain wrong.  If you have a GPS in your car, the easiest way is to set it for the street intersection of Carretera de les Marines a Denia and Carrer Ocea Atlantic, in 03700 Denia, Spain.

The Reception office has only limited hours, staffed by just one person.  There is no concierge.  Americans need to bring an electric converter plug for their shaver, iPhone recharger, etc., as there is none available at the office or in all of Denia.  UK converters are available at the office.  Toilet paper is available at the office, but you need to buy your own soap and shampoo at the supermercado.

The resort is gated, with good security.

Cleaning is just once during the week of your stay.

In our 3-bedroom unit, the bedrooms were tiny.  The furniture was uncomfortable for some.  The kitchen utensils were somewhat lacking, no coffee maker.   Although there was a wine opener, which is essential.  We could not believe the low prices for wine in the restaurants, and lower still in the supermercado.

There was a washing machine, but no dryer.  Somehow I had been led to believe there would be a dryer.  A drying rack was provided.  The shower drain was slow and led to standing water in the tiny bathroom.  The other bathroom had no shower or bathtub or vent.

The air conditioning was good.  The windows had no screens, which could be a problem, from the tiny flies.  Once during the week, I saw the resort was visited by swooping birds which caught and ate the insects on the fly.  Too bad these birds could not have visited more often.

There was no Internet.  This turned out to be good, as we got into the habit of visiting a coffee shop with free wi-fi (for customers) each day, and got to know the owner and staff.

The pool and garden are a delight to the eyes, and to use.  There are actually 3 mostly linked pools in the resort center.  There are no lounge chairs, but people worked around that.  The pool is closed only from 3-5 pm, for the siesta.  Although I didn't go for a midnight swim, it is nice to know that I could have.  And there are none of those stupid "no lifeguard" warning signs that I guess are mandatory in America.

The resort fronts on the beach.  The beach is okay, but next to the water is all of this palm fiber, which is pretty disgusting.  At the public beach in Denia they rake up the palm fiber.

Denia and the surrounding area are charming to visit and explore.  I think a luxury resort might be out of place in the area.  Out of concern for "truth in travel" I have mentioned mostly negative things about this resort, but I think that the overall positives make this resort worthwhile.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank Felipe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a very well equipped three bedroom unit. The bedrooms, however, are small by USA and South African standards.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and speaks English well enough. All our small maintenance issues were immediately attended to.

The main attractions at the resort are definitely the lovely pools for all ages and the easy secure access to a long clean beach.

Denia has many lovely restaurants and shops, especially in the old part of the down town.

Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank BertusJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is an amazing apartment based holiday centre. Loads of pools, shallows and deep areas. Family friendly and safe.Locked complex with direct access to beach, soft white sand and safe flat swimming beach. Apartments are comfortable clean and well equipped with washing machine/ dish washer/ full cooker/ fridge freezer and Air con. English speaking and very helpful reception. Great area on the coast, local bars and eating places within walking distance. Supermarket within 1 KM.Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank meshiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denia
1.1 mi away
Los Angeles Hotel
Los Angeles Hotel
#8 of 34 in Denia
225 reviews
3.0 mi away
Daniya Denia
Daniya Denia
#24 of 34 in Denia
442 reviews
4.3 mi away
Port Denia
Port Denia
#7 of 34 in Denia
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ona Ogisaka Garden
Ona Ogisaka Garden
#13 of 34 in Denia
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noguera Mar Hotel
Noguera Mar Hotel
#11 of 34 in Denia
134 reviews
6.4 mi away
Oliva Nova Beach & Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Azul

Property: Bahia Azul
Address: Ctra de las Marinas, 03700 Denia, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Denia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Denia
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahia Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Bahia Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahia Azul Hotel Denia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing